Freie Universität Berlin was founded on December 4, 1948, by students, scholars, and scientists with the support of the American allied forces and politicians in Berlin. Students and academics wanted to be free to pursue their learning, teaching, and research activities at Freie Universität, without being subject to political influence. To a large part, the founding can be credited to the efforts of then-mayor Ernst Reuter.

Every year, Freie Universität therefore celebrates its founding with the so-called Ernst Reuter Day. The university community, alumni, friends, and supporters of the university come together to celebrate this day.

On this occasion, Freie Universität honors distinguished students and researchers for their work. Most notably, the Ernst Reuter Prize, endowed by the Ernst-Reuter-Gesellschaft, is awarded to young scholars and scientists at Freie Universität for outstanding disseration projects. The incoming scholarship recipients and supporters of the Deutschlandstipendium are also welcomed during the official program.

At the reception, guests have the opportunity to meet and reconnect with current members of the university and alumni.

FUGeschichte1

Die Freie Universität Berlin wurde am 4. Dezember 1948 von Studierenden sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern gegründet. Frei von politischem Einfluss wollten sie an der Freien Universität lernen, lehren und forschen. Unterstützt wurden sie dabei von den amerikanischen Alliierten und Berliner Politikern, darunter maßgeblich dem damaligen Berliner Oberbürgermeister Ernst Reuter.

In jedem Jahr wird daher mit dem Ernst-Reuter-Tag das Gründungsjubiläum der Freien Universität gefeiert. Die Universitätsgemeinschaft, Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität kommen zu dieser Festveranstaltung zusammen.

Die Veranstaltung ist auch Anlass, um junge Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler sowie herausragende Studierende der Freien Universität zu ehren. In feierlichem Rahmen werden u.a. die Ernst-Reuter-Preise für herausragende Promotionsarbeiten verliehen sowie die Stipendiaten und Förderer des Deutschlandstipendiums willkommen geheißen.

Beim anschließenden Empfang bietet sich die Möglichkeit für interessante Begegnungen mit aktuellen Mitgliedern und Alumni der Universität.

FUGeschichte1