Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Accomplishments by Members of the University

The students, instructors, and researchers at Freie Universität include a large number of award winners, who hold distinctions including prestigious academic awards, individual honors, and prizes for theses and dissertations.

Nobel Laureates (since 1948)

Five Nobel laureates who teach or have taught at Freie Universität Berlin:

  • Ernst Ruska (Nobel Prize in Physics, 1986)

  • Professor Reinhard Selten (Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, 1994)

  • Professor Gerhard Ertl (Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2007)

  • Professor Ulrich Cubasch (co-author of reports by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007)

  • Herta Müller (Nobel Prize in Literature, 2009)

German Research Foundation (DFG) Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

Seventeen scholars and scientists at Freie Universität have been awarded the Leibniz Prize since 1987. It is the highest endowed award in Germany.

Prize Winners

Max Planck Research Award for International Cooperation

Seven scholars and scientists at Freie Universität have been distinguished with the Max Planck Research Award for international cooperation since 1990. The award is granted jointly by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and the Max Planck Society in honor of outstanding, internationally recognized scientific and academic achievements.

Award Winners

  • Professor Klaus Möbius, experimental physics (1992)
  • Professor Emo Welzl, computer science (1992)
  • Professor Günter Schulz, physiology (1994)
  • Professor Helga Haftendorn, political science (1995)
  • Professor Ekkehard König, English language and literature (2002)
  • Professor Thomas Risse, political science (2003)
  • Professor Martin Vingron, adjunct professorship in bio-informatics / Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin (2004)

Grants of the European Research Council (ERC)

Nine scholars and scientists at Freie Universität are currently receiving support under the Advanced Investigator Grant program operated by the European Research Council (ERC). These highly endowed awards make it possible for researchers to realize outstanding and innovative fundamental research projects.

The ERC Consolidator Grant program is aimed at junior researchers seven to 12 years after earning a doctorate. Currently five researchers at Freie Universität are being supported with ERC Consolidator Grants.

With the ERC Starting Grants the European Research Council aims to support up-and-coming postdoctoral research leaders. The grant is expected to support the creation of excellent new research teams and the development of new ideas. Currently eleven researchers at Freie Universität are being supported with ERC Starting Grants.

Members of Leopoldina, the German National Academy of Sciences

Fifteen scholars and scientists at Freie Universität are members of Leopoldina. The National Academy of Sciences is the oldest association of scholars of natural science and medicine in Germany. For scholars and researchers of natural sciences, being elected a member of Leopoldina is considered one of the highest distinctions granted by any institution in Germany.

Members of Leopoldina

Alexander von Humboldt Professorship - International Award for Research in Germany

Academics of all disciplines from abroad, who are internationally recognized as leaders in their field and who are expected to contribute to enhancing Germany's sustained international competitiveness as a research location in consequence of the award, are eligible to be nominated for an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship

Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Through the Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards outstanding junior researchers from abroad are given an opportunity to spend five years building up a working group and working on a high-profile, innovative research project of their own choice at a research institution of their choice in Germany. Since 2001 three award winners have chosen Freie Universität for their research.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Erfolge ihrer Mitglieder

An der Freien Universität studieren, lehren und forschen zahlreiche Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger – prämiiert mit renommierten Wissenschaftspreisen, Einzelauszeichnungen und Preisen für Abschlussarbeiten und Dissertationen.

Nobelpreisträger (seit 1948)

Fünf Nobelpreisträgerinnen und Nobelpreisträger, die an der Freien Universität Berlin lehren oder gelehrt haben:

  • Ernst Ruska (Nobelpreis für Physik 1986)

  • Prof. Dr. Reinhard Selten (Preis der schwedischen Reichsbank für Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Erinnerung an Alfred Nobel 1994)

  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl (Nobelpreis für Chemie 2007)

  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Cubasch (Mitwirkung an Reports des Weltklimarats, Friedensnobelpreis 2007)

  • Herta Müller (Nobelpreis für Literatur 2009)

Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Preis
der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft

Siebzehn Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität erhielten seit 1987 den Leibniz-Preis. Er ist der höchstdotierte deutsche Forschungspreis.

Preisträger

Max-Planck-Forschungspreis für internationale Kooperation

Sieben Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität wurden seit 1990 mit dem Max-Planck-Forschungspreis für internationale Kooperation prämiiert. Er wird von der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung und der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft gemeinsam für herausragende, international anerkannte wissenschaftliche Leistungen verliehen.

Preisträger

  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Möbius, Experimentalphysik (1992)
  • Prof. Dr. Emo Welzl, Informatik (1992)
  • Prof. Dr. Günter Schulz, Physiologie (1994)
  • Prof. Dr. Helga Haftendorn, Politikwissenschaft (1995)
  • Prof. Dr. Ekkehard König, Englische Philologie (2002)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse, Politikwissenschaft (2003)
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Vingron, Honorarprofessur für Bioinformatik/Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Genetik Berlin (2004)

Förderpreise und Programme des Europäischen Forschungsrates (ERC)

Neun Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität werden derzeit durch das Advanced Investigator Grant-Programm des Europäischen Forschungsrates (ERC) unterstützt. Die hochdotierten Förderpreise ermöglichen es etablierten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern an EU-Forschungseinrichtungen, innovative Forschungsprojekte der Grundlagenforschung zu verwirklichen.

ERC Consolidator Grants richten sich an Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler ab 7 und bis zu 12 Jahren nach der Promotion. Derzeit werden fünf Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität durch diese Förderlinie unterstützt.

Mit dem ERC Starting Grant fördert der Europäische Forschungsrat hoch talentierte Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler nach der Promotion. Ziel ist der Aufbau eines unabhängigen exzellenten Forschungsteams und die Entwicklung neuer Ideen. Derzeit werden elf Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität durch diese Förderlinie unterstützt.

Mitglieder der Leopoldina –
Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften

15 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität sind Mitglieder der Leopoldina. Die Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften ist die älteste naturwissenschaftlich-medizinische Gelehrtengesellschaft in Deutschland. Die Wahl zum Mitglied gilt für Naturwissenschaftlerinnen und Naturforscher als eine der höchsten Auszeichnungen, die eine deutsche Institution vergibt.

Alexander-von-Humboldt-Professur – Internationaler Preis für Forschung in Deutschland

Weltweit führende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aller Fachgebiete aus dem Ausland, von denen erwartet wird, dass ihre mit Hilfe des Preises ermöglichten wissenschaftlichen Leistungen zur internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Forschungsstandortes Deutschland nachhaltig beitragen, können für eine Alexander-von-Humboldt-Professur nominiert werden. 

Sofja Kovalevskaja-Programm der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung

Junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die mit dem Sofja-Kovalevskaja-Preis ausgezeichnet werden, haben die Möglichkeit, an einer selbst gewählten Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland für die Dauer von fünf Jahren Arbeitsgruppen aufzubauen und ein Forschungsprojekt eigener Wahl zu bearbeiten. Seit 2001 haben drei Preisträger die Freie Universität für ihre Forschung gewählt.