Freie Universität Berlin


Service Navigation

Peking University

logo-peking-university-breit

Already in 1981, Freie Universität Berlin and Peking University signed their first partnership contract. This contract was the first German-Chinese university accord ever and, since then, has led to numerous joint projects in research and teaching. Celebrating the 30th anniversary of the partnership, the contract was renewed in 2011 and upgraded to a Strategic Partnership. In the following year, an addendum augmented the number of exchange students to 10 per year.

A cornerstone of the partnership is the German Studies Center in Beijing, which was founded in 2005 and is administered jointly with Humboldt-Universität and co-funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). In cooperation with the two Berlin universities, this interdisciplinary center offers, among other things, a cooperative master’s education in Social Sciences and the Humanities for Chinese students.

The Confucius Institute of Freie Universität, founded in 2006, forms a second cornerstone of the partnership and is the first of its kind in Germany. Next to an extensive culture and language program, the institute’s work also focuses on the continuing education of teachers of Chinese as well as the development of class materials. On the Chinese side, the institute is affiliated with Peking University.

Since the beginning of the partnership in 1981, a co-financed partnership between both of the universities’ German philology institutes has existed. Through this partnership, every year, Freie Universität sends academics for several-months-long teaching stays to Beijing, while receiving Peking University academics for research stays.

In the 2012 excellence initiative, the Graduate School of East Asian Studies was successful and is currently being built up. Its focus lies in the doctoral education in the social and historic sciences. This graduate school will also be cooperating with the respective departments of Beijing University.

Since Oktober 2014 the BMBF funds the Chinese-German Research Forum for the Humanities, Social Sciences and Law. The forum addresses experienced scientists who wish to do research work on individual projects in collaboration with chinese Partners.

Within the context of the strategic partnership Peking University offers two full scholarships for a one-year Master's program at Yenching Academy.

Departmental Collaborations

Next to these institutional links of the two universities, a great number of cooperative projects at departmental level and between individual researchers exists. Apart from the very close cooperation in Sinology and German philology, these are especially situated in the areas of international politics, law, mathematics, and art history. One of the central partners in Asia for the newly established (2013) China-Europe Executive Master in Business Marketing at Freie Universität is Peking University’s Guanghua School of Management.

In order to accelerate the development of cooperation between both universities, joint projects have been funded since 2012. These funds are available within the Strategic Partnership framework and are made available through annual competitive calls. For more information, please follow this link.

So far the following projects have been funded:

Department Professor Project
Economics Prof. Kleinaltenkamp  Development of the Excecutive MBM
Art History Prof. Lee-Kalisch Workshop „Exchange in the Arts of China and Europe“
Political Science Dr. Stumbaum Workshop „Asian Views of the European Union“
Sinology Prof.  Mühlhahn Bilateral PhD workshop „The Formation of Modern Knowledge Systems in 20th Century China“
Law Prof. Säcker/Prof. Schubert Series of workshops on law-comparing topics
German philology/Sinology Prof. Kolesch/Prof. Leutner Series of workshops on Gender Studies
Religious Studies Prof. Renger Workshop „The Reception of Antiquity (Studies) in East Asia“

 

Partnership Coordinator:

Academic Champion:

  • Professor Klaus Mühlhahn, China Studies

Peking University

logo-peking-university-breit

Bereits 1981 wurde ein Partnerschaftsvertrag zwischen der Freien Universität und der Peking University geschlossen. Dieser Vertrag war das erste deutsch-chinesische Hochschulabkommen überhaupt, das zu zahlreichen Kooperationen in Forschung und Lehre in der Folgezeit führte. Aus Anlass des 30jährigen Jubiläums der Partnerschaft wurde 2011 der Vertrag erneuert und die Kooperation zu einer strategischen Partnerschaft ausgeweitet. Im darauf folgenden Jahr erfolgte ein Addendum zum Partnerschaftsvertrag, mit dem die Zahl der Austauschplätze für Studierende auf 10 pro Jahr erhöht wurde.

Zu den tragenden Säulen der Partnerschaft mit der Peking University gehört das gemeinsam mit der Humboldt Universität getragene und vom DAAD geförderte Zentrum für Deutschlandstudien in Peking, das 2005 gegründet wurde. Dieses interdisziplinäre Zentrum bietet u.a. eine kooperative Masterausbildung in den Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften für chinesische Studierende in Zusammenarbeit mit den beiden Berliner Universitäten an.

Als zweite tragende Säule der Partnerschaft wurde 2006 das Konfuzius-Institut an der Freien Universität gegründet, das erste seiner Art in Deutschland. Im Mittelpunkt der Institutsarbeit steht neben einem umfangreichen Kultur- und Sprachprogramm u.a. die Weiterbildung von Chinesisch-Lehrern sowie die Entwicklung von Lehrmaterialien. Die Betreuung der Konfuzius-Institute ist auf chinesischer Seite an der Peking University angesiedelt.

Bereits seit Beginn der Partnerschaft 1981 gibt eine von beiden Hochschulen finanzierte Institutspartnerschaft in der Germanistik, durch die jedes Jahr Wissenschaftler/innen der Freien Universität für mehrmonatige Lehraufenthalte nach Peking gehen und umgekehrt jedes Jahr Wissenschaftler/innen der Peking University für Forschungsaufenthalte nach Berlin kommen.

Im Aufbau befindet sich die im Exzellenzwettbewerb 2012 erfolgreiche Graduate School of East Asian Studies, deren Profil vor allem sozialwissenschaftlich und historisch ausgerichtet ist. Dieses Doktorandenprogramm wird in China ebenfalls vor allem mit den entsprechenden Fachbereichen der Peking University kooperieren.

Im Oktober 2014 bewilligte das BMBF Mittel für das Chinesisch-Deutsche Wissenschaftsforum für  Geistes-, Sozial- und Rechtswissenschaften. Das Forum richtet sich an erfahrene Wissenschaftler, die während eines viermonatigen Aufenthalts in Peking im Rahmen des Generalthemas „Transnationale Interaktionen und die Ordnung und Steuerung gesellschaftlicher Prozesse im Zeitalter der Globalisierung“ eigene Forschungsgebiete zusammen mit chinesischen Partnern bearbeiten möchten.

Im Rahmen der strategischen Partnerschaft bietet die Peking University Absolventen der Freien Universität zwei Freiplätze mit Vollstipendium für ein einjähriges Masterstudium an der Yenching Academy an.

Fachliche Kooperationen

Über diese institutionellen Verschränkungen hinaus gibt es eine Vielzahl von Kooperationen auf Institutsebene und von einzelnen Forschern. Neben den Verbindungen in der Sinologie und Germanistik, die besonders eng sind, gilt dies auch für die Bereiche Internationale Politik, Jura, Mathematik und Kunstgeschichte. Für den 2013 neu eingerichteten China-Europe Executive Master in Business Marketing am Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften ist die zur Peking University gehörende Guanghua School of Management einer der zentralen Partner in Asien.

Um die Entwicklung der Zusammenarbeitzwischen den beiden Universitäten weiter zu beschleunigen, werden im Rahmen der strategischen Partnerschaft seit 2012 jährlich Projekte mit Entwicklungspotenzial im Rahmen einer kompetitiven Ausschreibung gefördert. Weitere Informationen zu dieser Seed-Funding-Ausschreibung finden Sie hier.

Bislang gefördert wurden (Auswahl):

Fach Professor Projekt
Wirtschaftswissenschaften Prof. Kleinaltenkamp Entwicklung des Excecutive MBM
Kunstgeschichte Prof. Lee-Kalisch Workshop „Exchange in the Arts of China and Europe“
Politikwissenschaft Dr. Stumbaum Workshop „Asian Views of the European Union“
Sinologie Prof.  Mühlhahn Bilateraler Doktorandenworkshop „The Formation of Modern Knowledge Systems in 20th Century China“
Rechtswissenschaft Prof. Säcker/Prof. Schubert Workshop-Reihe zu rechtsvergleichenden Themen
Germanistik/Sinologie Prof. Kolesch/Prof. Leutner Workshop-Reihe Gender Studies
Religionswissenschaft Prof. Renger Workshop „Antike(rezeption) in Ostasien“

 

Koordinatorin der Partnerschaft:

Akademischer Champion:

  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Mühlhahn, Sinologie