Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Literature Search in General

There are many different ways of searching for relevant sources that deal with a particular topic. There is not one perfect way. As you start, consider carefully what it is exactly that you want to investigate. That way you will define your topic with more conceptual precision and narrow down results in a more systematic way.

In a first step, you can compile different search terms that cover different aspects of your topic. It can be helpful to include words with similar meanings (synonyms) in your search.

Search machines and library catalogs often only return results that match your search terms exactly. Therefore, if you intend a complete search, you are advised to include your search terms in singular and plural forms. Sometimes it can be important whether letters are capital or lower-case. Consider including terms from more than one language, and remember that different languages may be important in different disciplines.

From Local to National Search

As a rule, you will want to start searching for sources that are available locally. At Freie Universität, you can use Primo as a tool for the local search

Primo is the discovery system provided by the Freie Universität University Library. It includes all classical functionalities of the online catalog, such as user account settings. A literature search in Primo is much wider than a search in the online catalog. Besides print holdings, the mega-index that is presented trough one search interface also covers electronical books, journal articles, individual book chapters or audiovisual media. Moreover, the datasets pertaining to national licenses provided by the German Research Council, DFG. Result lists in Primo contain information on the relevant items' availability and direct users to full texts – on condition that they have either been licensed or are freely accessible. A comprehensive literature search should go beyond the local scope, especially when a subject is very specific and there are is only a small number of local results. A regional search should be done on the KOBV portal, a national searche through the Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog. Relevant literature can be requested through interlibrary loan; usually interlibrary loans are delivered within two weeks. All German-language literature and literature concerning Germany is listed in the German National Library's catalog.

Have a look at our range of courses and introductions (in German).

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Allgemeine Literatursuche

Es gibt viele unterschiedliche Wege nach relevanter Literatur zu einem Thema zu recherchieren. Die eine perfekte Recherche gibt es nicht. Zu Beginn einer Recherche sollte man genau überlegen, wonach gesucht wird. Dies hat den Vorteil das gesuchte Thema inhaltlich klar zu definieren und die Suchergebnisse stärker systematisch einzugrenzen.

Vor dem Start einer Recherche sollten verschiedene Suchbegriffe zurechtgelegt werden, die unterschiedliche Aspekte des Themas abdecken. Hilfreich ist es, wenn bedeutungsgleiche und bedeutungsähnliche Wörter mit in die Suche einbezogen werden (Synonyme Recherche).

Suchmaschinen oder Bibliothekskataloge suchen häufig nur die genaue Zeichenfolge. Deshalb sollte gerade bei einer vollständigen Recherche die Schreibweise des Suchbegriffs in Singular- und Pluralform und auch Groß- und Kleinschreibung berücksichtigt werden. Neben der Wortform sollte auch die Sprache des Suchbegriffs in den Fokus rücken, denn viele Fächer haben ihre eigene Wissenschaftssprache.

Von der lokalen zur nationalen Recherche

Sinnvoll ist es eine Recherche immer lokal zu beginnen. Die Freie Universität verfügt über das Bibliotheksportal Primo.

Primo ist das Discovery-System der Universitätsbibliothek der FU. Alle klassischen Funktionen des Online-Katalogs, wie beispielsweise die Verwaltung des Benutzerkontos, wurden in Primo integriert. Eine Recherche in Primo geht über die Recherche im Online-Katalog weit hinaus. In ihm werden neben den Print-Beständen auch elektronische Bücher, Zeitschriftenaufsätze, einzelne Buchkapitel oder AV-Medien in einem Megaindex unter einer Oberfläche suchbar gemacht. Darüber hinaus sind auch die Datensätze aus DFG-Nationallizenzen eingebunden. Bereits in der Ergebnisliste zeigt Primo die Verfügbarkeit der gefundenen Medien an und leitet Nutzerinnen und Nutzer zum Volltext, sofern diese lizenziert oder frei verfügbar sind.Für eine vollständige Recherche sollte man über die lokale Recherche hinausgehen. Dies bietet sich vor allem auch dann an, wenn ein Thema sehr speziell ist und nur wenige Ergebnistreffer erzielt wurden. Die regionale Recherche sollte über das KOBV-Portal gestartet werden, eine nationale Recherche über den Karlsruher Virtuellen Katalog. Relevante Literatur kann über die Fernleihe bestellt werden. Diese wird dann innerhalb von zwei Wochen der Nutzung zur Verfügung gestellt. Sämtliche deutschsprachige Literatur oder Literatur über Deutschland wird im Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek nachgewiesen.

Bitte beachten Sie unsere Lehrangebote.