Research at Freie Universität Berlin

Research at Freie Universität Berlin is characterized by the diversity of the academic networks the university maintains as well as by interdisciplinary fields of research that establish research foci and set future research trends. Freie Universität Berlin promotes the transfer of knowledge and offers junior scholars a high level of education.

Research Networks

Intensive cooperation with other universities and independent research institutions as well as private enterprise reinforces and broadens the fundamental, application, and contract research carried out at Freie Universität as well as the university’s position as a competitive research institution on a global scale. The main features of Freie Universität’s research activities include the broad variety of global academic and scientific cooperation arrangements in place as part of alliance projects and interdisciplinary networks with other entities active in research. The goal is to identify social, economic, and cultural trends on a global scale and to develop relevant fields of research. Its aim is to focus the research content and profile of individual departments in transdisciplinary fields of research to develop solutions for globally relevant issues.

The Focus Areas have been one of the key elements of Freie Universität's research strategy. The Focus Areas form academic and scientific networks and working platforms for interdisciplinary collaborative research at Freie Universität.

Transfer of Knowledge

In addition to actively promoting the transfer of knowledge and technology to the broader public and private enterprise, Freie Universität encourages the utilization of innovative research results by private industry. In addition, the university supports the foundation of business ventures by its students, graduates, and scholars.

The excellent quality of research at Freie Universität Berlin is confirmed by the high positions it achieves in university rankings. The importance of the university’s research achievements is reflected in its steady increase in external funding in the past years and in the many prestigious research awards received by scholars of Freie Universität Berlin.

Research News

Akustische Grüße versenden war schick, ob vom Empire State Building (links) oder aus dem Freizeitklub (ganz links). „Nur mit Holznadel abspielen“ lautet der Hinweis auf der AEG-Platte von 1933.

Greetings from the Phonograph

Media scholar and Einstein Visiting Fellow Thomas Y. Levin is studying the history of a medium that has largely been forgotten today.

Der Verbund „Maximizing the integration capacity of the European Union: Lessons and prospects for enlargement and beyond (MAXCAP )“erforscht,  wie sich die vergangenen Erweiterungen auf die Integrationsfähigkeit der EU ausgewirkt.

Fit for Europe?

Researchers from the MAXCAP international research alliance study how the EU prepares candidate countries for membership.

(v.l.n.r.): Anne-Katrin Engelmann (GöVB), Linda Albrecht, Annika Jähnig, Josephine Reuer (Studentinnen der Freien Universität), Jan Fabian Ehmke und Natalia Kliewer (Projektleiter), Student Max Adam und GöVB-Geschäftsführer Michael Neugebauer.

Looking for a Little Improvement?

Right in time for the winter schedule, students of Information Systems at Freie Universität are researching optimum bus transportation.

To Overview

Forschung an der Freien Universität Berlin

Die Forschung der Freien Universität Berlin zeichnet sich durch die Vielfalt ihrer wissenschaftlichen Netzwerke sowie durch interdisziplinäre, schwerpunktsetzende und zukunftsweisende Forschungsfelder aus. Gezielt fördert die Freie Universität Berlin den Wissenstransfer und den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs auf qualitativ hohem Niveau.

Wissenschaftliche Netzwerke

Intensive Kooperationen mit anderen Universitäten und Hochschulen, außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen sowie mit Unternehmen verstetigen die Grundlagen-, Anwendungs- und Auftragsforschung der Freien Universität Berlin wie auch ihre Position als international wettbewerbsfähige Forschungseinrichtung. Internationalität und Interdisziplinarität prägen das universitäre Forschungsprofil. Hier gilt es, globale gesellschafts-, wirtschafts-, politik- und kulturrelevante Entwicklungen zu identifizieren und daraus erwachsende Forschungsfelder abzuleiten, um für globale Problemstellungen Lösungen zu entwickeln. Fachübergreifende Focus Areas unterstützen die Bildung wissenschaftlicher Netzwerke für die interdisziplinäre und schwerpunktorientierte Verbundforschung an der Freien Universität Berlin.

Wissenstransfer

Neben einem intensiven Wissenstransfer aus der Universität in die Öffentlichkeit und Wirtschaft fördert die Freie Universität Berlin die wirtschaftliche Verwertung innovativer Forschungsergebnisse. Zudem unterstützt sie Unternehmensgründungen ihrer Studierenden, Absolventinnen und Absolventen sowie ihrer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler.

Die hohe Qualität der Forschung der Freien Universität Berlin wird durch die Spitzenposition, die sie in Hochschul-Rankings einnimmt, bestätigt. Auch in der seit Jahren steigenden Einwerbung an Drittmitteln sowie in den Auszeichnungen zahlreicher Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit bedeutenden Forschungspreisen spiegelt sich die Forschungsleistung der Universität wider.

Welche Alternativen gibt es zum Kapitalismus? Darüber debattierten an der Freien Universität die Ökonomen Giacomo Corneo und Theocharis Grigoriadis.

Hat der Kapitalismus ausgedient?

Die Ökonomen Giacomo Corneo und Theocharis Grigoriadis von der Freien Universität diskutierten Alternativen zur Sozialen Marktwirtschaft

Seit seinen frühen Anfängen wurde der Kapitalismus als Wirtschafts- und Gesellschaftsordnung immer wieder kritisiert: Die Konzentration von Einkommen und Vermögen sei verantwortlich für die Ausbeutung menschlicher Arbeitskraft und Arbeitslosigkeit. Mit dem Ausbruch der Wirtschafts- und ...