Springe direkt zu Inhalt

History and Cultures of the Ancient Near East: Focus on Ancient Oriental Studies

- Master´s programs

Department of History and Cultural Studies
Ancient Studies
Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Contact
Prof. Dr. Jörg Klinger
Address
Fabeckstr. 23-25
14195 Berlin

  • For admission to the master’s program in History and Cultures of the Ancient Near East, applicants should fulfill the following requirements:
  • Bachelor’s degree in Ancient Studies from the Freie Universität Berlin with concentration in Ancient Near Eastern Studies, or an equivalent degree with an Ancient Near Eastern Studies component which corresponds to the same degree at the Freie Universität Berlin.
  • Proof of language skills in at least two foreign languages relevant to the subject, especially Latin, English, French, Italian, Russian, Arabic, Persian, or Turkish (level B1 GER).

Applicants whose first language is not German and who have earned their initial degree from a university (or equivalent institution) where the the language of instruction is not German are required to submit proof of proficiency according to the DSH or German Language University Entrance Exam for Foreign Students.

Applicants are strongly encouraged to arrange for a personal interview at the Institute for Ancient Near Eastern Studies before submitting their application.

Further information is available in the Zugangssatzung für den Masterstudiengang Geschichte und Kulturen Altvorderasiens mit den Schwerpunkten Altorientalistik und Vorderasiatische Archäologies (pdf-Datei).

Students do not pay any tuition fees, the university only charges semester fees and contributions each semester.

The Master's program in the History and Cultures of the Ancient Near East can be taken either with a philological and historical focus in Ancient Near Eastern Studies or with an archeological focus in Near Eastern Archeology. The course is designed as an integrative and consecutive program with a strong grounding in research, usually taken in preparation for a further advanced degree.

The philological concentration in Ancient Near Eastern Studies is centered on the cultures and languages of the Ancient Near East, roughly covering the area of modern Iran, Iraq, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, and Jordan, from the end of the 4th millennium BC to the Hellenistic Period. The focus is largely defined through the use of cuneiform writing. These areas have yielded a large number of sources in such typologically diverse languages as Akkadian, Sumerian, Hittite, and Hurrian, as well as more poorly understood languages such as Elamite, Ugaritic, Luwian, or Urartian. Accordingly, the course is designed to provide in-depth specialization in the relevant philologies and cultures. In addition to these specializations, the course conveys a broad repertoire of relevant research methods as well as the analytical tools necessary for independent scientific research. These include the fundamentals of editorial techniques for primary sources and the development of in-depth knowledge of economic, social, political, religious, and cultural processes within the early civilizations of the Ancient Near East. In addition, Students should develop expertise and independence in research methods beyond their specific field of study. Additional interdisciplinary courses in Theology, Semitic Studies, or Near Eastern Archeology provide the necessary background for research in Ancient Near Eastern Studies as a cultural-historical field.

The focus on ancient oriental studies has both a linguistic and a cultural-studies and historical component. It explores the cultures and languages of the ancient Near East from the end of the fourth millennium BC through the age of Hellenism, with cuneiform forming an important connective element. Graduates will acquire expert knowledge in ancient oriental philology and cultural history. They will also gain exposure to a broad repertoire of academic methodologies and analytic experience that will enable them to conduct their own independent scholarly work.

1st Semester Admissions
Unrestricted admission
Admission for Higher Semesters
Unrestricted admission
Application and Registration Period
Only for 1st semester: April 15 - May 31 (for winter semester) and December 1 - January 15 (for summer semester), only for higher semesters: July 1 - August 15 (for winter semester) and January 1 - February 15 (for summer semester)
Enrollment Period
see notice of admission
Program Start
Winter and summer semester
Language
German
Degree
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Duration
4 semesters

Course of Studies

The Master's program in History and Cultures of the Ancient Near East with concentration in Ancient Near Eastern Studies is divided into modules within the field of concentration in addition to interdisciplinary modules, including course work in Near Eastern Archeology.

The structure of the program is defined by the regulations, containing detailed descriptions of the contents and goals of individual modules and example course sequences. The regulations for exams define the type of and requirements for individual assessments in the modules and the final examination for the program. These regulations also define the available credits for each module or course and the required hours for the completion of the program.

The Master's thesis should demonstrate that the student is capable of independently treating a defined research subject. Following successful completion of the program, the candidate will be awarded with the degree of Master of Arts.

Modules in the Concentration Ancient Near Eastern Studies

Core Courses

Module

Methods of Textual Research

Module

Focus on Cultural History

Module

Primary Language Skills

Core Electives

Core Module

A Core Module should be chosen in a third language, e.g. Hittite or Sumerian

Advanced Module

 Two advanced reading modules should be chosen in the third language

Interdisciplinary Courses

Module

One core elective should be chosen from the concentration Near Eastern Archeology:

Archeological Hermeneutics, International Research Concentrations, or Archeological Fieldwork

Module

Interdisciplinary Perspectives on the History and Cultures of the Ancient Near East

Graduates of the program will have acquired in-depth knowledge and research skills in preparation for further qualifications for a career in the field.

The Master's program in History and Cultures of the Ancient Near East with a focus on Ancient Near Eastern Studies prepares graduates for work primarily in the area of cultural studies, including research and teaching institutions. Based on the relevant admission requirements, the program can prepare students for a doctoral program.

Geschichte und Kulturen Altvorderasiens mit dem Schwerpunkt Altorientalistik

- Konsekutiver Masterstudiengang

Fachbereich Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften
Altertumswissenschaften
Institut für Altorientalistik
Ansprechpartner/-in
Herr Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jörg Klinger
Adresse
Fabeckstr. 23-25
14195 Berlin

Für den Zugang zum Masterstudiengang Geschichte und Kulturen Altvorderasiens mit dem Schwerpunkt Altorientalistik müssen Bewerberinnen und Bewerber die folgenden Voraussetzungen nachweisen:

  • Bachelorabschluss im Studiengang Altertumswissenschaften mit dem Schwerpunkt Altorientalistik der Freien Universität Berlin oder ein gleichwertiger anderer Hochschulabschluss, dessen Anteil an Altorientalistik dem des Bachelorstudiengangs Altertumswissenschaften mit dem Schwerpunkt Altorientalistik an der Freien Universität entspricht,
  • Sprachnachweis in zwei fachwissenschaftlich relevanter Fremdsprachen insbesondere Latein, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Russisch, Arabisch, Persisch oder Türkisch (Niveau B1 GER).

 

Bei Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern, die ihren Studienabschluss an einer ausländischen Hochschule oder gleichgestellten Einrichtung erworben haben, ist der Nachweis von Deutschkenntnissen zu erbringen. Dies kann durch das Bestehen der Deutschen Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH) oder durch Nachweis eines gleichwertigen Kenntnisstandes gemäß der Ordnung für die Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang ausländischer Studienbewerberinnen und Studienbewerber an der Freien Universität Berlin erfolgen.

Es wird empfohlen, vor der Bewerbung ein persönliches Beratungsgespräch am Institut für Altorientalistik in Anspruch zu nehmen.

Weitere Informationen enthält die Zugangssatzung für den Masterstudiengang Geschichte und Kulturen Altvorderasiens mit den Schwerpunkten Altorientalistik und Vorderasiatische Archäologies (pdf-Datei).

Die Studierenden haben keine Teilnahmegebühren, aber allgemeine Semestergebühren und -beiträge zu tragen.
Der Masterstudiengang Geschichte und Kulturen Altvorderasiens kann mit einem philologisch-historischen Schwerpunkt Altorientalistik oder einem archäologischen Schwerpunkt Vorderasiatische Archäologie studiert werden. Er ist als integrierter, konsekutiver und stärker forschungsorientierter Studiengang konzipiert, der zu einem zweiten berufsqualifizierenden Hochschulabschluss führt.

Gegenstand des Schwerpunktbereiches Altorientalistik, der sowohl sprachwissenschaftlich als auch kulturwissenschaftlich-historisch ausgeprägt ist, sind im besonderen die Kulturen und Sprachen des Alten Vorderen Orients (entspricht etwa dem Gebiet der heutigen Staaten Irak, Türkei, Syrien, Libanon, Israel und Jordanien) vom Ende des 4. Jahrtausends  v. Chr. bis in die Zeit des Hellenismus, wobei ein wesentliches verbindendes Element der Gebrauch der Keilschrift darstellt. Eine große Anzahl von Quellen liegt in so typologisch unterschiedlichen Sprachen wie Akkadisch, Sumerisch, Hethitisch oder Hurritisch vor; hinzu kommen eine ganze Reihe weiterer, weniger gut dokumentierter Sprachen (Elamisch, Ugaritisch, Luwisch oder Urartäisch). Dementsprechend werden vertiefende Fachkenntnisse in der altorientalischen Philologie und Kulturgeschichte erworben; ein erweitertes Repertoire einschlägiger wissenschaftlicher Arbeitsmethoden sowie ausreichende analytische Erfahrung für das selbständige wissenschaftliche Arbeiten stellen weitere Ziele der Ausbildung dar. Dazu zählen Grundlagen in der editorischen Bearbeitung der originalen Textquellen sowie die Ausbildung vertiefter Kenntnisse über die wirtschaftlichen, sozialen, politischen, religiösen, kultur-, geistes- und kunstgeschichtlichen Prozesse der frühen Hochkulturen des Alten Orients. Angestrebt wird neben der fachspezifischen eine fachübergreifende Erweiterung der wissenschaftlichen Kompetenz und Eigenständigkeit. Die Ausbildung von Kompetenzschwerpunkten mit der Theologie (AT), Semitistik oder Vorderasiatischen Archäologie im komplementären Bereich führt zu einer für das Arbeitsgebiet der Altorientalistik als kulturhistorische Wissenschaft wesentlichen Grundqualifikation.

Zulassungs­modus 1. Fach­semester
Keine Zulassungsbeschränkung
Zulassungs­modus höheres Fach­semester
Keine Zulassungsbeschränkung (zum Wintersemester für das 3., zum Sommersemester für das 2. und 4. Fachsemester)
Bewerbungs- und Anmelde­zeitraum
Nur für das 1. Fachsemester: 15.04.-31.05. (zum Wintersemester) und 01.12.-15.01. (zum Sommersemester), nur für das höhere Fachsemester: 01.07.-15.08. (zum Wintersemester) und 01.01.-15.02. (zum Sommersemester)
Studienbeginn
Winter- und Sommersemester
Studiensprachen
Deutsch
Abschluss
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regel­studien­zeit
4 Semester

Der Masterstudiengang Geschichte und Kulturen Altvorderasiens mit dem Schwerpunkt Altorientalistik gliedert sich in die Module des Schwerpunkts sowie Module eines interdisziplinären Bereiches, der auch Elemente aus dem Bereich des nicht gewählten Schwerpunkts Vorderasiatische Archäologie umfasst.

Aufbau und Ablauf des Studiums regelt die Studienordnung. Sie enthält detaillierte Beschreibungen der Inhalte und Qualifikationsziele jedes einzelnen Moduls und einen exemplarischen Studienverlaufsplan. Die Prüfungsordnung definiert Art und Anforderungen der Prüfungsleistungen der Module und der Master-Prüfung. In den Ordnungen sind die Leistungspunkte (LP) für jedes Modul bzw. jede Veranstaltung sowie der Arbeitsaufwand in Zeitstunden für das gesamte Studium angegeben.

Die Masterarbeit soll zeigen, dass die Studierenden in der Lage sind, eine Forschungsaufgabe mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden selbstständig zu bearbeiten und darzustellen. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Studienprogramms wird der Hochschulgrad Master of Arts (M.A.) verliehen.

Module des Schwerpunktbereichs Altorientalistik

Pflichtbereich

Modul Textwissenschaftliche Methodik
Modul Fokus Kulturgeschichte
Modul Primärsprachliche Textkompetenz

Wahlpflichtbereich

 Grundmodul Ein Grundmodul in einer 3. Sprache ist zu wählen,

z.B. Hethitisch, Sumerisch

 Aufbaumodule  je zwei Lektüre Aufbaumodule der 3. Sprache sind zu wählen

Interdisziplinärer Bereich

Modul

Ein Wahlpflichtmodul aus dem Schwerpunkt Vorderasiatische Archäologie ist zu wählen:

Archäologische Hermeneutik, Internationale Forschungsschwerpunkte oder  Ausgrabungspraktikum

Modul Interdisziplinäre Perspektiven der Geschichte und Kulturen Altvorderasiens

 

Absolventinnen und Absolventen verfügen über vertiefte wissenschaftliche Kenntnisse und weiterführende berufsqualifizierende Kompetenzen.

Der Masterstudiengang Geschichte und Kulturen Altvorderasiens mit dem Schwerpunkt Altorientalistik bereitet Absolventinnen und Absolventen auf Tätigkeiten in vorwiegend kulturwissenschaftlichen Berufsfeldern einschließlich Lehr- und Bildungs­einrichtungen vor. Nach Maß­gabe der jeweiligen Zulassungs­voraus­setzungen kann sich die Aufnahme eines Promotions­studiums anschließen.

Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistenten der Freien Universität
Studieneinstieg an der Freien Universität Berlin