Information about the Central Web Pages of Freie Universität Berlin

The central web pages are Freie Universität's official website on behalf of the President of Freie Universität Berlin
Address: Kaiserswerther Str. 16-18, 14195 Berlin, Germany
Contact: Freie Universität Berlin, Online Editorial Department, Kaiserswerther Str. 16-18, 14195 Berlin, Germany
Email: webteam@fu-berlin.de

 

Collapse all Expand all

Reaching the Goal with Fewer Clicks

With the rollout of its new visual identity, the website of Freie Universität Berlin received a new face in 2011.

The “media window” in the page header on the homepage highlights recent topics that enhance the university’s profile with photos and videos. There are five main navigation elements: About, Education, Research, Departments, and Collaboration.

To the right of that is a navigation section for specific target groups. Several new target groups were added: Children and Teachers, Ph.D. / Postdocs, Professionals, and Visitors. All target groups have an overview page, which gives them quick access to the information that is of interest to them.

“Quicklinks” offer a faster way to reach frequently visited pages such as academic departments, libraries, or continuing education programs from the homepage.

Alongside the revised content and new cross-references, the design of the website of Freie Universität was updated and technological refinements were made. The new visual identity offers greater flexibility in terms of page layout, with elements that can be placed in various positions. This opens up individual design possibilities for the different units and areas at the university.

About

In this section, the university introduces itself in brief. You can learn important information about the history of the founding of Freie Universität and fundamental aspects of the university’s profile, guiding principles, organization, and development. Key figures are listed here  – rectors, presidents, and members who have won academic awards and distinctions. Freie Universität itself has garnered various awards and distinctions – as part of the German Excellence Initiative, as a family-friendly university, and for its efforts to protect the climate, to name a few areas. This section also includes further information on these accomplishments..      

Education

Click this menu item to find out all of the important information on education at Freie Universität.

In this section, you can get an overview of the degree programs and doctoral study options offered at Freie Universität. Alongside information on the application process and upcoming deadlines, you can also find information listed alphabetically from A to Z and information on where to turn for organizational matters. Freie Universität offers a full range of advising and counseling services, from “traditional” phone advising to chat-based options. This section also includes links to various applications, forms, and information sheets.

For international students and students already attending Freie Universität who are interested in study abroad opportunities, there is a separate section labeled “Studying Abroad” under “International.”

One new feature is an e-learning program for first-semester students that makes it easier for those just beginning their studies to get started at Freie Universität.

Research

This menu item takes you to the section on research activities at Freie Universität Berlin, where you can gain insight into research emphases, research networks, research programs, and excellence clusters at Freie Universität. This section also includes online databases where you can get information on externally funded projects at Freie Universität, for example. There is a wealth of information here on research funding and support for junior scholars and scientists and the area of knowledge transfer and presentation of research as well as a variety of other useful links.

Departments

This section provides an overview of the various academic and administrative departments and institutions at Freie Universität. Clicking this item in the menu takes you to the university’s academic departments, central institutes, the university management and administration, the governing boards, representatives, and many service institutions at Freie Universität.

The departments and institutions are depicted according to the university’s organizational structure, with the option to click through to each institution sought. Alternatively, you can search for a department or institution using the alphabetical index.

For each institution or department, the address, office and/or contact person, phone number, fax number, and e-mail address are listed. For institutes and divisions, the professors’ names and phone numbers are also listed.

These pages are maintained by the Online Editorial Department. Most departments and institutions also have their own websites, which appear when you click the “Homepage” link. These sites typically present detailed information. The departments and institutions themselves are responsible for these sites.

Collaboration

This section offers a look at the many fields in which Freie Universität collaborates with others: As an international network university, Freie Universität Berlin maintains cooperative relationships at the regional, national, and international levels.

This menu item lists important partners and memberships of Freie Universität from the fields of academia, science, and research. You can also find information on cooperative arrangements with other universities or other research institutions. Schoolchildren, teachers, and parents can get information on the many services offered by the Center for Cooperation with Schools, and researchers and entrepreneurs can find tips and contact details regarding knowledge and technology transfer – from start-up assistance and funding to patent law.

Homepage

This link takes you back to the homepage of Freie Universität Berlin.

Contact

This section lists the main points of contact and addresses for information of all kinds. Maps of of all four campuses help you find your way around on campus at Freie Universität Berlin.

Legal Notice

The legal notice provides information on the legal form, technical design, editorial staff, VAT ID number and address of the central website of Freie Universität Berlin in accordance with § 5 of the German Telemediengesetz (Telemedia Act, TMG).

Sitemap

This section provides a full overview of all websites under fu-berlin.de, depicted as a tree structure.

DE / EN

These buttons allow you to switch between the German and English pages of Freie Universität. English translations are posted for all of the main webpages.

Quicklinks

Quicklinks offer direct access to all of the main websites of Freie Universität. The individual quicklinks are sorted logically according to topic: education, campus, libraries, departments, careers (this section also includes the site listing job offers at Freie Universität), family, culture, sports, internal matters and IT services. The IT services section also includes a direct link to the webmail service offered by ZEDAT, which provides those affiliated with the university with an e-mail address with mailbox function.

Index

The Alphabetical Index for the central pages helps you find your way through the university’s extensive website. If you are looking for the Academic Advisory Service, for example, you can click A above to jump to that section and then scroll to the link for the Academic Advisory Service.

All target groups have their own overview page, which gives each group faster access to the information of interest for its members. Several new target groups were added: Children and Teachers, Ph.D. / Postdocs, Professionals, and Visitors.

The new page now offers specific information for ten target groups.

  • Alumni and Supporters
  • Children and Teachers
  • Employees
  • Entrepreneurs
  • Journalists
  • Ph.D. / Postdocs
  • Professionals
  • Prospective Students
  • Students
  • Visitors

Please note our disclaimer.

The Online Editorial Department is happy to receive requests for changes and suggestions of all kinds, including suggestions for improvements, and will forward these communications to the appropriate contact persons as necessary.

Email: webteam@fu-berlin.de

The page footer contains functions to take you back to the homepage or the five main navigation points – About, Education, Research, Departments, and Collaboration – which offer an overview combined with a wealth of detailed information about all aspects of Freie Universität Berlin.

You can also find banners on specific events, departments or institutions, or awards and distinctions of Freie Universität here.

The page footer also repeats functions from the page header, such as Homepage, Sitemap, Index, Contact, and Legal Notice.

Under “Feedback,” you can let us know your opinion on the central pages of Freie Universität.

 

On the following pages you can find help and support for using the online course catalog.

Vorlesung im Henry-Ford-Bau
Vorlesung im Henry-Ford-Bau Image Credit: David Ausserhofer

Starting in the 2012/2013 winter semester, the new course catalog will be available at www.fu-berlin.de/vv. This guide offers help and support for using the new service.

Further information:

Topic Links

Abbreviations

Abt. division (Abteilung)
ABZ ZEDAT Schooling and Advice Center (Ausbildungs- und Beratungszentrum)
AG working group (Arbeitsgemeinschaft)
apl. unscheduled (außerplanmäßig)
BP vocationally oriented internship (berufsorientiertes Praktikum)
CBB Berlin-Buch Campus
CBF Benjamin Franklin Campus
CCM Charité Mitte
CVK Virchow-Klinikum Campus
C Colloquium
CeDiS Center for Digital Systems
cr credit points
D demonstration
DPO regulations for the final examination for the degree of Diplom (Diplomprüfungsordnung)
E field trip (Exkursion)
EK introductory course (Einführungskurs)
em. emeritus (emeritiert)
EP empirical internship (Empirisches Praktikum)
Ex examination preparation (Examinatorium)
FB department (Fachbereich)
FK subject-specific course (Fachkurs)
FMI Friedrich Meinecke Institute
FR subject (Fachrichtung)
FS research seminar (Forschungsseminar)
GK basic course (Grundkurs)
HFB Henry Ford Building
Hon.Prof. adjunct professor (Honorarprofessor/in)
HS main seminar (Hauptseminar)
Hs lecture hall (Hörsaal)
HSchlAss university assistant (Hochschulassistent/in)
Inst. institute
JFKI John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies
K course (Kurs, Kursus)
KHI Department of Art History (Kunsthistorisches Institut)
Kk course with written exam (Klausurenkurs)
kommiss. provisional (kommissarisch)
KVV course catalog with commentary (Kommentiertes Vorlesungsverzeichnis)
L reading (Lektüre)
LAI Institute for Latin American Studies
LV-Nr. course number (Lehrveranstaltungsnummer)
m.d.W.b. tasked with implementation (mit der Wahrnehmung beauftragt)
MPI Max Planck Institute
n. V. per agreement (nach Vereinbarung)
OA/OÄ senior physician (Oberarzt/Oberärztin)
OAS East Asian Studies Division (Ostasiatisches Seminar)
OEI Institute for East European Studies (Osteuropa-Institut)
OS upper division seminar (Oberseminar)
OSI Otto Suhr Institute (Department of Political Sciences)
P internship (Praktikum)
PG project group (Projektgruppe)
Pj Project
Pk project course (Projektkurs)
Priv.-Doz. lecturer (Privatdozent)
PS Proseminar
PW teaching workshop (Pädagogische Werkstatt)
Rp refresher for examination preparation (Repetitorium)
RV lecture series (Ringvorlesung)
S seminar
s. A. see posted notice (siehe Aushang)
Sfb collaborative research center (Sonderforschungsbereich)
SK language course (Sprachkurs)
SP study project (Studienprojekt)
SPS practical school studies (Schulpraktische Studien)
SR seminar room (Seminarraum)
StR i.H. Studienrat im Hochschuldienst (civil servant title)
SWS weekly credit hours (Semesterwochenstunden)
T Tutorium
Ü exercise (Übung)
UP practical teaching course (Unterrichtspraktikum)
V lecture (Vorlesung)
W guide to scientific and academic work (Anleitung zu wissenschaftlichem Arbeiten)
WE scientific/academic institution (Wissenschaftliche Einrichtung)
Wiss.Ass. scientific/academic assistant (Wissenschaftlicher Assistent/Wissenschaftliche Assistentin)
ZE central service (Zentraleinrichtung)
ZI central institute (Zentralinstitut)
ZEDAT Computing Services (Zentraleinrichtung Datenverarbeitung)
ZUV central university administration (Zentrale Universitätsverwaltung)

Pictographs

Rollstuhl_Parken Accessible parking
Rollstuhl Accessible entrance (no stairs) via ramp or directly
Rollstuhl_WC Accessible restroom
Rollstuhl_Lift Elevator with at least 140 x 110 cm floor space
Last Update: Oct 23, 2014

Hinweise zu den zentralen Internetseiten der Freien Universität Berlin

Auf den zentralen Internetseiten finden Sie die offizielle Darstellung der Freien Universität Berlin - im Auftrag des Präsidenten.

Kontakt: Freie Universität Berlin, Zentrale Online-Redaktion, Kaiserswerther Str. 16-18, E-Mail: webteam@fu-berlin.de

 

Alles ausblenden Alles einblenden

Mit weniger Klicks zum Ziel

Mit dem neuen Corporate Design erhält auch der Internetauftritt der Freien Universität im Jahr 2011 ein neues Gesicht:

Durch das „Medienfenster“ im Kopfbereich der Startseite werden aktuelle und profilbildende Themen mit Fotos und Videos hervorgehoben. Die Hauptnavigation besteht aus fünf Elementen: Universität, Studium, Forschung, Einrichtungen und Kooperationen. 

Rechts daneben positioniert ist die eigenständige Zielgruppennavigation. Neu sind die Zielgruppen "Gäste", "Schüler und Lehrer", Interessenten für "Weiterbildung" sowie "Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs". Alle Zielgruppen erhalten eine Überblicksseite und damit einen schnellen Zugang zu den für sie interessanten Informationsangeboten.

Über einen sogenannten Direktzugang werden von der Startseite häufig besuchte Seiten wie Fachbereiche, Bibliotheken oder Weiterbildungsangebote schneller erreicht.

Neben den überarbeiteten Inhalten und neuen Querverweisen verbessern gestalterische und technische Modernisierungen den Internetauftritt der Freien Universität. Das neue Corporate Design bietet ein flexibleres Seitenlayout mit variabel positionierbaren Elementen und eröffnet so individuelle Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten für die unterschiedlichen Bereiche der Freien Universität.

Universität

Hier stellt sich die Universität Ihnen in Kürze vor: Sie erfahren wichtige Daten zur Gründungsgeschichte der Freien Universität, Grundsätzliches zu ihrem Profil, ihren Leitbegriffen, ihrer Organisation und ihrer Entwicklung. Bedeutende Persönlichkeiten sind hier aufgeführt - Rektoren, Präsidenten ebenso wie Preisträger wissenschaftlicher Auszeichnungen. Ausgezeichnet wurde die Freie Universität in vielfältiger Hinsicht - im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative, als familienfreundliche Hochschule oder für ihren Klimaschutz. Auch hierzu finden Sie nähere Informationen.      

Studium

Unter diesem Menüpunkt finden Sie alle wichtigen Informationen zum Studium an der Freien Universität.

Sie erhalten einen Überblick über das Studien- und Promotionsangebot an der Freien Universität. Hier finden Sie neben Hinweisen zur Bewerbung und aktuellen Terminen auch Informationen von A-Z und Ansprechpartner für organisatorische Fragen: Die Beratungsangebote der Freien Universität erstrecken sich von der "klassischen" Telefonberatung bis zur Beratung per Chat. Hier finden Sie auch Links zu den  verschiedensten Anträgen, Formularen und Merkblättern.

Für ausländische Studierende oder Studierende der Freien  Universität, die Interesse an einem Auslandsaufenthalt haben, gibt es den Bereich "Studium International".

Neu ist ein E-Learning-Programm für Erstsemester, das Studienanfängern den Start an der Freien Universität erleichtert.

Forschung

Dieser Menüpunkt führt Sie zu den Forschungsaktivitäten der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie erhalten einen Einblick die Forschungsschwerpunkte, Forschungsverbünde, Forschungsprogramme und Exzellenzcluster der Freien Universität. Hier finden Sie auch Online-Datenbanken, in denen Sie sich beispielsweise über Drittmittelprojekte der Freien Universität informieren können. Sie erfahren Vieles über die Forschungs- und Nachwuchsförderung, den Bereich Wissenstransfer und Forschungspräsentation sowie eine Menge weiterer nützlicher Links.

Einrichtungen

Hier erhalten Sie einen Überblick über die verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen und administrativen Einrichtungen der Freien Universität: Der Menüpunkt  führt Sie zu den Fachbereichen der Universität, zu den Zentralinstituten, der Hochschulleitung, der  Universitätsverwaltung, den Gremien, den Beauftragten und vielen Service-Einrichtungen an der Freien Universität.

Die Einrichtungen werden entsprechend der Organisationsstruktur der Universität dargestellt und bieten die Möglichkeit, sich zu der gesuchten Institution zu klicken. Alternativ können Sie einen Bereich über den alphabetischen Index suchen. 

Für jede Institution/jeden Bereich werden Adresse, Sekretariat oder/und Ansprechpartner/in, Telefonnummer, Faxnummer und E-Mail-Adresse angegeben. Bei den Instituten und Arbeitsbereichen werden außerdem Name und Telefonnummer der Professorinnen und Professoren aufgelistet.

Diese Seiten werden von der Zentralen Online-Redaktion betreut. Die meisten Einrichtungen haben zusätzlich eigene Internetseiten, die unter "Homepage" verlinkt sind. Dort gibt es in der Regel Detailinformationen. Für diese Seiten sind die Einrichtungen selbst verantwortlich.

Kooperationen

Hier erhalten Sie einen Einblick in die zahlreichen Felder der Zusammenarbeit: Als internationale Netzwerkuniversität pflegt die Freie Universität Berlin Kooperationen auf regionaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene.

Unter dem Menüpunkt sind wichtige Partner und Mitgliedschaften der Freien Universität aus Wissenschaft und Forschung aufgeführt, sie finden Informationen zur Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Hochschulen oder außeruniversitären Einrichtungen. Schülerinnen und Schüler, Lehrende und Eltern können sich über das vielfältige Angebot des Zentrums für Schulkooperationen informieren, Forscher und Unternehmer finden Hinweise und Ansprechpartner zum Wissens- und Technologietransfer - von der Gründungsförderung bis zum Patentrecht.

Startseite

Hier werden Sie wieder auf die Startseite der Freien Universität geleitet.

Kontakt

Hier finden Sie die wichtigsten Ansprechpartner/Anschriften für Auskünfte aller Art. Lagepläne des Campus Dahlem/Steglitz und der Standorte Lankwitz und Düppel ermöglichen Ihnen eine räumliche Orientierung an der Freien Universität Berlin.

Impressum

Das Impressum informiert über Rechtsform, Technische Gestaltung, Redaktion, Umsatzsteueridentifikationsnummer und Anschrift des zentralen Internetauftritts der Freien Universität Berlin gemäß § 5 des Telemediengesetzes (TMG).

Sitemap

Hier finden Sie eine Gesamtübersicht aller Webseiten unter fu-berlin.de als Baumstruktur.

DE / EN

Hier können Sie zwischen dem deutschen und englischen Webauftritt der Freien Universität wechseln. Englische Übersetzungen gibt es für alle wichtigen Webseiten.

Direktzugang

Über den Direktzugang haben Sie direkten Zugriff auf alle wichtigen Webangebote der Freien Universität. Die einzelnen Direktlinks sind übersichtlich nach Themen sortiert: Studium, Campus, Bibliotheken, Fachbereiche, Beruf, Karriere (hier finden Sie u.a. den Stellenanzeiger der Freien Universität), Familie, Kultur, Sport, Intern und IT-Dienste. Unter der letzten Rubrik finden Sie auch einen direkten Link zu Webmail. Webmail ist ein Service der ZEDAT, die für Universitätsangehörige eine E-Mail-Adresse mit Mailbox-Funktion anbietet.

Index

Der Alphabetische Index für alle zentralen Seiten hilft Ihnen, sich auf der umfangreichen Website der Universität zu orientieren. Wenn Sie beispielsweise die Studienberatung suchen, steigen Sie bei S ein und scrollen dort zum Link der Studienberatung.

Alle Zielgruppen haben eine eigene Überblicksseite und damit einen schnelleren Zugang zu den für sie interessanten Informationen. Die Zielgruppennavigation wurde erweitert: Neu sind die Zielgruppen "Gäste", "Schüler & Lehrer", Interessenten für "Weiterbildung" sowie "Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs".

Die neue Seite bietet nun spezielle Informationen für zehn Zielgruppen:

  • Alumni
  • Beschäftigte
  • Gäste
  • Presse
  • Schüler und Lehrer
  • Studienbewerber
  • Studierende
  • Weiterbildung
  • Wirtschaft
  • Wissenschaftl. Nachwuchs

Wir weisen ausdrücklich auf unseren Disclaimer hin.

Änderungswünsche, Anregungen und Verbesserungsvorschläge nimmt die Zentrale Online-Redaktion gern entgegen und leitet diese gegebenenfalls an die passenden Ansprechpartnerinnen und Ansprechpartner weiter.

E-Mail: webteam@fu-berlin.de

Im Fußbereich finden Sie Funktionen, die Sie zurückführen auf die Startseite oder zu den fünf Hauptnavigationspunkten - Universität, Studium, Forschung, Einrichtungen und Kooperationen - die einen Überblick und gleichzeitig zahlreiche Detailinformationen rund um die Freie Universität Berlin bieten. 

Sie können hier Banner zu bestimmten Veranstaltungen, Einrichtungen oder Auszeichnungen der Freien Universität finden.

Zudem werden im Fußbereich Funktionen aus dem Kopfbereich wiederholt wie Startseite, Sitemap, Index, Kontakt, Impressum.

Unter Feedback können Sie uns Ihre Meinung zu den zentralen Seiten der Freien Universität senden.

 

 

Auf den folgenden Seiten erhalten Sie Hilfe und Unterstützung zur Benutzung Online-Vorlesungsverzeichnises.

Vorlesung im Henry-Ford-Bau
Vorlesung im Henry-Ford-Bau Bildquelle: David Ausserhofer

Ab dem Wintersemester 2012/2013 ist das neue Online-Vorlesungsverzeichnis unter www.fu-berlin.de/vv erreichbar. Es erhält nicht nur ein neues Design, sondern auch erweiterte Funktionen, die auf folgenden Seiten kurz erklärt werden.

Weitere Informationen und Hilfe erhalten Sie hier:

Links zum Thema

Abkürzungen / Abbreviations

Abt. Abteilung
ABZ Ausbildungs- und Beratungszentrum der ZEDAT
AG Arbeitsgemeinschaft
apl. außerplanmäßig
BP berufsorientiertes Praktikum
CBB Campus Berlin-Buch
CBF Campus Benjamin Franklin
CCM Charité Mitte
CVK Campus Virchow-Klinikum
C Colloquium
CeDiS Center für Digitale Systeme
cr Credit Points
D Demonstration
DPO Diplomprüfungsordnung
E Exkursion
EK Einführungskurs
em. emeritiert
EP Empirisches Praktikum
Ex Examinatorium
FB Fachbereich
FK Fachkurs
FMI Friedrich-Meinecke-Institut
FR Fachrichtung
FS Forschungsseminar
GK Grundkurs
HFB Henry-Ford-Bau
Hon.Prof. Honorarprofessor/in
HS Hauptseminar
Hs Hörsaal
HSchlAss Hochschulassistent/in
Inst. Institut
JFKI John-F.-Kennedy-Institut für Nordamerikastudien
K Kurs, Kursus
KHI Kunsthistorisches Institut
Kk Klausurenkurs
kommiss. kommissarisch
KVV Kommentiertes Vorlesungsverzeichnis
L Lektüre
LAI Lateinamerika-Institut
LV-Nr. Lehrveranstaltungsnummer
m.d.W.b. mit der Wahrnehmung beauftragt
MPI Max-Planck-Institut
n. V. nach Vereinbarung
OA/OÄ Oberarzt/Oberärztin
OAS Ostasiatisches Seminar
OEI Osteuropa-Institut
OS Oberseminar
OSI Otto-Suhr-Institut (FB Politische Wissenschaft)
P Praktikum
PG Projektgruppe
Pj Projekt
Pk Projektkurs
Priv.-Doz. Privatdozent
PS Proseminar
PW Pädagogische Werkstatt
Rp Repetitorium
RV Ringvorlesung
S Seminar
s. A. siehe Aushang
Sfb Sonderforschungsbereich
SK Sprachkurs
SP Studienprojekt
SPS Schulpraktische Studien
SR Seminarraum
StR i.H. Studienrat im Hochschuldienst
SWS Semesterwochenstunden
T Tutorium
Ü Übung
UP Unterrichtspraktikum
V Vorlesung
W Anleitung zu wissenschaftlichem Arbeiten
WE Wissenschaftliche Einrichtung
Wiss.Ass. Wissenschaftlicher Assistent/Wissenschaftliche Assistentin
ZE Zentraleinrichtung
ZI Zentralinstitut
ZEDAT Zentraleinrichtung Datenverarbeitung
ZUV Zentrale Universitätsverwaltung

Piktogramme / Pictographs

Rollstuhl_Parken Parkplatz für Behinderte
Rollstuhl Stufenloser Zugang über eine Rampe oder direkt
Rollstuhl_WC Toiletten für Behinderte
Rollstuhl_Lift Aufzug mit einer Grundfläche von minimal 140 x 110 cm
Letzte Aktualisierung: 22.08.2014