Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Flexible Funds

The Center for International Cooperation funds the internationalization of research at Freie Universität Berlin through a set of measures tailor-made to the needs of FUB scientists and scholars. As part of these measures, the “Flexible Funds” program makes available funds for international research and teaching stays.

Goals of the Funding

The funding provided by this program serves to further the internationalization of Freie Universität Berlin, especially in the context of soliciting and establishing collaborative research with universities and non-university research institutes worldwide. Initiatives that serve the greater goals of the internationalization Freie Universität Berlin can include:

  • Proposing collaborative research projects with international partners
  • Preparation of joint applications for third-party funds for research or teaching projects with international partners
  • Establishing cooperative relationships with partners abroad
  • Travel with the goal of preparing joint publications
  • Liaison with Freie Universität alumni
  • Recruiting of international post-doctoral candidates and scientists
  • Development of joint Master and PhD programs with international partner institutions

Fundable Initiatives

Initiatives eligible for funding are:

  • Research and teaching stays abroad for Freie Universität Berlin scientists with the goal of research proposals and establishment of collaborative relationships
  • Short-term stipends for foreign doctoral and post-doctoral candidates and scientists who are part of a long-term research cooperation
  • International marketing and PR initiatives
  • International alumni activities

Application process

Funding applications may be submitted by Freie Universität Berlin professors as well as heads of the central departments, university administration and libraries.

The application deadline for the flexible funding scheme is the 15th of every month. Project proposals should be submitted at least two months prior to the start of the planned project; we cannot guarantee a response to rushed funding applications.

Please submit the application form along with further explanatory documents to Hans-Martin Meis, hans-martin.meis@fu-berlin.de 

Applicants are required to submit a project report to the Center for International Cooperation within six weeks of project completion. This report must clearly address the results of the goals set out in the application.

Comment:

Members of Freie Universität going abroad: For an estimation of daily and accommodation allowances that can be applied for, please consult the standards of the German Travel Expenses Act. In case of approval, the exact sum of the funding will be calculated by the department for travel expenses.

Invitations of international scholars to Freie Unversität: In case of approval, the CIC can cover accommodcation costs of up to 80€ per person and night. Please note that daily allowances and salaries/fees will not be covered.

Restrictions and instructions

Please note that the Center for International Cooperation will evaluate your application thoroughly. In case of approval, you will receive the agreed upon funding; however, the CIC cannot partake in the organization or execution of the approved project.

Ineligible for funding are:

  • Participation of individual scientists at international conferences and meetings that are not related to a concrete cooperative project can, as a general rule, not be funded.
  • Translation of scientific publications
  • Conference subsidies for doctoral candidates
  • Honoraria for scientists
  • Expenses for participating scientists from other German universities or research institutions (participation is possible, however, expenses must be covered at own charge) 
  • Initiatives for which there are distinct CIC funding lines. This includes international workshops, test scholarships for prospective international PhD students, and research projects with strategic partners.

Restrictions:

  • Catering can only be covered to a limited extent (e.g. during breaks). When applying for funding of catering costs, please explain explicitly why cost coverage is necessary. Please note that the guidelines of Freie Universität Berlin regarding catering must be adhered to, the maximum rates may not be exceeded. The percentage of catering costs may not exceed 30% of the total funding of the Center for International Cooperation.
  • Stays abroad for doctoral candidates may only be funded if the stay is related to the establishment or support of a specific, faculty-supported, non-individual research project. Individual research trips cannot be funded.

Contact

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Flexible Projektförderung / Flexible Funds

Das Center for International Cooperation fördert mit einem auf die Bedürfnisse der FU-Wissenschaftler/innen zugeschnittenen Maßnahmenkatalog die Internationalisierung der Forschung an der Freien Universität Berlin. Hierzu gibt es über die Fördermaßnahme „Flexible Projektförderung / Flexible Funds“ die Möglichkeit, Gelder für internationale Forschungskooperationen zu beantragen.

Ziele der Förderung

Die Förderung in diesem Programm dient der weiteren Internationalisierung der Freien Universität Berlin, insbesondere der Kontaktanbahnung und Etablierung von Forschungskooperationen mit Universitäten und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen weltweit. Hierzu können Maßnahmen durchgeführt werden, die einem wichtigen Internationalisierungsziel der Freien Universität Berlin dienen, darunter:

  • Kontaktanbahnung für gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte mit internationalen Partnern
  • Vorbereitung der gemeinsamen Antragstellung für Drittmittel für Forschungs- oder Lehrprojekte mit internationalen Partnern
  • Aufbau von Kooperationsbeziehungen zu Partnern im Ausland
  • Aufenthalte zwecks Erstellung gemeinsamer Publikationen
  • Bindung von Alumni an die Freie Universität
  • Rekrutierung internationaler Postdocs und Wissenschaftler/innen
  • Verbesserung der Services für internationale Studierende und Wissenschaftler/innen
  • Entwicklung gemeinsamer Studiengänge und Promotionsprogramme mit internationalen Partnerinstitutionen

Förderbare Maßnahmen

Förderbar sind:

  • forschungs- und lehrbezogene Auslandsaufenthalte von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern der Freien Universität Berlin zur Anbahnung und zum Ausbau von Kooperationsbeziehungen
  • Kurzstipendien für ausländische Postdocs und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die Teil von nachhaltiger internationaler Forschungskooperation sind
  • internationale Marketing- und PR-Maßnahmen
  • internationale Alumni-Aktivitäten

Antragsverfahren

Antragsberechtigt sind Professorinnen und Professoren sowie Leitungen der Zentraleinheiten, Zentralen Universitätsverwaltung und Bibliotheken der Freien Universität Berlin.

Antragsfrist für die flexible Projektförderung ist der 15. jeden Monats. Projektanträge sollten mindestens zwei Monate vor dem geplanten Projektbeginn eingereicht werden, bei kürzerer Antragstellung können wir eine Aussage zur Förderung vorab nicht garantieren.

Reichen Sie bitte das Antragsformular (Antragsformular Flexible Funds) sowie weitere erläuternde Unterlagen elektronisch bei Hans-Martin Meis, hans-martin.meis@fu-berlin.de, ein.

Antragsteller verpflichten sich, sechs Wochen nach Projektende einen Projektbericht beim Center for International Cooperation einzureichen, der die Ergebnisse zu den im Antrag benannten Zielen klar adressiert.

Hinweis:

Bei Reisen von FU-Angehörigen ins Ausland: Für die Abschätzung der zu beantragenden Tages- und Übernachtungsgelder orientieren Sich sich bitte an den Vorgaben des Bundesreisekostengesetzes. Im Falle einer Bewilligung wird die exakte Summe der Ihnen zustehenden Mittel von der Reisekostenstelle berechnet.

Bei Einladungen ausländischer Wissenschaftler an die FU: Das CIC kann im Falle einer Bewilligung Übernachtungskosten von bis zu 80,00 EUR pro Person und Nacht übernehmen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Honorarkosten und Tagegelder grundsätzlich nicht übernommen werden.

Einschränkungen und Verfahrenshinweise

Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Center for International Cooperation Ihren Antrag eingehend prüft und evaluiert. Im Falle eines positiven Bescheids erhalten Sie die bewilligten finanziellen Mittel, das CIC kann sich jedoch nicht organisatorisch oder inhaltlich an der Durchführung der zugesagten Maßnahme beteiligen.

Nicht förderbar sind:

  • Die Teilnahme einzelner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an internationalen Konferenzen und Tagungen, die nicht in Zusammenhang mit einem konkreten Kooperationsprojekt steht, kann grundsätzlich nicht gefördert werden.
  • Übersetzungen von wissenschaftlichen Publikationen
  • Konferenzzuschüsse für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden
  • Honorare für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler
  • Ausgaben für an Fördermaßnahmen beteiligte Wissenschafterlinnen und Wissenschaftler, die eine Anbindung an andere deutsche Universitäten oder Forschungseinrichtungen haben (eine Teilnahme ist möglich, anfallende Kosten sind jedoch durch die Beteiligten selbst zu tragen)
  • Maßnahmen, für die es eigene Förderlinien des CIC gibt. Hierzu zählen Internationale Workshops, Teststipendien für potentielle internationale Doktorand/innen sowie Forschungsprojekte mit Strategischen Partnern.

Einschränkungen:

  • Bewirtungskosten können nur in begrenztem Maße übernommen werden (Pausenverpflegung). Bitte begründen Sie in Ihrem Antrag explizit, warum die Übernahme von Bewirtungskosten erforderlich ist. Generell gilt bei Bewirtungen die Bewirtungsrichtlinie der Freien Universität Berlin, die Höchstsätze dürfen nicht überschritten werden. Der Anteil der Bewirtungskosten an den Gesamtkosten der Förderung durch das Center for International Cooperation sollte 30% nicht überschreiten.
  • Auslandsaufenthalte von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden können nur dann gefördert werden, wenn ihr Aufenthalt belegbar der Etablierung oder Unterstützung eines konkreten vom Fachbereich getragenen, nicht-individuellen Forschungsprojektes ist. Individuelle Forschungsaufenthalte können nicht unterstützt werden.

Kontakt