Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Studies and Teaching

Mit 28.500 Studierenden und 4.300 Doktoranden ist die Freie Universität die größte Universität Berlins.

With 28,500 students and 4,300 doctoral candidates, Freie Universität is the largest university in Berlin.
Image Credit: Aljoscha Ilg

Freie Universität is a full-spectrum university, comprising twelve academic departments and four central institutes that together offer more than 150 different degree programs in a broad range of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The university offers programs toward any academic degree, from bachelor’s and master’s degrees to state exams, doctorates, and habilitation. The university’s extensive professional and continuing education offerings, ranging from individual classes to continuing education master’s degree programs, supplement the academic options available to prospective students. 

Broad Range of Academic Programs and Disciplines

The broad range of degree programs and disciplines offered at Freie Universität allows students to tailor their studies to their individual interests. With a large number of exchange programs, dual international degree programs, and both individualized and structured doctoral programs available to them, students have many options when it comes to designing their own personal studies.

Studying in an International Environment

The content of the study programs offered at Freie Universität is designed to be international. The university offers master’s degree programs in English, for example, along with joint master’s degree programs with foreign universities. The university’s international profile is reflected in its strength in area studies, with particular focus on North America, Latin America, and Eastern Europe, as represented by four central institutes. Other areas of particular focus in the university’s research activities are East Asia and the Middle East. Freie Universität is also home to the Center for French Studies and the Center for Italian Studies.

Freie Universität currently participates in the European Tempus and Erasmus programs and in PROMOS, the mobility program operated by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). It also maintains agreements on direct exchanges with a large number of universities. The high percentage of international students, researchers, scholars, and scientists at the university further highlights Freie Universität’s international character.

Extensive Services Offered for Students

The university offers various support options for prospective and current students, ranging from specific advising services to the infrastructure provided. The Student Services Center (SSC) provides advice to prospective students as well as currently enrolled students, whether by phone, via email, or in person. The campus-wide WLAN network provides access to extensive e-learning offerings, research databases, or the Campus Management system, used to organize a student’s study program, anytime.

The Center for Cooperation with Schools offers school-age students a number of ways to get to know the university or even attend courses even before they begin their formal academic careers. Events include the KinderUni (Children’s University) offered for elementary school students in the 2nd to 6th grade every September, Girls’ Day, or the KieWi experimentation course, in which children in 3rd and 4th grades have a chance to perform experiments. At the NatLab hands-on experimentation lab, students in the 4th through 6th and 11th through 13th grades, teachers, and university students who are studying for a teaching credential option can experiment with equipment that is not generally available to them at school for the subjects of chemistry and biology. The PhysLab physics lab, aimed at grades 5 through 13, was founded to offer young people an opportunity to conduct their own experiments and do their own research.

Bringing Academia and Practice Together

The university offers an extensive range of options to give its students support, early on, for the period following their exams, including career preparation courses in bachelor’s degree programs, advising from the university’s internal Career Service, and the services offered by the Continuing Education Center.

Freie Universität supports start-ups established by its students, researchers, and graduates. A start-up center (Profund Innovation) offers beginning entrepreneurs the use of free offices and assistance services as they are getting their businesses off the ground.

A number of successful companies have already been started by past and present members of the university community. In the 2014 study, Gründungsradar (“founding radar”) of the Donors' Association for German Science (Stifterverband der Deutschen Wissenschaft), Freie Universität Berlin occupied sixth place in the nationwide ranking for the quality of start-up promotion at large universities with over 15,000 students.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Studium und Lehre

Mit 28.500 Studierenden und 4.300 Doktoranden ist die Freie Universität die größte Universität Berlins.

Mit 28.500 Studierenden und 4.300 Doktoranden ist die Freie Universität die größte Universität Berlins.
Bildquelle: Aljoscha Ilg

Als Volluniversität mit zwölf Fachbereichen und drei Zentralinstituten bietet die Freie Universität mehr als 150 Studiengänge in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie den Naturwissenschaften an. Abschlüsse für jede akademische Qualifizierungsstufe – vom Bachelor- und Masterabschluss über das Staatsexamen bis zur Promotion und Habilitation – stehen zur Wahl. Umfangreiche Angebote der beruflichen Weiterqualifizierung, die von einzelnen Kursen bis zu weiterbildenden Masterstudiengängen reichen, ergänzen das Studienangebot. 

Breit gefächertes Studienangebot

Das breit gefächerte Studienangebot der Freien Universität erlaubt ein auf individuelle Interessen zugeschnittenes Studium. Den Studierenden stehen mit zahlreichen Austauschprogrammen, internationalen Doppelabschlüssen und individuellen sowie strukturierten Promotionsmöglichkeiten viele Wege offen für die persönliche Studiengestaltung.

Studieren in internationalem Umfeld

Die Studieninhalte sind international ausgerichtet: Englischsprachige Master-Programme werden ebenso angeboten wie gemeinsame Master-Studiengänge mit ausländischen Universitäten. Ausdruck des internationalen Profils der Universität ist ihre Stärke in den Regionalwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkten auf Nordamerika, Lateinamerika und Osteuropa, die in drei Zentralinstituten gebündelt sind. Weitere Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die Regionen Ostasien sowie Naher und Mittlerer Osten. Darüber hinaus verfügt die Freie Universität über ein Frankreich- und ein Italienzentrum.

Derzeit beteiligt sich die Freie Universität an den europäischen Programmen Tempus und Erasmus, am Mobilitätsprogramm des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes, PROMOS, und unterhält mit zahlreichen Universitäten Vereinbarungen zum Direktaustausch. Der hohe Anteil von  Studierenden sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus dem Ausland kennzeichnet den internationalen Charakter der Freien Universität.

Umfassende Serviceangebote vor und während des Studiums

Für Studieninteressierte und Studierende bietet die Universität umfangreiche Unterstützungsangebote, die von Beratungen bis zu bereitgestellter Infrastruktur reichen. Das zentrale Studierenden-Service-Center (SSC) berät vor und während des Studiums, sei es telefonisch, per E-Mail oder in einem persönlichen Gespräch. Das campusweite WLAN-Netz bietet jederzeit Zugang zu umfangreichen E-Learning-Angeboten, Recherche-Datenbanken oder das Campusmanagement-System zur Organisation des Studiums.

Das Zentrum für Schulkooperationen bietet Schülerinnen und Schülern schon vor Studienbeginn zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, die Universität kennenzulernen oder an Lehrveranstaltungen teilzunehmen. Dazu zählen die KinderUni für Schülerinnen und Schüler der 2. bis 6. Klasse, die jedes Jahr im September stattfindet, der Girls' Day oder der Experimentierkurs KieWi, in dem Kinder der 3. und 4. Klasse Experimente ausprobieren können. Im Mitmach- und Experimentierlabor NatLab können Schülerinnen und Schüler der 4. bis 6. und 11. bis 13. Klasse, Lehrerinnen und Lehrer und auch Studierende mit Lehramtsoption mit Geräten experimentieren, die ihnen in der Schule für die Fächer Chemie und Biologie gewöhnlich nicht zur Verfügung stehen. Das Physik-Labor PhysLab für die Klassenstufen 5 bis 13 wurde gegründet, um jungen Menschen selbstständiges Experimentieren und Forschen zu ermöglichen.

Wissenschaft und Praxis verbinden

Mit einem umfangreichen Angebot bietet die Universität ihren Studierenden frühzeitig Unterstützung für die Zeit nach dem Examen an, etwa in den berufsvorbereitenden Kursen in den Bachelor-Studiengängen, in den Beratungen durch den universitätseigenen Career-Service oder auch im Zentrum für Weiterbildung.

Die Freie Universität fördert Unternehmensgründungen ihrer Studierenden, Wissenschaftler und Absolventen. Profund Innovation, die zentrale Service-Einrichtung für den Wissens- und Technologietransfer an der Freien Universität Berlin, bietet Jungunternehmern die kostenfreie Nutzung von Büros und Unterstützung in der Startphase.

Zahlreiche erfolgreiche Firmen sind aus dem Umfeld der Universität bereits hervorgegangen. In der 2014 durchgeführten Studie "Gründungsradar" des Stifterverbands der Deutschen Wissenschaft belegt die Freie Universität Berlin Platz sechs im bundesweiten Ranking zur Qualität der Gründungsförderung der großen Hochschulen mit mehr als 15.000 Studierenden.