Language Requirements

Our website "study programs" includes information on whether specific language skills are required for admission, and if so, what the requirements are. As a basic principle, the language skills have to be submitted when applying.

The website of the Language Center of Freie Universität Berlin contains information on the levels established in the European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). The respective selection commission decides whether language certificates are equivalent in accordance with the Zugangssatzung (regulations on allocation of study placements).

As a general rule, the following equivalents are accepted as proof of English knowledge. However, some programs have individual requirements on language proofs. Therefore, it is recommended to get additional information via the department’s/program’s websites.

You can demonstrate English skills either by school records or certificates regarding language tests. The language level shown on the (school) certificate is generally binding.

levelequivalent
B1 CEFR
  • five years of English instruction at school (if the language level is not shown on the (school) certificate)
  • IELTS 4.5
  • Cambridge Examinations:
    Preliminary English Test (PET)
    First Certificate (FCE)
    Advanced (CAE)

    Proficiency (CPE)

  • TOEFL: Paper 450 or Computer 130 or Internet 60
  • UNIcert® I
The level B2 CEFR
  • six years of English instruction at school (if the language level is not shown on the (school) certificate)
  • IELTS 5.0
  • Cambridge Examinations:
    First Certificate (FCE)
    Advanced (CAE)

    Proficiency (CPE)

  • TOEFL: Paper 500 or Computer 170 or Internet 80
  • UNIcert® II

Applicants who have earned a degree at a university or equivalent institution abroad, are required to demonstrate German language skills for most master’s programs in accordance with the German higher education entrance examination (Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang ausländischer Studienbewerberinnen und -bewerber, DSH) at Freie Universität Berlin. You can also provide proof of these language skills by means of equivalents to the DSH.

The language center of Freie Universität Berlin does not administer any language tests for the master’s program application process aside from the DSH test and the test for North American Studies.

» continue with "Application Period and Notices"

osa_logo_RGB
online_infos_bewerbungsverfahren-en

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Sprachliche Zugangsvoraussetzungen

In den einzelnen Studiengangdarstellungen der konsekutiven Masterstudiengänge unter Studienangebot ist bei den Zugangsvoraussetzungen jeweils angegeben, ob und welche Sprachkenntnisse verlangt werden.

Die Sprachnachweise müssen grundsätzlich bereits zur Bewerbung eingereicht werden.

Informationen über die Niveaustufen des Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Fremdsprachen finden sich auf den Seiten des Sprachenzentrums der Freien Universität Berlin. Über die Gleichwertigkeit von Sprachzeugnissen entscheidet gemäß der Zugangssatzung der zuständige Prüfungsausschuss.

In der Regel werden für den Nachweis von Englischkenntnissen die unten genannten Äquivalente anerkannt. Es kann jedoch zu Abweichungen in einzelnen Studiengängen kommen, deshalb empfehlen wir, sich zusätzlich auf den Webseiten der Studiengänge zu informieren.

Englischkenntnisse können entweder durch die Vorlage von Schulzeugnissen oder von Zeugnissen über Sprachtests nachgewiesen werden. Grundsätzlich ist das auf dem Abiturzeugnis angegebene Sprachniveau bindend.

Auf Grund der aktuellen Situation verzichten wir bei der Bewerbung und Immatrikulation zum Wintersemester 2020/2021 auf amtliche Beglaubigungen der Sprachnachweise.
NiveauÄquivalente

B1 GER

  • fünf Jahre Englischunterricht in der Schule (nur wenn Sprachniveau auf dem Zeugnis nicht ausgewiesen ist)
  • IELTS 4.5
  • Cambridge Examinations:
    Preliminary English Test (PET)
    First Certificate (FCE)
    Advanced (CAE)
    Proficiency (CPE)
  • TOEFL: Paper 450 oder Computer 130 oder Internet 60
  • UNIcert® I

B2 GER

  • sechs Jahre Englischunterricht in der Schule (nur wenn Sprachniveau auf dem Zeugnis nicht ausgewiesen ist)
  • IELTS 5.0
  • Cambridge Examinations:
    First Certificate (FCE)
    Advanced (CAE)
    Proficiency (CPE)
  • TOEFL: Paper 500 oder Computer 170 oder Internet 80
  • UNIcert® II

Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die ihren Studienabschluss an einer ausländischen Universität oder gleichgestellten Einrichtung erworben haben, müssen für die meisten Master Deutschkenntnisse gemäß der Deutschen Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang ausländischer Studienbewerberinnen und -bewerber (DSH) an der Freien Universität Berlin nachweisen. Diese Sprachkenntnisse können auch durch Äquivalente zur DSH belegt werden.

Abgesehen von der DSH führt das Sprachenzentrum im Rahmen der Masterbewerbung keine Sprachprüfungen durch.

» weiter zu "Bewerbungsfrist und Bescheide"