Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Contact

A central objective of Freie Universitaet Berlin is to establish, extend, and coordinate international relationships. The Division of International Affairs is responsible for implementing exchange, scholarship, and mobility programs; for supervising foreign guests; and for advising those planning to go abroad. The International Office serves students, scholars, and scientists who are planning to study or work abroad, as well as those who have arrived here from a foreign country for study or research purposes.

The Division of International Affairs comprises five units with the following tasks:

  • The unit IV A Center for International Cooperation (CIC) continually works to develop the internationalization strategy of Freie Universität, to strengthen international research, and to expand the university’s international academic network. To achieve these goals, the CIC makes use of a variety of innovative instruments, the three most important being a worldwide network of liaison offices, strategic partnerships and networks – including the European university alliance Una Europa – as well as various internal funding programs. On the topic of global responsibility, CIC coordinates initiatives to support refugees as well as the Berlin Center for Global Engagement of the Berlin University Alliance. It is also tasked with managing most of Division IV’s finances (annual budget and external funding), and Freie Universität’s Central Translation Office is based here.

  • The unit IV B Academic Relations division is in charge of academic exchanges with Freie Universität Berlin’s partner universities abroad, the welcome services for guest researchers, the worldwide Erasmus+ program for researchers and staff, and the administration of the Scholars at Risk program at Freie Universität. In addition, the team provides advising and consulting on international cooperation agreements and DAAD applications. It also coordinates the visits of delegations from abroad. Finally, it runs the International House, where various international programs are housed.

  • The unit IV C Student Mobility division oversees the full range of student mobility programs at FUB - direct exchange, Erasmus+ (Europe) - and administers the PROMOS and DAAD-STIBET grants.

  • The unit IV D Studienkolleg Preparatory Course for Students allows foreign students without a German university entrance qualification to prepare in the course of one year for the entrance exam. The Studienkolleg also offers dedicated preparatory courses for refugees intending to study at FUB or other German universities.

  • The unit IV E Alumni, Deutschlandstipendien Scholarships and Special Projects for the Executive Board is responsible for the national and international Alumni activities, the Deutschlandstipendium Scholarships and for the organization of university-wide events (International Week, Ernst-Reuter-Day etc.).

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Kontakt

Internationale Beziehungen auf- und auszubauen und zu koordinieren ist eine zentrale Aufgabe der Freien Universität. Die Abteilung Internationales ist verantwortlich für die Durchführung von Austausch-, Stipendien- und Mobilitätsprogrammen und die Betreuung auswärtiger Gäste. Sie ist die zentrale Ansprechpartnerin sowohl für Studierende und Forschende, die einen Auslandsaufenthalt planen, als auch für diejenigen, die aus dem Ausland an die Freie Universität zum Studieren oder Forschen kommen möchten.


Die Abteilung Internationales besteht aus fünf Referaten mit den folgenden Aufgaben:

•   Das Referat IV A Center for International Cooperation (CIC) entwickelt die Internationalisierungsstrategie der Freien Universität weiter, stärkt die internationale Forschung und baut die akademische Vernetzung der Freien Universität aus. Zur Umsetzung dieser Ziele verfügt das Center for International Cooperation über verschiedene innovative Instrumentarien. Die drei wichtigsten sind das weltweite Netz aus Verbindungsbüros, die strategischen Partnerschaften und Netzwerke - darunter die europäische Hochschulallianz Una Europa - sowie die verschiedenen internen (Förder-)Programme. Im Themenbereich Globale Verantwortung koordiniert das CIC Initiativen zur Unterstützung von Geflüchteten sowie das Berlin Center for Global Engagement der Berlin University Alliance.

Zudem sind ein Großteil der Finanzverwaltung der Abteilung (Haushalt und Drittmittel) sowie der Zentrale Übersetzungsdienst der Freien Universität hier angesiedelt.

•    Das Referat IV B Wissenschaftsbeziehungen ist zuständig für den Wissenschaftleraustausch mit Partneruniversitäten der Freien Universität in verschiedenen Weltregionen, den Welcome Service für Gastwissenschaftler*innen, das Erasmus+ Programm für Wissenschaftler*innen und Mitarbeitende sowie die Aktivitäten für „Scholars at Risk“. Des Weiteren berät das Team zu den Bereichen Internationale Kooperationsvereinbarungen und DAAD-Anträgen und koordiniert die Besuche ausländischer Delegationen an der Freien Universität. Ein weiterer Bereich ist die Verwaltung des International House, in dem verschiedene assoziierte internationale Programme beheimatet sind.

•    Das Referat IV C Studierendenmobilität betreut das gesamte Spektrum der Mobilitätsprogramme für Incoming- und Outgoing-Studierende im Direktaustausch und Erasmus+ (Europa) und administriert außerdem das PROMOS-Stipendienprogramm sowie die STIBET-Betreuungsprogramme des DAAD.

•    Das Referat IV D Studienkolleg bildet das vierte Team der Abteilung. Am Studienkolleg haben ausländische Studieninteressierte die Möglichkeit, sich in einem einjährigen Intensivprogramm auf die Prüfung zur Feststellung der Hochschuleignung vorzubereiten. Außerdem werden am Studienkolleg eigene Vorbereitungskurse für studieninteressierte Geflüchtete angeboten.

•    Das Referat IV E Alumni, Deutschlandstipendien und Sonderprojekte des Präsidiums ist zuständig für die nationalen und internationalen Alumni-Aktivitäten, die Betreuung des Deutschlandstipendiums sowie gesamtuniversitäre Veranstaltungen (International Week, Ernst-Reuter-Tag etc.).