Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Language Requirements

Due to the current situation, it is sufficient to submit simple copies of proofs of language skills for application or enrollment for the winter semester 2020/21.

Some undergraduate study programs require certain language skills, which have to be proven either within the application procedure or within the enrollment at Freie Universität Berlin.

Our website "undergraduate degree programs" includes information on whether specific language skills are required for admission, and if so, what the requirements are and if language tests are involved. This information is also available from the brochure entitled "Von der Schule an die Freie Universität Berlin" (only in German).

1. Language proof for application procedure 

Application for the first subject-specific semester

  • For the bachelor’s programs English Philology /North American Studies, French Philology/French Studies applicants have to pass mandatory language tests shortly after the application deadline. It is not necessary to attend the test, if there are reasons for exemption.
    Please note that under certain circumstances you have to pass several language tests (depending on the chosen program) and the test registration or the exemption from tests has to be done for each subject.

    Applicants for the first subject-specific semester inform themselves (before application deadline) on the websites of the Language Center of Freie Universität Berlin about:
    - test dates (winter semester: mid till end of July)
    - test registration
    - deadlines for the exemption from tests
    Applicants for the first subject-specific semester of a program, who do not meet the language requirements (Test nicht bestanden oder nicht teilgenommen, keine Befreiung vom Test) will not be considered in the admission process.

  • For the bachelor’s programs Italian Philology / Italian Studies and Spanish Philology language skills at level B1 CER are required. However, you also can take up studies without language skills. In that case, your language proficiency can be evaluated in a classification test. The classification test will determine whether you can start your studies directly or have to complete a preliminary language course first.

Application for higher subject-specific semesters

Applicants for higher subject-specific semesters of all the above-mentioned study programs have to pass the language test also, or to present an exemption from the test. In case the admission requirements are not met, the admission notice becomes void. Enrollment for the chosen study program is not possible then.

2. Language proof for enrollment

Some study programs do not require a language test, however certain language skills have to be proven for enrollment on the basis of school records or language certificates. Detailed information can be found in the brochure "Von der Schule an die Freie Universität Berlin" (pdf-file, only in German) or in the descriptions of study programs.

Some study programs require a certain level of English skills. The language level shown on the (school) certificate is generally binding. The Department of Application and Admission will accept the following proofs as equivalents:

 LevelEquivalent
The level B1 CEFR
  • five years of English instruction at school (if the language level is not shown on the (school) certificate)
  • IELTS 4.5
  • Cambridge Examinations:
    Preliminary English Test (PET)
    First Certificate (FCE)
    Advanced (CAE)

    Proficiency (CPE)

  • TOEFL: Paper 450 or Computer 130 or Internet 60

  • UNIcert® I
The level B2 CEFR
  • six years of English instruction at school (if the language level is not shown on the (school) certificate)
  • IELTS 5.0
  • Cambridge Examinations:
    First Certificate (FCE)
    Advanced (CAE)

    Proficiency (CPE)

  • TOEFL: Paper 500 or Computer 170 or Internet 80

  • UNIcert® II

If you have earned your university entrance qualification abroad, the transcripts and documents you submit with your application do not typically show how many years of language instruction you have completed. In that case, applicants must submit either a certificate from their school regarding the duration of their instruction, or a language certificate. For graduates of the preparatory course (Studienkolleg) at Freie Universität Berlin, the certificate shows the level at which the language instruction was given.

In case of university entrance qualifications issued in Australia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Canada, New Zealand, or the United States of America, or if you have a degree from any of those countries, you are not required to provide any further proof regarding your English skills on the levels B1 CEFR or B2 CEFR.

3. Proof of German language skills for application and for enrollment, holding a university entrance qualification from abroad

Applicants with non-German university entrance qualification, are required to prove German language skills in accordance with the German higher education entrance examination (Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang ausländischer Studienbewerberinnen und -bewerber, DSH ) at Freie Universität Berlin. You can also provide proof of these language skills by means of equivalents to the DSH.

» continue with "Which Application Procedure for which Course of Study?"

Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistenten der Freien Universität
Online information

Sprachliche Zugangsvoraussetzungen

Für einige grundständige Studienangebote gibt es sprachliche Zugangsvoraussetzungen, die entweder im Rahmen der Bewerbung oder im Rahmen der Immatrikulation an der Freien Universität Berlin nachgewiesen werden müssen.

In den einzelnen Fachdarstellungen unter grundständiges Studienangebot ist jeweils angegeben, welche Sprachvoraussetzungen verlangt werden und ob u. U. ein Sprachtest absolviert werden muss. Diese Angaben finden sich auch in der Broschüre: "Von der Schule an die Freie Universität Berlin" (pdf-Datei)

1. Sprachnachweis zur Bewerbung

Bewerbung zum 1. Fachsemester

  • Für die Fächer Englische Philologie/ Nordamerikastudien, Französische Philologie und Frankreichstudien ist als sprachliche Zugangsvoraussetzung ein obligatorischer Sprachtest kurz nach Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist abzulegen. Die Teilnahme am Sprachtest ist nicht notwendig, wenn Gründe für die Befreiung vom Test vorliegen.
    Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie unter Umständen mehrere Sprachtests absolvieren müssen (je nach Studienwunsch) und die Anmeldung zum Test/Befreiung vom Test pro Studienfach erfolgen muss.
    Bewerber/innen für das 1. Fachsemester eines Studiengangs informieren sich (spätestens bis Bewerbungsschluss) auf den Seiten des Sprachenzentrums der Freien Universität Berlin über:
    - Testtermine (zum WS: Mitte bis Ende Juli)  
    - Anmeldung zum Test
    - Termine für die Beantragung von Testbefreiungen

    Bewerber/innen zum 1. Fachsemester eines Studiengangs, die die sprachlichen Zugangsvoraussetzungen nicht erfüllen (Test nicht bestanden oder nicht teilgenommen, keine Befreiung vom Test), werden nicht am Zulassungsverfahren beteiligt.

  • Für die Fächer Italienische Philologie / Italienstudien und Spanische Philologie sind Kenntnisse der jeweiligen Sprache auf dem Niveau B1 GER erforderlich. Das Studium kann jedoch auch ohne Sprachkenntnisse begonnen werden. Sollten Sie über Vorkenntnisse verfügen, haben jedoch keinen Nachweis darüber, können Sie in einem Einstufungstest das Niveau Ihrer Sprachkenntnisse prüfen lassen. Durch den Test wird festgestellt, ob Sie direkt mit dem Studium beginnen können oder zunächst einen Vorstudiensprachkurs absolvieren müssen.

Bewerbung zum höheren Fachsemester

Bewerber/innen zum höheren Fachsemester für alle oben genannten Studiengänge müssen ebenfalls einen Sprachtest ablegen oder eine Befreiung durch das Sprachenzentrum nachweisen. Werden die sprachlichen Zugangsvoraussetzungen nicht erfüllt, wird der Zulassungsbescheid unwirksam. Eine Immatrikulation für den gewählten Studiengang ist dann nicht möglich.

2. Sprachnachweis zur Immatrikulation

Für einige Studiengänge müssen Sprachkenntnisse auf einem bestimmten Niveau anhand von Schulzeugnissen oder Sprachzeugnissen im Rahmen der Immatrikulation nachgewiesen werden. Angaben dazu, welche Studiengänge dies betrifft, finden Sie ebenfalls in der Broschüre: "Von der Schule an die Freie Universität Berlin" oder in den Studiengangbeschreibungen.

Für einige Studienangebote werden Englischkenntnisse auf einem bestimmten Niveau verlangt. Grundsätzlich ist das auf dem Abiturzeugnis angegebene Sprachniveau bindend. Als Äquivalente werden folgende anerkannt:

NiveauÄquivalente

B1 GER

  • fünf Jahre Englischunterricht in der Schule (wenn Sprachniveau auf dem Zeugnis nicht ausgewiesen ist)
  • IELTS 4.5
  • Cambridge Examinations:
    Preliminary English Test (PET)
    First Certificate (FCE)
    Advanced (CAE)
    Proficiency (CPE)
  • TOEFL: Paper 450 oder Computer 130 oder Internet 60
  • UNIcert® I

B2 GER

  • sechs Jahre Englischunterricht in der Schule (wenn Sprachniveau auf dem Zeugnis nicht ausgewiesen ist)
  • IELTS 5.0
  • Cambridge Examinations:
    First Certificate (FCE)
    Advanced (CAE)
    Proficiency (CPE)
  • TOEFL: Paper 500 oder Computer 170 oder Internet 80
  • UNIcert® II

Wenn die Hochschulzugangsberechtigung im Ausland erworben wurde, ist aus den Zeugnissen in der Regel nicht zu erkennen, wie viele Jahre Sprachunterricht absolviert wurde. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber reichen in dem Fall entweder eine Bescheinigung ihrer Schule über die Dauer des Unterrichts oder ein Sprachzeugnis ein. Bei Absolventen des Studienkollegs der Freien Universität Berlin ist auf dem Zeugnis das Niveau ausgewiesen, auf dem der Sprachunterricht erteilt wurde.

Bei Hochschulzugangsberechtigungen aus Australien, Großbritannien, Irland, Kanada, Neuseeland oder den USA oder einem dort abgeschlossenen Studium müssen keine weiteren Zeugnisse über Englischkenntnisse zum Nachweis B1 GER und B2 GER vorgelegt werden.

3. Nachweis von Deutschkenntnissen zur Bewerbung und zur Immatrikulation, wenn eine ausländische Hochschulzugangsberechtigung erlangt wurde

Bewerber/innen, die keine deutsche Hochschulzugangsberechtigung erworben haben, müssen Deutschkenntnisse gemäß der Deutschen Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang ausländischer Studienbewerberinnen und -bewerber (DSH) an der Freien Universität Berlin nachweisen. Diese Sprachkenntnisse können auch durch Äquivalente zur DSH belegt werden.

» weiter zu "Welches Bewerbungsverfahren ist für welche Fächer?"

Schlagwörter

  • Bachelor FU
  • Zugangsvoraussetzungen