Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Goals of the Study

Since 2008 the Freie Universität Berlin has been conducting this survey as part of the Graduate Survey Cooperation Project (KOAB) together with more than 60 universities and the Institute for Applied Statistics (ISTAT).

The Graduate Survey Cooperation Project is also linked to the National Graduate Panel. The panel serves primarily to provide information on the state of education and facilitates political decision-making at national level. It is conducted every four years and refers to random samples from all federal states of Germany.

 The project has two primary aims:

  • To gain information that can be used as the basis for improving the professional and employment prospects of those completing the study program.
  • To arrive at a retrospective evaluation of the study program with regard to the qualifications and skills acquired during it (both within and outside a specific discipline) and how useful they are in professional life.

The potential offered by studies of graduates, in comparison to university or labor market statistics, lies in their combining objective and subjective data. Alongside purely quantitative criteria pertaining to professional success (income, position, conditions of employment, etc.), these studies also capture information on individual motivation and satisfaction. Graduates’ self-assessments allow for statements on the use of the knowledge acquired during the study program, how well that knowledge fits the requirements of professional practice, and the adequacy of employment. These studies can also yield valuable information on various fields of action in higher education development:

  • In quality management, a retrospective evaluation of study conditions by graduates also serves as an indicator for evaluating processes such as the course of a professional career, long-term professional success, and respondents’ experiences in the labor market.
  • For transition development and evaluation, the studies supply valuable information for comparing target and actual values.
  • The information obtained through studies of graduates also performs various functions in terms of advising students, in the university’s career service, and in working with alumni.

The questionnaire addresses questions from the following subject areas:

  • Satisfaction with the study program, retrospective overall evaluation of the study program (courses and events, instructors, overall conditions, advising, study program’s relevance to and orientation toward real-world practice and application)
  • Transitions to professional life (unemployment, transitional jobs, regular gainful employment, continuing education)
  • Current professional situation and key points in the progress of respondents’ careers (job, type of employment, professional position, company form and size, economic sector, income, working hours, employment abroad, independent contracting or sole proprietorships, reasons for choosing current position)
  • Professional expectations (adequacy of employment, job satisfaction, opportunities utilized in looking for a job, job changes and the reasons for them, professional steps to secure respondents’ futures)
  • Remaining at the higher education institution (further studies, including doctoral studies; financing and usefulness of further studies, including doctoral studies)
  • Qualifications that employers require of graduates
  • Important qualifications for respondents’ current professional activities and the importance to their current professional activities of the qualifications, knowledge, and skills acquired during their studiesQuestions on respondents’ socio-demographic backgrounds

The main questions can be summarized as follows:

  1. How do former students rate the study programs completed at Freie Universität Berlin after the fact?
  2. What are graduates doing today? Have they stayed at the university (for a master’s degree or doctoral program, etc.), or have they moved on?
  3. What are the transitions from studying to professional life like?
  4. What qualifications have graduates been expected to have, and how important are the knowledge and skills they acquired during their studies to their current professional activities?
  5. What is their current professional situation like?
  6. What have their professional experiences been so far, and how do the prospects for the future look?

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ziele der Studie

Seit 2008 führt die Freie Universität Berlin im Rahmen des Kooperationsprojekts Absolventenstudien (KOAB) gemeinsam mit ca. 60 weiteren Hochschulen hochschulweite Befragungen von Absolventinnen und Absolventen durch. Diese werden betreut vom Institut für angewandte Statistik (ISTAT) in Kassel.

Das Kooperationsprojekt Absolventenstudien ist zudem mit dem nationalen Absolventenpanel verbunden, welches vor allem der Bildungsberichterstattung dient und die politische Entscheidungsfindung auf Bundesebene ermöglichen soll. Das nationale Absolventenpanel wird alle vier Jahre durchgeführt. Hierfür wird eine bundesweit repräsentative Stichprobe genutzt.

Mit der Befragung der Absolventinnen und Absolventen wird das Ziel verfolgt, etwas über ihre Situation ein bis anderthalb Jahre nach Studienabschluss zu erfahren. Von denjenigen, die bereits eine Berufstätigkeit aufgenommen haben, kann die retrospektive Evaluation des Studiums im Hinblick auf die Verwertbarkeit der erworbenen Qualifikationen (fachlich und außerfachlich) im Berufsleben als Grundlage für eine Verbesserung der Berufs- und Beschäftigungsfähigkeit des Studiums herangezogen werden.

Absolventenstudien werden mittlerweile in vielen europäischen Ländern regelmäßig durchgeführt. Das Potenzial von Absolventenstudien im Vergleich zu Hochschul- oder Arbeitsmarktstatistiken liegt in der Verbindung von objektiven und subjektiven Daten. Neben rein quantitativen Kriterien des Berufserfolgs (Einkommen, Position, Beschäftigungsbedingungen usw.) erheben sie auch individuelle Motive und die Zufriedenheit der AbsolventInnen. Einschätzungen der Absolventinnen und Absolventen erlauben Aussagen über die Verwendbarkeit der im Studium erworbenen Kenntnisse, die Anforderungen im Beruf sowie über die Adäquatheit der Beschäftigung. Weiterhin liefern Absolventenstudien für die Übergangsentwicklung und -evaluation wertvolle Informationen.

Im Fragebogen werden Fragen aus den folgenden Themenblöcken angesprochen:

  • Zufriedenheit mit dem Studium, Rückblickende Gesamtbewertung des Studiums (Veranstaltungen, Dozenten, Rahmenbedingungen, Beratung, Praxisnähe und Anwendungsorientierung des Studiums)
  • Übergänge ins Berufsleben (Arbeitslosigkeit, Übergangsjobs, Reguläre Erwerbstätigkeit, Weiterbildung)
  • Gegenwärtige berufliche Situation und Eckpunkte des Berufsverlaufs (Tätigkeit, Art des Arbeitsverhältnisses, Berufliche Stellung, Unternehmensform und Größe, Wirtschaftsbereich, Einkommen, Arbeitszeiten, Erwerbstätigkeit im Ausland, Selbstständigkeit, Entscheidungsgründe für die aktuelle Stelle)
  • Berufliche Erwartungen (Adäquanz der Erwerbstätigkeit, Zufriedenheit mit dem Arbeitsplatz, genutzte Möglichkeiten bei der Stellensuche, Stellenwechsel und dessen Gründe, angestrebte berufliche Perspektiven)
  • Verbleib an der Hochschule (Weiteres Studium und Promotion, Finanzierung und Nutzen von weiteren Studien bzw. Promotion)
  • Qualifikationsanforderungen der Arbeitgeber an Absolventinnen und Absolventen
  • Geforderte Qualifikationen bei der aktuellen beruflichen Tätigkeit und Wichtigkeit der im Studium erworbenen Qualifikationen, Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten für die gegenwärtige berufliche Tätigkeit
  • Fragen zum sozio-demographischen Hintergrund

Die leitenden Fragen lassen sich wie folgt zusammenfassen:

  1. Wie beurteilen die ehemaligen Studierenden im Nachhinein das an der Freien Universität Berlin absolvierte Studium?
  2. Was machen die Absolventinnen und Absolventen heute? Sind sie an der Hochschule geblieben (Master, Promotion u.ä.) oder haben Sie die Hochschule verlassen?
  3. Wie gestalteten sich die Übergänge aus dem Studium in das Berufsleben?
  4. Welche Qualifikationen wurden von den Absolventen erwartet und wie wichtig sind die im Studium erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten für die derzeitige berufliche Tätigkeit?
  5. Wie sieht ihre berufliche Situation zurzeit aus?
  6. Welche beruflichen Erfahrungen haben sie bislang gemacht und wie sehen Zukunftspläne aus?