Study Programs

Studieninformationstage
At Freie Universität Berlin: Information Days for high school students Source: ZE Studienberatung, http.//www.fu-berlin.de/studienberatung

Undergraduate degree programs

An undergraduate degree program is a study program that leads to the student’s first degree or diploma for higher education. This category includes Bachelor’s degree programs, but also programs toward the state exam (Staatsexamen), Diplom or Magister degrees. Master’s degree programs, by contrast, are always graduate programs, which means that admission always requires that the student has successfully completed an undergraduate program first. In Germany, agreements laid out by the Conference of Education and Cultural Affairs (Kultusministerkonferenz) state that undergraduate programs that lead directly to a master’s degree are not permitted.

Graduate degree programs

The master’s degree is an academic degree that university graduates earn upon completion of a second academic program. A Master’s degree program lasts two to four semesters and builds upon an undergraduate program. Students who wish to enroll in a master’s degree program are required to have a bachelor’s degree or other degree or diploma from one of the single-stage academic programs traditional in the German system (Magister, Diplom, first state exam (Staatsexamen) in law or teaching credential (Lehramt) program; degree in medicine).

Depending on the area of focus, a master’s degree program can allow the student to explore the subject previously studied in greater depth or to branch out into new areas of knowledge. A doctoral program (Promotion) leads to the academic degree of doctor (Doktorat) in a specific discipline. This degree is considered proof of the student’s aptitude to work scientifically or academically at an advanced level. It is based on an independent academic work – the dissertation – and an oral exam.

Further information

Last Update: Sep 18, 2012

Student Counseling


Info-Service Studium of Academic Advisory Service


Contact:

Brümmerstr. 50

14195 Berlin

Telephone:

(030) 838 700 00

Office Hours:

Mo., Tu., We., Fr.: 9 a.m.-3 p.m.

Th.: 9 a.m.-5 p.m. (all year)


E-Mail | Homepage


contact the webteam

Studienangebot

Studieninformationstage
Studieninformationstage Quelle: ZE Studienberatung, http.//www.fu-berlin.de/studienberatung

Grundständiges Studium

Als grundständiges Studium werden Studiengänge bezeichnet, die zu einem ersten Hochschulabschluss führen. Dazu gehören Bachelorstudiengänge, aber auch Studiengänge mit dem Abschlussziel Staatsexamen, Diplom oder Magister. Master-Studiengänge sind dagegen immer postgradual, das heißt zur Zulassung ist immer ein erfolgreich abgeschlossener grundständiger Studiengang erforderlich. Grundständige Studiengänge, die direkt zu einem Master-Abschluss führen, sind in Deutschland nach Vereinbarungen der Kultusministerkonferenz ausgeschlossen.

Weiterführendes Studium

Der Master ist ein akademischer Grad, den Hochschulabsolventen als Abschluss einer zweiten wissenschaftlichen Ausbildung erlangen. Das Masterstudium dauert zwei bis vier Semester und ergänzt ein grundständiges Studium. Studienvoraussetzung ist ein Bachelor-Abschluss oder ein Abschluss in einem traditionellen, einstufigen akademischen Studiengang (Magister, Diplom, Erstes Staatsexamen in Rechtswissenschaften oder Lehramtsstudium; Abschluss in Medizin).

Je nach Ausrichtung kann ein Masterstudiengang der wissenschaftlichen Vertiefung des vorherigen Studiums oder der Erschließung neuer Wissensgebiete dienen. Die Promotion ist die Verleihung des akademischen Grades „Doktor“ beziehungsweise „Doktorin“ in einem bestimmten Studienfach und dient dem Nachweis der Befähigung zu vertiefter wissenschaftlicher Arbeit. Sie beruht auf einer selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit, der Dissertation, und einer mündlichen Prüfung.

Siehe auch

Letzte Aktualisierung: 13.04.2012

Info-Service Studium


Info-Service Studium der Allgemeinen Studienberatung


Kontakt:

Brümmerstr. 50

14195 Berlin

Telefon:

(030) 838 - 70000

Sprechzeiten:

Mo., Di., Mi., Fr.: 9-15 Uhr
Do.: 9-17 Uhr (ganzjährig)


E-Mail | Homepage


Hinweise an die Webredaktion der ZE Studienberatung und Psychologische Beratung