Springe direkt zu Inhalt

North America: Undergraduate

Program description

The Free University Berlin will prospectively offer undergraduate spots at the following North American partner universities:

With scholarship

Without scholarship

Application

Students of the Free University could apply for a spot in the general North America program; a ranking of the preferred partner universities will be made in the online application form. Please rank also the different campusses of the UC system.

Application deadline

For the academic year 2021/22: October 20, 2020

Duration

Information about the possible duration of your exchange (a semester or full academic year) can be found on the sites of the respective partner universities. The academic year in North America usually starts in late August or early September and ends in May or June the following year.

For semester spots, students can apply for a stay of one or two semesters; for academic year spots, students can only apply to go abroad for the full academic year.

Prerequisites

  1. Application is open to fully enrolled undergraduate students of Free University Berlin, who should be in their 3rd semester at the time of their application.
  2. Applicants should have a very good level of English proficiency – please read below for further information.
  3. Applicants should have very good academic standing. Attention! Students of North American Studies should prove a GPA of less or at least equal 2,5 for the courses UNA A and UNA B.
  4. Restrictions
    a) Students cannot take courses in the departments of medical, law or business schools (very limited)
    b) Students will have limited access to courses in clinical psychology, journalism, and business administration

Application documents

Please submit your application documents as early as possible to clarify potential questions or issues in time. Feel free to visit us during our office hours for a personal consultation.

The following documents should arrive at our office on the day of the application deadline:

Online application form

You will find the link to the application form here; it will be online about 4 weeks before the application deadline.

Certificate of enrollment

With details of your study program and your current semester (Fachsemester). You can download your current certificate of enrollment from the student’s administration website (Zedat Portal).

A print-out from Campus Management

“Leistungsübersicht über begonnene und abgeschlossene Module” – available in your Campus Management under the tab “Noten & Punkte”.

Curriculum vitae

A detailed CV in English. Please attach a picture on the top right corner. We accept CVs following either the American or German standard. Should you need to inform us about specific details, e.g. concerning your schooling, please do so in written form on an additional piece of paper (1 page maximum length).

Study proposal

A detailed explanation of your study proposal in English, no longer than 2 pages.

Please divide your letter in two parts:

Academic interest
What made you choose your program of study? Why do you want to study in North America? Which classes would you like to take in North America? Which area of study in your field would you like to focus on during your time in North America and why? Which advantages can you take from this direct exchange for your studies here at Free University?

Preference list of American universities
Please explain your choice of universities in the preference list you gave in the online application form. Briefly explain your top 3 choices. Why are these universities the best universities for your particular area of study? Please feel free to check our partner universities’ websites for further information. (Your preference list and explanations will only be seen by our selection committee and not by the partner universities).

Please note: We strongly advise not to focus on a single specific university or geographic region! Restricting yourself to one university can significantly reduce your chances of getting a spot in the direct exchange program.

Two letters of recommendation

Two letters of recommendation by lecturers of Free University Berlin. Exception: Only one letter of recommendation for the semester program at the University of California System.

Letters of recommendation can be handed in up to one week after the official application deadline (October 14, 2019 for applications for the academic year 2020/21).

Please give your lecturer this form. The letter of recommendation should be sent as a PDF-document to the Büro für Internationale Studierendenmobilität directly by your lecturer. After the application process, the letter of recommendation will be archived; we do not hand the letters of recommendation to students or transmit them to others.

Proof of language proficiency

It is necessary for applicants to have a very good knowledge of the English language in order to be able to follow the classes while abroad. Most North American universities require the TOEFL or the IELTS test as proof of English proficiency. The University of California System also accepts the CAE (A) and CPE (C) (exception: UC Berkeley).Please check the language requirements by visiting the sites of the partner universities.

TOEFL (official score report)
We only accept the official score report of the internet based TOEFL (iBt). The test result cannot be older than two years. When booking a TOEFL appointment, please make sure to provide the institution code of Free University Berlin-Student Exchange Office (C507) in order for the test results to be sent directly to our office. You will receive an examinee score report and can view your test scores online. For the application we accept a PDF of your online score report or your examinee score report.

IELTS (test report form)
We only accept the official score report which has been sent to our office directly. You can check the minimum of scores on the sites of the respective partner universities..

We strongly recommend you to ask the TOEFL test centre to send several copies of the official score report directly to the office of student mobility, as this is free of charge when passing the test. Furthermore, we can send  copies of your official score report to other institutions such as the DAAD. As it usually takes about 4 weeks for official score reports to arrive, we strongly recommend taking the test as early as possible! Should you have passed one of the language proficiency test within the past 2 years, please submit a copy of your test result with your application. Please note that without a language test result we cannot invite you for an interview.

Proof of language proficiency can be handed in up to two weeks after the official application deadline (October 21, 2019 for applications for the academic year 2020/21 at the latest!).


Please name each document as follows: YourLastName_DocumentTitle (e.g. Schmid_StudyProposal). All documents (except for the letter of recommendation) should be sent as a separate PDF document within one zip folder, which should also have your last name.

You will receive a confirmation of receipt within a week of submitting your application. Should you not get an answer from us after a week, please get in touch with us. However, please refrain from sending several emails after having submitted your application, as this slows down our working process.

Financing

The partner universities offer nominated FU students a full tuition waiver. Some partner universities grant an additional scholarship to cover living costs; please find more detailed information under the links of each partner university.

It is possible to apply for additional funding with the DAAD or PROMOS. Please note that the DAAD only has one deadline per year, usually in Mid July for the following year.

Further information on financing can be found here.

Further information

Tuition waiver

A nomination by the Free University for one of our partner universities always includes a full tuition waiver; further information can be found on the pages for each partner university. 

Enrollment as non-degree student

Our exchange agreements always include an enrollment as a non-degree student for the duration of your stay. It is not possible to graduate from the partner universities.

Credit and grade transfer

Whether you will get credit at the FU for the classes you take at the partner university will be decided by your department. We recommend talking to the responsible parties before going abroad. 

 Leave of absence

Students have the option to take a leave of absence for one or two semesters.

Up-to-dateness of the published capacities

Please note that because the exchange is based on reciprocity, the final number of spots available at each partner university can only be published shortly before the application deadlines.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Nordamerika: Bachelor

Programmbeschreibung

Der Freien Universität Berlin stehen voraussichtlich Studienplätze an folgenden US-amerikanischen und kanadischen Universitäten zur Verfügung. Wir raten wir Ihnen dringend, sich für mehrere Optionen zu bewerben und möglichst flexibel zu agieren.

Voraussichtlich mit Stipendium:

Auch eines der zu vergebenden Stipendien wird voraussichtlich nicht alle tatsächlich anfallenden Kosten abdecken können. Bitte informieren Sie sich vorab über die Lebenshaltungskosten in den einzelnen Städten und berechnen Sie Kosten für Krankenversicherungen usw. mit ein.

Ohne Stipendium:

Bewerbung

Studierende der Freien Universität bewerben sich auf einen Austauschplatz im Nordamerikaprogramm allgemein; ein Ranking der präferierten Partneruniversitäten innerhalb des Programms erfolgt erst beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars.

Bewerbungsfrist

Für das akademische Jahr 2022/23: 04. November 2021

Laufzeit

Ob sich das Angebot auf einen Jahres- oder Semesterplatz bezieht, sowie genauere Informationen zu den einzelnen Laufzeiten, können Sie den Seiten zu den jeweiligen Partneruniversitäten entnehmen. Im Allgemeinen beginnt das akademische Jahr an den nordamerikanischen Universitäten im August bzw. September und endet im Mai bzw. Juni.

Bei Semesterplätzen können Studierende sich auf ein oder zwei Semester bewerben, bei Jahresplätzen nur auf das ganze akademische Jahr.

Voraussetzungen

  1. Bewerben können sich unbefristet an der Freien Universität Berlin immatrikulierte Bachelorstudierende, die zum Zeitpunkt des Bewerbungstermins i. d. R. im 3. Fachsemester studieren.
  2. Bewerber*innen müssen über sehr gute englische Sprachkenntnisse verfügen - genauere Informationen dazu finden Sie weiter unten.
  3. Bewerber*innen müssen gute bis sehr gute fachliche Leistungen nachweisen.
  4. Beschränkungen:
    a) Es stehen keine Austauschplätze für den Besuch an der medical, law oder business school zur Verfügung.
    b) Die Kursbelegung in den Fächern clinical psychology, journalism und business administration ist stark begrenzt.
  5. Hinweise für Wirtschaftsstudierende finden Sie hier.
Bitte beachten Sie: Im Falle einer Zusage werden Sie für ein Visum einen Nachweis über Ihre finanziellen Mittel erbringen müssen, der nachzuweisende Betrag variiert je nach Universität.

Bewerbungsunterlagen

Bitte reichen Sie Ihre Bewerbung möglichst frühzeitig ein, damit Fragen rechtzeitig geklärt werden können. Gerne können Sie auch während unserer Sprechzeiten zu einem persönlichen Beratungsgespräch im Büro der Internationalen Studierendenmobilität vorbeikommen oder sich per Webex beraten zu lassen.

Folgende Unterlagen müssen spätestens bis zum Bewerbungstermin vollständig im Büro für Internationale Studierendenmobilität eingehen:

Online Bewerbungsformular

Dieses wird ca. 4 Wochen vor der Bewerbungsfrist hier freigeschaltet.

Immatrikulationsbescheinigung

Mit Angabe der Studienfächer und Semesterzahl aus dem aktuellen Semester - diesen können Sie im Portal der Studierendenverwaltung herunterladen.

Ausdruck aus Campus Management

"Leistungsübersicht über begonnene und abgeschlossene Modulleistungen" - diesen können Sie im Campus Management unter dem Reiter "Noten & Punkte" herunterladen.

Motivationsschreiben

Eine ausführliche Darstellung des Studienvorhabens (study proposal) in englischer Sprache auf ca. 2 Seiten.

Bitte gliedern Sie Ihr Vorhaben in zwei Teile:

Fachliches Interesse
Was sind die Gründe, die Sie zu Ihrer Studienfachwahl geführt haben? Warum möchten Sie in Nordamerika studieren? Welches Fach möchten Sie in Nordamerika studieren? Auf welches Themengebiet innerhalb Ihres Faches möchten Sie sich im Gastland konzentrieren und warum? Welchen Vorteil bietet Ihnen ein Studienaufenthalt in Nordamerika für Ihr weiteres Studium an der Freien Universität?

Präferenzliste amerikanischer Universitäten
Erläutern Sie die Präferenzliste nordamerikanischer Universitäten, die Sie im Bewerbungsformular "Bewerbung um ein Direktaustausch-Stipendium" erstellt haben. Begründen Sie kurz Ihre Auswahl für die ersten drei Präferenzen. Wieso sind diese Universitäten Ihres Erachtens für das dargestellte Studienvorhaben am besten geeignet? Als Hilfe können die Homepages der Partneruniversitäten dienen. (Ihre Präferenzliste mit Begründung wird nur unserer Auswahlkommission vorgelegt und nicht an die Partneruniversitäten weitergeleitet.)

Hinweis: Wir raten Ihnen dringend - sei die Motivation fachlicher oder persönlicher Natur - von einer einseitigen Orientierung auf eine bestimmte Universität oder Region Abstand zu nehmen! Die Beschränkung auf eine einzelne Wunschuniversität verringert Ihre Chancen so erheblich, dass wir Ihnen in diesem Fall von einer Bewerbung abraten!

Zwei Empfehlungsschreiben

Zwei Empfehlungsschreiben von Dozierenden der Freien Universität in englischer Sprache. Ausnahme: Nur ein Empfehlungsschreiben für das Semesterprogramm der University of California System.

Für die Empfehlungsschreiben gilt eine Nachreichfrist von einer Woche nach der offiziellen Bewerbungsfrist .

Bitte geben Sie den Gutachtenden dieses Formular. Das Empfehlungsschreiben sollte als PDF-Dokument direkt von dem Dozierenden an das Büro für Internationale Studierendenmobilität geschickt werden. Nach Abschluss des Bewerbungsverfahrens verbleibt das Empfehlungsschreiben bei uns; eine Rückgabe an die Bewerber*innen sowie die Weiterleitung an Stellen außerhalb der Freien Universität Berlin ist i. d. R. ausgeschlossen.

Sprachnachweis

Bewerber*innen müssen über sehr gute englische Sprachkenntnisse verfügen, die für ein intensives Fachstudium unbedingt erforderlich sind. Für die Zulassung an den amerikanischen Universitäten ist der TOEFL iBT oder der IELTS Test Voraussetzung. An der University of California wird auch das CAE und CPE akzeptiert (Ausnahme: UC Berkeley). Die genauen Sprachvoraussetzungen finden Sie auf der Seite der Partneruniversität weiter oben.
 
TOEFL (official score report)
Wir akzeptieren nur das offizielle Testergebnis, welches unter Angabe des Institutscodes der Freien Universitaet Berlin-Student Exchange Office (C507) direkt an unser Büro geschickt wird; Sie selbst erhalten zusätzlich einen examinee score report und können Ihr Testergebnis online einsehen. Das Testergebnis darf nicht älter als zwei Jahre sein. Mindestpunktzahl: s. Partneruniversität. Zur Bewerbung genügt ein Scan Ihres examinee score reports bzw. ein PDF Ihres online Ergebnisses.

IELTS (test report form)
Wir akzeptieren nur das offizielle Testergebnis, welches direkt an unser Büro geschickt wird; sie selbst erhalten zusätzlich eine Kopie Ihres test report forms. Mindestpunktzahl:  s. Partneruniversität.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, ein oder mehrere Exemplare des offiziellen Testergebnisses direkt an das Büro für Internationale Studierendenmobilität schicken zu lassen, da dies bei Ablegen des Tests noch kostenfrei ist und wir Ihr Ergebnis später auf Wunsch an Institutionen wie den DAAD weiterleiten. Da es erfahrungsgemäß 4 Wochen dauert, bis die Testergebnisse bei uns eintreffen, empfehlen wir Ihnen dringend, den Test so bald wie möglich abzulegen! Falls Sie einen dieser Sprachtests während der letzten zwei Jahre abgelegt haben, reichen Sie bitte zunächst eine Kopie des Testergebnisses ein. Achtung: Ohne ein Testergebnis ist eine Teilnahme am Interview nicht möglich.

Das Testergebnis sollte bis zur Bewerbungsfrist vorliegen, kann aber bis spätestens zwei Wochen nach Bewerbungsschluss nachgereicht werden.

Bitte benennen Sie jedes der unten aufgeführten Dokumente nach folgendem Muster: IhrNachname_BezeichnungDerBewerbungsunterlageund speichern es einzeln als PDF-Datei ab. Alle Unterlagen (ausgenommen des Gutachtens) sollten dann gesammelt in einer nach Ihrem Nachnamen benannten Zip-Datei zusammengefasst, und an auslstud@fu-berlin.de verschickt werden.

Nach Abgabe Ihrer Bewerbung erhalten Sie spätestens nach einer Woche eine Eingangsbestätigung per E-Mail. Falls Sie keine Bestätigung erhalten, setzen Sie sich bitte unbedingt mit uns in Verbindung.

Finanzierung

Die ausländischen Partneruniversitäten gewähren den Studierenden der Freien Universität den Erlass der Studiengebühren. Einige Partneruniversitäten bieten ein zusätzliches Stipendium an; genauere Informationen dazu finden unter den Links der einzelnen Universitäten.

Es besteht die Möglichkeit, sich zusätzlich um finanzielle Förderung beim DAAD oder über PROMOS zu bewerben. Zu beachten ist, dass der DAAD Jahresstipendien für die USA und Kanada nur einmal im Jahr ausschreibt.

Weitere Informationen zu Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten finden Sie hier.

Weitere Informationen

Erlass der Studiengebühren

Die Nominierung an einer Partneruniversität beinhaltet immer den Erlass der dortigen Studiengebühren; Informationen zu eventuellen Stipendienangeboten finden Sie auf den Seiten der einzelnen Universitäten.

Zulassung als non-degree student

Im Rahmen unserer Austauschvereinbarungen ist grundsätzlich eine Zulassung als non-degree student für die Dauer der Stipendienlaufzeit vereinbart worden. Ein Abschluss an der Partneruniversität ist daher generell nicht möglich.

Anrechenbarkeit von Kursen

Die Anrechenbarkeit der im Ausland belegten Kurse muss mit dem eigenen Institut an der Freien Universität geklärt werden. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, dies vor bereits Antritt des Auslandsaufenthaltes zu regeln.

Beurlaubung

Die Studierenden können sich für das Auslandsstudium für ein oder zwei Semester beurlauben lassen.

Aktualität der Ausschreibungen

Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund der erforderlichen Reziprozität erst im Herbst endgültige Informationen zur genauen Anzahl der Austauschplätze sowie zu den teilnehmenden Universitäten zur Verfügung stehen werden.


Die Daten von Bewerber_innen werden in Übereinstimmung mit dem "Gesetz zum Schutz vor Missbrauch personenbezogener Daten bei der Datenverarbeitung" gespeichert, soweit sie zur Bearbeitung der Bewerbung bzw. des Stipendiums nötig sind. Die Unterlagen nicht erfolgreicher Bewerber_innen werden nach einer angemessenen Frist vernichtet.