Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Data Science

- Master´s programs

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Department of Education and Psychology
Address
Takustr. 9
14195 Berlin

In order to get admitted to the master’s program applicants must fulfil the following admission criteria:

  • The applicant must hold a Bachelor’s degree in computer science or an equivalent degree with a total of 180 credit points (LP). These must include at least 20 LP in mathematics modules and at least 10 LP in computer science modules.

    The 20 LP in mathematics modules must contain at least 5 LP in linear algebra or calculus and at least 5 LP in probability theory or statistics. With regard to the required 10 LP in computer science modules, at least 5 LP must be in algorithms and at least 5 LP in a module that imparted knowledge of a higher programming language, e.g. C/ C++, Java or Python.
  • Any applicant who did not earn his or her university degree at an education institution where English is the language of instruction is required to prove English language skills at level C1 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

More information is available in the Admission Statutes for the Master’s Degree Program in Data Science (in German).

Students do not pay any tuition fees, the university only charges semester fees and contributions each semester.

This master's degree program imparts skills that are necessary in order to handle the advancing digitization of many areas of society and the physical and life sciences. This concerns, for example, the collection, processing, analysis and interpretation of large digital data sets. To this end, the master's degree program conveys the key aspects of modern data science, which is characterized by a blending of the central fields of mathematics, statistics, computer science and machine learning, taking application-related issues into account. With in-depth instruction in the relevant branches of mathematics, statistics and computer science as well as the areas of physical and life sciences that engage in quantitative work, this program provides the skills needed to recognize the relevant problems in data analysis, to develop and apply appropriate mathematical or computer science solutions and to correctly interpret the results within the specific application context.

Possibility of specialization in the profile areas of Data Science in Life Sciences and Data Science Technologies.

1st Semester Admissions
Restricted admission
Admission for Higher Semesters
Restricted admission (for 3rd semester for winter semester, for 2nd and 4th semester for summer semester)
Program Start
Winter semester
Language
English
Degree
Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Duration
4 semesters

The program comprises a foundation area with the modules

  • Statistics for Data Science
  • Machine Learning for Data Science
  • Programming for Data Science
  • Introduction to Profile Areas

and a profile area with the specializations

  • Data Sciences in Life Sciences
  • Data Science Technologies

 

Module list

Foundation area (mandatory modules)

Module  Statistics for Data Science
Module  Machine Learning for Data Science
Module  Programming for Data Science
Module  Introduction to Profile Areas

Selected elective modules of the profile areas

Module  Ethical Foundations of Data Science
Module  Data Science in the Life Sciences
Module  Selected topics in Data Science Technologies
Module  Data Science Data Bases
Module  Artificial Intelligence
Module Machine Learning in Bioinformatics
Module Current Research Topics of Data Science in Life Sciences
Module Softwareproject Data Science

Graduates are prepared to hold positions of leadership in subject-specific terms in a wide range of different fields of activity relating to collection, management, preparation, analysis and interpretation of digital data. These include, for example, the areas of Internet economy, health or Industry 4.0 or corresponding facilities and institutions in the industrial, research and administrative sectors. A further academic qualification can also be acquired within the framework of a PhD.

Starting your study program

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Data Science

- Konsekutiver Masterstudiengang

Fachbereich Erziehungswissenschaft und Psychologie
Fachbereich Mathematik und Informatik
Adresse
Takustr. 9
14195 Berlin

Für den Zugang zum Masterstudiengang müssen Bewerberinnen und Bewerber die folgende Voraussetzung nachweisen:

  • Abschluss eines Hochschulstudiums im Umfang von 180 Leistungspunkten (LP) im Fach Informatik oder einem anderen Fach mit einem Studienanteil von Mathematik-Modulen im Umfang von insgesamt mindestens 20 LP und von Informatik-Modulen im Umfang von insgesamt mindestens 10 LP.

    Diese 20 LP in Mathematik-Modulen müssen mindestens 5 LP in den Bereichen Lineare Algebra oder Analysis sowie mindestens 5 LP in den Bereichen Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie oder Statistik nachgewiesen werden. Im Hinblick auf die geforderten Informatik-Module müssen mindestens 5 LP im Bereich Algorithmen sowie mindestens 5 LP in einem Modul nachgewiesen werden, in dem Kenntnisse in einer höheren Programmiersprache, z.B. C/C++, Java oder Python erworben wurden.
  • Bewerberinnen oder Bewerber, die den Hochschulabschluss nicht an einer Bildungsstätte erworben haben, in der Englisch Unterrichtssprache ist, haben Englischkenntnisse im Umfang der Niveaustufe C1 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER) nachzuweisen

Weitere Informationen enthält die Zugangssatzung für den Masterstudiengang Data Science.

Die Studierenden haben keine Teilnahmegebühren, aber allgemeine Semestergebühren und -beiträge zu tragen.

In diesem Masterstudiengang werden Fähigkeiten vermittelt, die für den Umgang mit der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung vieler gesellschaftlicher und naturwissenschaftlicher Bereiche erforderlich sind. Dies betrifft beispielsweise die Erfassung, Verarbeitung, Analyse und Interpretation großer digitaler Datensätze. Der Masterstudiengang vermittelt hierzu die zentralen Aspekte der modernen Datenwissenschaft, die durch eine Verschmelzung der zentralen Felder Mathematik, Statistik, Informatik und maschinellem Lernen unter Berücksichtigung anwendungsbezogener Fragestellungen gekennzeichnet ist. Durch eine vertiefte Ausbildung in den entsprechenden Teilgebieten der Mathematik, Statistik und Informatik sowie in den relevanten quantitativ arbeitenden Anwendungsfeldern der Naturwissenschaften vermittelt der Studiengang die notwendigen Kompetenzen, relevante datenanalytische Fragestellungen zu erkennen, dafür angemessene mathematische oder informatische Lösungen zu entwickeln, diese anzuwenden und die Ergebnisse im speziellen Anwendungskontext richtig zu interpretieren.

Es gibt die Möglichkeit der Spezialisierung in den Profilbereichen Data Science in Life Sciences und Data Science Technologies.

Zulassungs­modus 1. Fach­semester
Lokale Zulassungsbeschränkung
Zulassungs­modus höheres Fach­semester
Lokale Zulassungsbeschränkung (zum Wintersemester für das 3., zum Sommersemester für das 2. und 4. Fachsemester)
Studienbeginn
Wintersemester
Studiensprachen
Englisch
Abschluss
Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Regel­studien­zeit
4 Semester

Das Studium gliedert sich in einen Grundlagenbereich mit den Modulen

  • Statistics for Data Science
  • Machine Learning for Data Science
  • Programming for Data Science
  • Introduction to Profile Areas

und einen Profilbereich mit den Spezialisierungen

  • Data Sciences in Life Sciences
  • Data Science Technologies

Den genauen Aufbau und Ablauf des Studiums regelt die Studien- und Prüfungsordnung. Sie beschreibt Inhalt, Art und Anforderungen der Pflicht- und Wahlpflichtmodule.

Die Masterarbeit im Umfang von 30 LP soll zeigen, dass die Studierenden in der Lage sind, eine Forschungsaufgabe mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden selbstständig zu bearbeiten und die Ergebnisse schriftlich und mündlich darzustellen. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Studienprogramms wird der Hochschulgrad Master of Science (M.Sc.) verliehen.

Module des Studiengangs

Pflichtmodule des Grundlagenbereichs

Modul  Statistics for Data Science
Modul  Machine Learning for Data Science
Modul  Programming for Data Science
Modul  Introduction to Profile Areas

Auswahl der Wahlpflichtmodule im Profilbereich

Modul  Ethical Foundations of Data Science
Modul  Data Science in the Life Sciences
Modul  Ausgewählte Themen der Data Science Technologies
Modul  Datenbanksysteme Data Science
Modul  Künstliche Intelligenz
Modul Machine Learning in Bioinformatics
Modul Aktuelle Forschungsthemen der Data Science in Life Sciences
Modul Softwareprojekt Data Science

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind auf eine fachliche Leitungsfunktion in verschiedensten Tätigkeitsfeldern, die mit der Erhebung, Verwaltung, Aufbereitung, Analyse und Interpretation digitaler Daten einhergehen, vorbereitet. Dazu gehören beispielsweise die Bereiche Internetökonomie, Gesundheit oder Industrie 4.0 bzw. entsprechende Einrichtungen in Industrie, Forschung und Verwaltung.

Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistenten der Freien Universität
Studieneinstieg
link zu uig