Freie Universität Berlin

Service Navigation

General Information

ABV_Flyer_Career_Service_weniger Farbe
ABV_Flyer_Career_Service_weniger Farbe

Bachelor’s degree programs at Freie Universität Berlin combine education in a specific discipline within the degree program in that subject with modules within the general professional skills courses (Allgemeine Berufsvorbereitung, ABV) field, which are geared toward professional practice. You can choose from a wide range of courses, choose individual areas of focus, and supplement your own competency profile with qualifications that are relevant in terms of both the labor market and your own personality. The general professional skills (ABV) study field also includes a mandatory professional internship.

Study Structure

Out of the total of 180 credits required to complete a bachelor’s degree program at Freie Universität, 30 credits must be earned in ABV. That equates to one-sixth of all of the student’s studies. The ABV study field is structured as follows:

General Professional Skills (ABV) Study Field

(30 credits)

Mandatory Professional Internship

Internship Related to the Profession or Career

(in Germany or another country)

(5, 10, or 15 credits)


Longer Internship Abroad

(20, 25, or 30 credits)



Modules in Six Skill Areas

(5, 10, or 15 credits)

  • Foreign Languages
  • Information and Media Skills
  • Gender and Diversity Awareness
  • Organization and Management
  • Communication Skills
  • Subject-related Additional Qualifications

The number of credits you receive for the professional internship depends on the length of the internship. If you decide to do a shorter internship, you can choose more modules from the six skill areas and vice versa. If you do a five-month internship in another country, you can earn the full 30 required ABV credits through the internship alone. Please consult our website for information on the internship module and details of your options.

The general professional skills (ABV) study field is governed by a central set of study and examination regulations (in German). The specific regulations for some study programs also include subject-specific particularities and/or additions. You should always be sure to note the extent to which the provisions of the central ABV rules apply to you.

Tasks of the Career Service within ABV

With only a few exceptions, the Career Service is responsible for handling professional internships that take place within the scope of general professional skills courses (ABV). We provide information on finding and applying for internships, advise students on aid options for internships abroad, plan and organize internship colloquia, and ultimately conclude the internship modules in Campus Management so that credits can be posted to your study account.

In addition, we also handle the “Communication Skills” skill area and act as a point of contact for questions regarding the three modules “Präsentieren, Diskutieren, Moderieren” (Present, Discuss, Moderate), “Gesprächsführung und Verhandlung” (Conducting Discussions and Negotiations), and “Optimierung der persönlichen Arbeitsprozesse” (Optimizing Personal Working Processes).

Mentoring Training is offered for students in higher semesters in their subject (Fachsemester) who wish to support and assist beginning students at their institutes throughout the first year of their studies. Successful participation in mentoring training is eligible for five ABV credits.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Allgemeine Informationen

Foto: Career Service

Foto: Career Service

Das Bachelorstudium an der Freien Universität Berlin verbindet die fachliche Ausbildung im jeweiligen Studiengang mit praxisbezogenen Modulen des Studienbereichs Allgemeine Berufsvorbereitung in Bachelorstudiengängen (ABV). Sie können aus einem breitgefächerten Veranstaltungsangebot wählen, dabei individuelle Schwerpunkte setzen und Ihr eigenes Kompetenzprofil um arbeitsmarkt- und persönlichkeitsrelevante Qualifikationen ergänzen. Zum Studienbereich Allgemeine Berufsberufsvorbereitung (ABV) gehört auch ein obligatorisches Berufspraktikum.

Studienstruktur

Von den insgesamt 180 Leistungspunkten, die für den erfolgreichen Abschluss eines Bachelorstudiums an der Freien Universität notwendig sind, müssen 30 Leistungspunkte in der ABV nachgewiesen werden. Das entspricht einem Sechstel des gesamten Studiums. Der Studienbereich ABV ist wie folgt aufgebaut:


Studienbereich Allgemeine Berufsvorbereitung (ABV)
(30 Leistungspunkte)

Obligatorisches Berufspraktikum
 
Berufsbezogenes Praktikum
(im In- oder Ausland)

(5, 10 oder 15 Leistungspunkte)

oder

längeres Auslandspraktikum
(20, 25 oder 30 Leistungspunkte)

 

 

Module in sechs Kompetenzbereichen
(5, 10 oder 15 Leistungspunkte)

 


Die Anzahl der Leistungspunkte, die Sie für das berufsbezogene Praktikum erhalten, hängt von der Dauer des Praktikums ab. Wenn Sie sich also für ein kürzeres Praktikum entscheiden, können Sie mehr Module aus den sechs Kompetenzbereichen wählen und umgekehrt. Machen Sie ein fünfmonatiges Praktikum im Ausland, können Sie sogar die gesamten 30 Leistungspunkte im ABV-Bereich damit abdecken. Informieren Sie sich auf unseren Webseiten zum Praktikumsmodul über die Details Ihrer Wahlmöglichkeiten!

Der Studienbereich Allgemeine Berufsvorbereitung (ABV) wird durch eine zentrale Studien- und Prüfungsordnung geregelt. Manche Studiengänge haben in ihren eigenen Ordnungen noch fachspezifische Besonderheiten und/oder Ergänzungen formuliert. Vergewissern Sie sich auf jeden Fall immer, in welchem Umfang die Bestimmungen der zentralen ABV-Ordnung auf Sie zutreffen.

Aufgaben des Career Service in der ABV

Der Career Service ist mit einigen wenigen Ausnahmen für die Betreuung der Berufspraktika im Rahmen der Allgemeinen Berufsvorbereitung (ABV) zuständig. Wir informieren zu Praktikumssuche und -bewerbung, beraten zu Fördermöglichkeiten für Auslandspraktika, planen und organisieren Praktikumskolloquia und schließen letztendlich die Praktikumsmodule im Campusmanagement ab, damit die Leistungspunkte auf Ihrem Studienkonto verbucht werden können.

Darüber hinaus betreuen wir auch den Kompetenzbereich "Kommunikative Kompetenzen" und sind Ansprechpartner, wenn Sie Fragen zu den drei Modulen "Präsentieren, Diskutieren, Moderieren", "Gesprächsführung und Verhandlung" und "Persönliche Lern- und Arbeitsprozesse aktiv mitgestalten" haben.

Die Qualifizierung für Mentoring und Tutoring ist ein Angebot für Studierende höherer Fachsemester, die Studienanfängerinnen und Studienanfängern an ihren Instituten über das erste Jahr hindurch unterstützen und begleiten möchten. Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an der Mentoring-Qualifizierung kann mit fünf Leistungspunkten in der ABV angerechnet werden.

Inhaltsverzeichnis