Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Scholars at Risk

Around the world, researchers and would-be academics are persecuted and threatened because of their research and ideas and are subject to restrictions in their work. The international network Scholars at Risk (SAR) is a response to these attacks. The association is committed to defending academic freedom and the human rights of researchers and academics the world over.

One of the core tasks of SAR is to support researchers and academics who are under threat and persecuted in their home country by offering them a position as a visiting scholar at one of the network’s member institutions, thus enabling them to pursue their research unhindered for a certain period of time. Since 2014 the SAR Advisory Board has been deciding on nominations of potential candidates for external funding programs, such as the Philipp Schwartz Initiative (PSI) or the Academic Freedom Program of the Einstein Foundation Berlin, as well as for internal funding opportunities provided by Freie Universität Berlin.The board is chaired by Freie Universität’s Vice President for International Affairs.

The SAR network consists currently of more than 560 members (as of 2021) worldwide. FUB has joined the network in 2011 and is a sustaining member since 2013. Since then we have hosted more than 30 scholars at risk, especially from the Middle Eastern countries, for a duration of 2 or more years. FUB is also a member of the Scholars at Risk Network - Germany Section Steering Group and has hosted the Scholars at Risk Network Global Congress in April 2018. 

As part of its engagement for academic freedom FUB regularly participates in SAR Action Campaigns, most recently by again calling on the Iranian authorities to reverse the death sentence issued to Dr. Ahmadreza Djalali, a scholar of disaster medicine, and to ensure his unconditional release. 

Contact

For suggestions and questions regarding scholars at risk:
Stefan Rummel, Division IV: International Affairs, Tel.: +49 30 838-73402,
E-mail: stefan.rummel@fu-berlin.de 

For questions regarding the SAR network:
Florian Kohstall, Division IV: International Affairs, Tel.: +49 30 838-73947,
Email: florian.kohstall@fu-berlin.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Scholars at Risk

Weltweit werden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und angehende Akademikerinnen und Akademiker aufgrund ihrer Forschungen und Ideen verfolgt, bedroht und in ihrer Arbeit eingeschränkt. Das Internationale Netzwerk Scholars at Risk (SAR) ist als Antwort auf diese Entwicklung zu verstehen: Die Vereinigung setzt sich für akademische Freiheit und die Menschenrechte von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Akademikern in aller Welt ein.

Eine der Kernaufgaben von SAR ist es, Forschende und Lehrende, die in ihrem Heimatland bedroht und verfolgt werden, mit einem Gastaufenthalt an einer der Mitgliedshochschulen des Netzwerks zu unterstützen. Politisch Verfolgte erhalten so die Chance, eine Zeitlang unabhängig zu forschen. Ein SAR-Beirat an der Freien Universität Berlin unter Leitung der Vizepräsidentin Internationales entscheidet seit dem Jahr 2014 über die Nominierung potenzieller Kandidaten und Kandidatinnen für externe Programme wie etwa die Philipp Schwartz Initiative der AvH oder das Programm Wissenschaftsfreiheit der Einstein Stiftung sowie auch über interne Förderungen aus Mitteln der Freien Universität.

Das SAR-Netzwerk zählt weltweit mehr als 560 Mitglieder (Stand: 2021). Die Freie Universität ist seit 2011 Mitglied in diesem Netzwerk (seit 2013 als förderndes Mitglied) und hat bereits weit über 30 Scholars, vor allem aus dem Nahen und Mittleren Osten, für jeweils zwei oder mehr Jahre aufgenommen. Sie ist außerdem Mitglied der Steering Group der Scholars at Risk Network - Germany Section und hat im April 2018 zusammen mit SAR und der AvH sehr erfolgreich den Scholars at Risk Network Global Congress 2018 veranstaltet. 

Im Rahmen ihres Engagements für die akademische Freiheit beteiligt sich die Freie Universität auch immer wieder an Briefaktionen für bedrohte Scholars, zuletzt erneut für den im Oktober 2017 zum Tode verurteilten iranischen Mediziner Dr. Ahmadreza Djalali.


Kontakt

Für Vorschläge und Fragen zu bedrohten Scholars: 
Stefan Rummel, Abteilung Internationales, Tel.: +49 30 838-73402, E-Mail: stefan.rummel@fu-berlin.de

Für Fragen zum SAR-Netzwerk:
Florian Kohstall: Abteilung Internationales, Tel: +49 30 838-73947, E-Mail: florian.kohstall@fu-berlin.de