Springe direkt zu Inhalt

About

DHC profile

The Dahlem Humanities Center (DHC) was founded in 2007 as one of five main Focus Areas at Freie Universität Berlin (FUB). In November 2019, the DHC became a permanent institution at Freie Universität. It serves as a hub for the unique range of humanities disciplines at Freie Universität Berlin and was the first and remains to be the only Humanities Center of its kind in Germany. Its main goal is to identify and investigate new trends in the humanities and to foster interdisciplinary research, both on a local as well as on an international level. Enhancing the visibility of the humanities in the general public is a crucial part of this mission.

With advice from the Board of Directors and the members of the Dahlem Humanities Center, the staff coordinates all aspects of the center’s programs and events. 

Agenda 

  • Foster communication and collaboration in the humanities at Freie Universität Berlin
  • Identify current research trends and promote ideas for new collaborative research endeavors
  • Promote international research cooperation and establish transnational networks in the humanities
  • Involve academic and non-academic audiences and facilitate an ongoing conversation about the role of the humanities in society
  • Support early career researchers through fellowships and other dedicated programs

Activities

A wide variety of events and pro­gram series’ create the basis for a vibrant exchange of knowledge and ideas between re­searchers from all career levels. Coope­ra­tion with non-uni­versity research orga­niza­tions, cultural institutions, and the humanities centers at leading universities around the world generate important new impulses for humanities research in Berlin.

One of the highlights of Freie Universität's academic calendar is the annual Hegel Lecture. It has been delivered by eminent scholars in the humanities, such as Judith Butler, Homi Bhabha, Hélène Cixous. These lectures frequently attract audiences of several hundred, generating interest in the humanities beyond Freie Universität’s Dahlem campus. 

In collaboration with Suhrkamp publishers, the DHC hosts the biannual Siegfried Unseld Lectures. These talks, designed to foster a dialogue between the arts and academia, are delivered by internationally acclaimed writers and intellectuals. 

At the heart of the center’s regular programming are the Dahlem Humanities Center Lectures, an ongoing lecture series in which scholars, both upcoming and established, are invited to share their ideas on topics across the full range of the humanities disciplines. 

The Digital*Humanities in Dialogue series, organized together with Freie Universität’s Center for Digital Sytems (CeDiS), provides a forum for an interdisciplinary conversation about current developments in the Digital Humanities and their methodological implications for the humanities in general.

With the workshop series Research in Dialogue, the DHC helps to identify perspectives for interdisciplinary research cooperation by inviting scholars from various humanities disciplines to present newly funded research projects.

Fellowships

The DHC serves as a host institution for different fellowship programs, including the DHC's own Dahlem Junior Host Program, offering international junior and senior scholars the possibility of short- and long-term research stays at Freie Universität Berlin.

Dahlem Humanities Center Newsletter

You can subscribe by clicking here 


   

> Download DHC Flyer

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Über uns

Das Dahlem Humanities Center (DHC) wurde 2007 im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative als eine von fünf Focus Areas an der Freien Universität Berlin gegründet und war damit die erste Einrichtung seiner Art in Deutschland. Es bündelt die deutschlandweit einzigartige Breite geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschung an der Freien Universität, die in den beiden Fachbereichen Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften und Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften angesiedelt ist. Im November 2019 wurde es als Dauereinrichtung an der Freien Universität Berlin verstetigt. Das DHC verfolgt das Ziel, neue Tendenzen in den Geisteswissenschaften aufzuspüren und zu untersuchen sowie interdisziplinäre Forschung zu unterstützen, sowohl auf der regionalen als auch der internationalen Ebene. Ein großes Anliegen ist zudem, die Sichtbarkeit der Geisteswissenschaften auch in der außeruniversitären Öffentlichkeit zu stärken.

Die Organe des DHC sind die Mitgliederversammlung und der Vorstand. Das Tagesgeschäft wird von der Geschäftsstelle umgesetzt.

Agenda

  • Förderung des Austauschs und der Kooperation innerhalb der Geisteswissenschaften der Freien Universität
  • Identifikation aktueller Forschungstrends und Unterstützung von Verbundforschungsinitiativen
  • Unterstützung internationaler Forschungszusammenarbeit und Etablierung transnationaler geisteswissenschaftlicher Netzwerke
  • Förderung des Dialogs innerhalb und außerhalb der Universität über die Rolle der Geisteswissenschaften in der Gesellschaft
  • Förderung jüngerer Wissenschaftler:innen durch Fellowships und spezifisch ausgerichtete Programme

Aktivitäten

Eine große Bandbreite an Veranstaltungen ist die Basis für einen lebendigen Austausch von Wissen und Ideen unter Wissenschaftler:innen aller Karrierestufen. Kooperationen mit außeruniversitären Forschungsinstitutionen, Kulturinstitutionen und den Humanities Centern führender Universitäten generieren neue Impulse für die geisteswissenschaftliche Forschung.

Einer der Höhepunkte im akademischen Kalender der Freien Universität Berlin ist die jährlich stattfindende Hegel Lecture, die von renommierten Geisteswissenschaftler:innen gehalten wird, zu denen in der Vergangenheit u. a. Judith Butler, Homi Bhabha oder Hélène Cixous gehörten.

Ebenfalls großformatig und publikumswirksam ist die in Kooperation mit dem Suhrkamp Verlag alle zwei Jahre stattfindende Siegfried Unseld Vorlesung. Die Reihe ist dem Dialog von Kunst, Literatur und Wissenschaft verpflichtet und präsentiert Autor:innen von internationalem Rang.

Im Laufe des akademischen Jahres finden mehrere Dahlem Humanities Center Lectures statt, zu denen Wissenschaftler:innen aus der ganzen Welt und aller Karrierestufen eingeladen werden, ihre Forschung zu präsentieren und öffentlich zu diskutieren.

In der zusammen mit dem Center für digitale Systeme (CeDiS) organisierten Reihe Digital*Humanities im Gespräch setzen sich Wissenschaftler:innen kritisch mit aktuellen Entwicklungen im Bereich der Digital Humanities auseinander und reflektieren deren Bedeutung für die Geisteswissenschaften insgesamt.

Im Diskussionsformat Forschung im Dialog werden neu eingerichtete Forschungsverbünde von innerhalb und außerhalb der Freien Universität eingeladen, ihre Projekte vorzustellen, um Perspektiven für die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit auszuloten.

Fellowships

Das DHC dient als eine Gastinstitution für internationale Postdocs, die mit ihren eigenen Projekten und finanziert durch verschiedene Förderprogramme, u.a. der Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung und dem American Council of Learned Societies, für Kurz- oder Langzeitforschungsaufenthalte an die Freie Universität Berlin kommen. Mit dem Dahlem Junior Host Program unterstützt das DHC jüngere Wissenschaftler:innen der Freien Universität Berlin beim Aufbau internationaler Forschungskontakte.

Dahlem Humanities Center-Newsletter

Sie können sich hier anmelden.


   

> Download DHC Flyer