Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Strategic Partnerships

Establishing strategic partnerships with leading research universities worldwide is part of the internationalization strategy of Freie Universität Berlin. The objective of these alliances is to allow for comprehensive networking and collaboration on all university levels, i.e. regarding the sustained support of young researchers, the initiation and implementation of innovative research cooperation, the development and establishment of future-oriented teaching, and the structured exchange of researchers, students and staff.

When selecting strategic partners, Freie Universität Berlin takes into account the diversity and intensity of existing contacts as well as the potential for future cooperation. So far, Freie Universität Berlin has formalized six strategic partnerships based on a lively dialogue and exchange with members of the university. In 2011 and 2012, Freie Universität Berlin initiated three strategic partnerships with The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Peking University, and Saint Petersburg State University, respectively. In 2014, the University of British Columbia, and in 2016, the University of California, Berkeley, were added to the portfolio of strategic partnerships; in 2017, a sixth agreement was concluded with the University of Zurich.

Objectives for strategic partnerships are as follows:

  • Strengthening international research collaborations and benefitting from synergies with complementary partner universities
  • Jointly supporting young academics, particularly through cooperation in doctoral training and by integrating the career path model of Freie Universität Berlin
  • Establishing mobility options for researchers and administrative staff
  • Diversifying mobility options for students, for example by establishing joint summer schools or structured mobility models
  • Promoting cooperation in teaching, for example in the development and implementation of joint programs
  • Specifically supporting researchers in the acquisition of third-party funding to promote joint research and teaching projects

Funding Opportunities

For more information about the strategic partnerships, the Berlin University Alliance Partnerships, the partnership networks and funding opportunities within these frameworks – Joint Seed Funding or Joint Postdoc Fellowships, depending on the partner –, please refer to the following links:

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Strategische Partnerschaften

Die Etablierung Strategischer Partnerschaften mit führenden Forschungsuniversitäten weltweit ist Teil der Internationalisierungsstrategie der Freien Universität Berlin. Ziel der Strategischen Partnerschaften ist eine umfassende Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit auf allen universitären Ebenen: in der nachhaltigen Nachwuchsförderung, der Initiierung und Durchführung innovativer Forschungskooperationen, der Entwicklung und Etablierung zukunftsfähiger Lehre sowie im strukturierten Austausch von Forschenden und Studierenden und wissenschaftsunterstützendem Personal.

Bei der Wahl der Strategischen Partner berücksichtigt die Freie Universität Berlin sowohl die Vielfalt und Intensität bereits bestehender Kontakte als auch das Potenzial für zukünftige Kooperationen. Basierend auf einem regen Dialog und Austausch mit Angehörigen der Freien Universität Berlin konnten so bislang sechs Strategische Partnerschaften formalisiert werden. 2011 und 2012 wurden Verträge mit der Hebrew University of Jerusalem, der Peking University und der Saint Petersburg State University unterzeichnet. 2014 wurde das Portfolio der strategischen Partner um die University of British Columbia, 2016 um die University of California, Berkeley, erweitert. 2017 wurde mit der Universität Zürich die sechste Strategische Partnerschaft geschlossen.

Ziele der Strategischen Partnerschaften sind:

  • Stärkung internationaler Forschungskooperationen und Nutzung von Synergien mit komplementären Partneruniversitäten
  • Gemeinsame Förderung von wissenschaftlichem Nachwuchs, insbesondere durch die Zusammenarbeit in der Doktorand/innenausbildung und unter Einbeziehung des Karrierewege-Modells der Freien Universität Berlin
  • Etablierung von Mobilitätsoptionen für Wissenschaftler/innen und Verwaltungsmitarbeiter/innen
  • Diversifizierung der Mobilitätsoptionen für Studierende, bspw. durch die Etablierung gemeinsamer Summer Schools oder strukturierter Mobilitätsmodelle
  • Förderung der Zusammenarbeit in der Lehre, etwa bei der Konzeption und Durchführung gemeinsamer Studiengänge
  • Gezielte Unterstützung von Wissenschaftler/innen bei der Einwerbung von Drittmitteln zur Förderung gemeinsamer Projekte in Forschung und Lehre

Fördermöglichkeiten

Informationen zu den Strategischen Partnerschaften, den Verbundpartnerschaften, den Partnerschaftsnetzwerken und den innerhalb der Strategischen Partnerschaften aufgebauten Fördermaßnahmen finden Sie auf folgenden Websites: