Springe direkt zu Inhalt

North American Studies

- Master´s programs

John-F.-Kennedy Institute for North American Studies
Contact
Prof. Lora Viola, Ph.D.
Address
Lansstr. 7-9
14195 Berlin
Fax
(030) 838-52885

For admittance to the master’s program applicants need to fulfill the following admission requirements:

  • Bachelor’s degree or an equivalent degree in one of the following subjects: North American studies, history, cultural studies, literature, political science, sociology, economics, or in an interdisciplinary subject with at least 90 credit points in one of the aforementioned subjects.
  • Proof of English skills (level C1 CEFR).

The admission is limited.

Students do not pay tuition fees. The university only charges semester fees each semester. The fees of approx. 300 Euros per semester include access to public transit free of charge.

The MA program North American Studies focusses on historical developments, structures, and institutions in North America that are analyzed and interpreted in their respective cultural, economic, literary, political, and social contexts. The program provides in-depth knowledge of North America in the following six disciplines: politics, sociology, literature, economics, culture and history. Students may choose two areas of concentration (out of the six disciplines listed above). In addition, interdisciplinary and regional aspects and issues are addressed in compulsory courses on current topics and research fields in North America.

The John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies (JFKI) is an interdisciplinary institute for research and training at Freie Universität Berlin. Its MA program offers students the opportunity of an academic specialization in numerous facets of North America (US, Canada). Courses are exclusively taught in English. German language skills are not required.

The MA program at the JFKI combines academic training in six academic disciplines with interdisciplinary perspectives. Besides studies in two of the six following disciplines – cultural studies, economics, history, literary studies, political science and sociology – the curriculum includes courses taught by two faculty members with different disciplinary backgrounds. The curriculum further entails lecture series focusing on a specific issue by researchers of all disciplines taught at the JFKI. No other American/Canadian studies program in German offers a comparable breadth of disciplines devoted to the North American hemisphere.

As an outward looking Area Studies Institute the JFKI prides itself on an excellent network – at home and abroad. The Institute maintains ties to numerous American and Canadian Studies Institutes via the Erasmus Program. Students may benefit from a year abroad at an American or Canadian university as part of the university-wide direct exchange program. Due to the Graduate School’s prestigious visiting professor program well-known researchers from North America regularly teach at the JFKI. The Institute also closely cooperates with the US- and Canadian embassies and institutions such as the American Academy. In addition, the Terra Foundation for American Art funds a visiting professor program in art history.

Freie Universität Berlin offers students of North American an ideal and vibrant environment characterized by a multitude of research projects. Besides numerous invididual research projects of faculty members, collaborative research projects focus on popular culture and seriality, American art history (funded by the Terra Foundation), the alt-right movement and trust and transparency in an age of surveillance (TATAS). Faculty members are also active in the two research clusters Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS) and Temporal Communities.

Since its foundation in 2006, the Graduate School of North American Studies (GSNAS) award doctoral degrees in all of the six disciplines taught at the Institute. The JFKI is therefore one of the few institutes in Germany which offer training at the undergraduate (BA) and graduate level (MA, PhD).

The research library is based in the Institute and offers access to over 900,000 books, newspapers, journals, DVDs, cartoons, records and other digital media. Its easily accessible open stacks collection makes it one of the most sought-after research libraries on the US and Canada in Europe.

The JFKI has a very active student body. Students run a cafeteria in the basement of the Institute and organize regular events such as movie nights.

1st Semester Admissions
Restricted admission
Admission for Higher Semesters
Restricted admission (for 3rd semester for winter semester, for 2nd and 4th semester for summer semester)
Application and Registration Period
Only for 1st semester: April 15 – May 31 (for winter semester), only for higher semesters: July 1 - August 15 (for winter semester), and January 1 - February 15 (for summer semester)
Program Start
Winter semester
Language
English
Degree
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Duration
4 semesters

The course of study comprises three fields of study: studies in the first discipline (core discipline), the second discipline and compulsory, interdisciplinary module. In addition, students take part in a colloquium of their core discipline, ideally during or shortly before writing their MA thesis.

The course of study is specified in the examination rules, which provides detailed information on study content, exam requirements as well as regulations for the final thesis. It includes an overview of the credits points for each course as well as the respective workload in hours (according to the ECTS specifications). Students have to select one of the two areas of concentration as their core discipline. The MA thesis has to be written in the core discipline.

Students are encouraged to spend parts of their studies abroad; studying abroad is however no mandatory component of the MA program.

After successful completion of the program, students are awarded with an M.A. degree.  

Modules MA North American Studies

Disciplines (2 of 6)

History

Module A North America in the World
Module B North American History until 1865
Module C North American History since 1865

Cultural Studies

Module A American History of Ideas and Theories of American Culture
Module B Culture of Nationality and Diversity
Module C Cultural History of Individual Media and Aesthetic Forms of Representation

Literary Studies

Module A Literary History
Module B Literary Theory
Module C Literarische Textanalyse

Political Studies

Module A Theories and Methods of Political Science
Module B Institutions, Actors and Processes
Module C Policy Areas/Policy Research

Sociology

Module A Sociological Theories of North America
Module B Social Systems, Institutions and Regulations – Sense and Function
Module C The Study of Social Process – Problem, Conflict, Crisis

Economics

Module A North American Economic Policy in its Historical Dimension
Module B US Domestic Economic Policy
Module C US Foreign Trade Policy

Interdisciplinary Studies

Current Topics and Research Areas in North American Studies 1

Current Topics and Research Areas in North American Studies 2

Current Topics and Research Areas in North American Studies 3

Colloquium

Nordamerikastudien

- Konsekutiver Masterstudiengang

Zentralinstitut John-F.-Kennedy-Institut für Nordamerikastudien
Ansprechpartner/-in
Prof. Lora Viola, Ph.D.
Adresse
Lansstr. 7-9
14195 Berlin
Telefax
(030) 838-52885

Für den Zugang zum Masterstudiengang müssen Bewerberinnen und Bewerber die folgenden Voraussetzungen nachweisen:

  • Bachelorabschluss oder gleichwertiger anderer Hochschulabschluss in einem der folgenden Fächer: Nordamerikastudien, Geschichte, Kulturwissenschaft, Literaturwissenschaft, Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie, Volkswirtschaftslehre oder in einem interdisziplinären Studiengang mit einem Studienanteil von mindestens 90 LP in den vorher genannten Fächern,
  • Sprachnachweis in Englisch (Niveau C1 GER), sofern Englisch nicht Muttersprache ist und der Hochschulabschluss nicht an einer Bildungsstätte erworben wurde, in der Englisch Unterrichtssprache ist.

Der Studiengang ist zulassungsbeschränkt.

Weitere Informationen enthält die Zugangssatzung für den Masterstudiengang Nordamerikastudien (pdf-Datei).

Die Studierenden haben keine Teilnahmegebühren, aber allgemeine Semestergebühren und -beiträge zu tragen.

Im Masterstudiengang Nordamerikastudien werden historische Entwicklungen, Strukturen und Institutionen Nordamerikas analysiert und interpretiert sowie in ihre jeweiligen gesellschaftlichen, historischen, literarischen, kulturellen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Zusammenhänge eingeordnet. Der Studiengang bietet die Möglichkeit sich tiefer mit der Politik, Soziologie, Literatur, Wirtschaft, Kultur oder Geschichte der USA und Kanadas zu beschäftigen. Die Studierenden haben die Möglichkeit zwei Spezialisierungsdisziplinen zu wählen. Der Studiengang ist sehr interdisziplinär ausgerichtet, regionalwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und Aufgaben werden fächerübergreifend bearbeitet.

Das John-F.-Kennedy-Institut für Nordamerikastudien (JFKI) ist ein interdisziplinäres Forschungs- und Lehrinstitut der Freien Universität Berlin. Es ermöglicht Studierenden eine wissenschaftliche Spezialisierung auf die USA und Kanada und ein Studienprogramm, das vollständig in englischer Sprache unterrichtet wird. Bewerber*innen müssen keine Deutschkenntnisse nachweisen.

Das Studium am JFKI verknüpft die fachbezogene Ausbildung mit interdisziplinären Perspektiven. Neben dem disziplinbasierten Studium in zwei der sechs sozial- und geisteswissenschaftlichen Fächer – Literatur-, Kulturwissenschaft, Geschichte, Soziologie, Politikwissenschaft und Wirtschaft – beinhaltet das Curriculum Lehrveranstaltungen, die von zwei Lehrenden aus unterschiedlichen Fächern unterrichtet werden (interdisziplinäre Seminare) sowie Ringvorlesungen, die sich einem Oberthema aus dem Blickwinkel verschiedenster Disziplinen widmen. Es existiert kein weiteres Programm der Nordamerikastudien in Deutschland, das über eine vergleichbare Fächervielfalt verfügt.

Als international ausgerichtetes Regionalinstitut ist das JFKI deutschlandweit und global exzellent vernetzt. Das Institut unterhält im Rahmen des Erasmus-Programms Kontakte zu zahlreichen American und Canadian Studies Instituten in Europa. Ein Auslandsstudium in den USA und Kanada ist im Rahmen des Direktaustauschprogramms der Freien Universität möglich. Im Rahmen des Gastprofessor*innenprogramms der Graduiertenschule lehren regelmäßig renommierte Wissenschaftler*innen aus Nordamerika am JFKI. Das Institut kooperiert ferner eng mit der amerikanischen und kanadischen Botschaft sowie Institutionen wie der American Academy. Die Terra Foundation for American Art finanziert darüber hinaus ein Gastprofessor*innenprogramm für Kunsthistoriker*innen.

Die Freie Universität Berlin bietet den Studierenden der Nordamerikastudien ein Institut, das sich durch vielfältige Forschungsaktivitäten auszeichnet. Neben den Projekten einzelner Institutsmitglieder befassen sich größere Forschungsprojekte u.a. mit Populärkultur und Serialität, amerikanischer Kunstgeschichte (finanziert durch die Terra Foundation), der Alt-Right Bewegung und Vertrauen und Transparenz im Überwachungszeitalter. Professorinnen und Professoren sind darüber hinaus an den zwei Exzellenzclustern Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS) und Temporal Communities beteiligt.

Mit der Graduate School of North American Studies (GSNAS) bietet das JFKI außerdem seit 2006 die Möglichkeit, in einer der sechs Disziplinen zu promovieren. Damit ist das JFKI eine der wenigen wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in Deutschland, die Bachelor-, Master- und PhD-Programme (Doktoranden-Programme) unter einem Dach vereinen.

Die Forschungsbibliothek des John-F.-Kennedy-Instituts bietet Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt eine exzellente Auswahl an Literatur und Materialien zu amerikanischen und kanadischen Themen. Heute verfügt die Bibliothek über etwa 900.000 Medieneinheiten (Bücher, Comics, Zeitungen, Zeitschriften, Mikrofilm- und Mikrofichesammlungen, Schallplatten, DVDs und digitalen Medien). Die benutzerfreundlichen Freihandaufstellung und das Stipendienprogramm macht sie zu einer in Kontinentaleuropa einmaligen Forschungsbibliothek für USA- und Kanadastudien.

Das JFKI verfügt ferner über eine sehr aktive Studierendenschaft, die eine Cafeté im Institutsgebäude unterhält und Programme wie Filmabende und Wahlnächte ausrichtet.

Zulassungs­modus 1. Fach­semester
Lokale Zulassungsbeschränkung
Zulassungs­modus höheres Fach­semester
Lokale Zulassungsbeschränkung (zum Wintersemester für das 3., zum Sommersemester für das 2. und 4. Fachsemester)
Bewerbungs- und Anmelde­zeitraum
Nur für das 1. Fachsemester: 15.04.-31.05. (zum Wintersemester), nur für das höhere Fachsemester: 01.07.-15.08. (zum Wintersemester) und 01.01.-15.02. (zum Sommersemester)
Studienbeginn
Wintersemester
Studiensprachen
Englisch
Abschluss
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regel­studien­zeit
4 Semester

Der Masterstudiengang umfasst drei Studienbereiche: die erste Schwerpunktdisziplin, die zweite Schwerpunktdisziplin und das interdisziplinäre Studium. Als mögliche Schwerpunktdisziplinen stehen folgende sechs Fächer zur Auswahl: Literatur-, Kulturwissenschaft, Geschichte, Soziologie, Politikwissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Zusätzlich nehmen Studierende, am besten begleitend zur Masterarbeit, an einem Colloquium teil.

Aufbau und Ablauf des Studiums regelt die Studienordnung. Sie enthält detaillierte Beschreibungen der Inhalte und Qualifikationsziele jedes einzelnen Moduls. Die Prüfungsordnung definiert Art und Anforderungen der Prüfungsleistungen der Module und der Master-Prüfung. In den Ordnungen sind die Leistungspunkte (LP) für jedes Modul bzw. jede Veranstaltung sowie der Arbeitsaufwand in Zeitstunden für das gesamte Studium angegeben.

Die Lehrveranstaltungen werden ausschließlich in englischer Sprache unterrichtet.

Eine der beiden gewählten Studienschwerpunkte (Fächer) ist die Kerndisziplin. In dieser Disziplin wird die Masterarbeit geschrieben. Der andere Studienschwerpunkt gilt als Erweiterungsdisziplin.

Studierende wird empfohlen, einen Teil des Studiums im Ausland zu verbringen; das Auslandsstudium ist jedoch kein verpflichtender Bestandteil des Studiengangs.

Die Masterarbeit soll zeigen, dass die Studierenden in der Lage sind, eine Forschungsaufgabe mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden selbstständig zu bearbeiten und darzustellen. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Studienprogramms wird der Hochschulgrad Master of Arts (M.A.) verliehen.

Module des Studiengangs

Schwerpunktstudium (2 von 6)

Schwerpunkt Geschichte
Modul A Nordamerika in der Welt
Modul B Nordamerikanische Geschichte bis 1865
Modul C Nordamerikanische Geschichte seit 1865
Schwerpunkt Kultur
Modul A Amerikanische Ideengeschichte und Theorien amerikanischer Kultur
Modul B Kultur der Nationalität und Diversität
Modul C Kulturgeschichte einzelner Medien und ästhetischer Darstellungsformen
Schwerpunkt Literatur
Modul A Literaturgeschichte
Modul B Literaturtheorie
Modul C Literarische Textanalyse
Schwerpunkt Politik
Modul A Theorien und Methoden der Politikwissenschaft
Modul B Institutionen, Akteure und Prozesse
Modul C Politikbereiche/Policy-Forschung
Schwerpunkt Soziologie
Modul A Soziologische Theorien Nordamerikas
Modul B Soziale Systeme, Institutionen und Ordnungen – Sinn und Funktion
Modul C Die Erforschung des sozialen Prozesses – Problem, Konflikt, Krise
Schwerpunkt Wirtschaft
Modul A Nordamerikanische Wirtschaftspolitik in historischer Dimension
Modul B US-Binnenwirtschaftspolitik
Modul C US-Außenwirtschaftspolitik

Interdisziplinäres Studium

Aktuelle Themen und Forschungsfelder der Nordamerikastudien 1

Aktuelle Themen und Forschungsfelder der Nordamerikastudien 2

Aktuelle Themen und Forschungsfelder der Nordamerikastudien 3

Colloquium

Absolventinnen und Absolventen verfügen über vertiefte wissenschaftliche Kenntnisse und weiterführende berufsqualifizierende Kompetenzen.

Der Abschluss qualifiziert für Tätigkeiten als Nordamerika-Expert*in, insbesondere in der Politik und Politikberatung, der Wirtschaft und Wirtschaftsberatung, im Auswärtigen Dienst und bei Internationalen Organisationen, Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen (NGOs), Medien und kulturellen Einrichtungen, der staatlichen und kommunalen Planung und Verwaltung, der Erwachsenenbildung und Weiterbildung, im Verlags- und Bibliothekswesen sowie in universitären und außeruniversitären wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen.

Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistenten der Freien Universität
Studieneinstieg an der Freien Universität Berlin