Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Address Arnimallee 14
14195 Berlin
Wheelchair Access Handicapped Bathroom
Telephone +49 30 838-754 51
Fax +49 30 838-754 54
Email dekanat@mi.fu-berlin.de
Homepage

www.mi.fu-berlin.de

The Intelligent Systems and Robotics Group is based at Arnimallee 7 in Dahlem. | Source: Bernd Wannenmacher Part of the number pi is painted on the wall of the mathematics building on Arnimallee 6. | Source: Bernd Wannenmacher The autonomous car of Freie Universität doesn’t need a driver to steer it. | Source: Autonomous Labs The computer science building in Arnimallee has a garden courtyard. | Source: Bernd Wannenmacher The Zuse Institute is located on the computer science campus. | Source: Bernd Wannenmacher There is a small café near the entrance area of the building on Arnimallee 6. | Source: Bernd Wannenmacher The FUmanoids created by the Institute of Computer Science are small soccer-playing robots. | Source: fumanoids Berlin Mathematical School is an internationally recognized graduate school. | Source: Bernd Wannenmacher The main building of the Institute of Mathematics is located on Arnimallee 6. | Source: Bernd Wannenmacher The newly renovated mathematics villa is on Arnimallee 2 in Dahlem. | Source: Bernd Wannenmacher

At a Glance

The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science offers a variety of international degrees in mathematics, computer science, and bioinformatics, as well as a wide range of courses in teacher education. The research activities of the Institute of Mathematics focus on numerical mathematics and scientific computing, algebra, analysis, discrete mathematics, and geometry, while the Institute of Computer Science focuses on facilitating cooperation among people through the communication and processing of information in networks.

Very successful transdisciplinary research is carried out in cooperation with other universities, for example, within the Berlin Mathematical School, the DFG Research Center Matheon, and the German Center for Teacher Education Mathematics. As of 2014, the activities of these three institutions will be pooled within a new institution, the Einstein Center for Mathematics, a decision which was approved in May 2012.

Several examples for productive cooperation with independent research institutions are the International Max Planck Research School for Computational Biology and Scientific Computing and the Helmholtz Graduate Research School GeoSim that trains outstanding young scholars in structured doctoral programs taught in English under the umbrella of Dahlem Research School, as well as the Research Forum on Public Safety and Security, which was set up in October 2009 and is aimed at merging research projects and the work of different disciplines and institutions that deal with public safety and security.

 

Last Update: Aug 23, 2013

Fachbereich Mathematik und Informatik

Adresse Arnimallee 14
14195 Berlin
Stufenloser Zugang über eine Rampe oder direkt Behindertengerechte Toilette
Telefon (030) 838-754 51
Fax (030) 838-754 54
E-Mail dekanat@mi.fu-berlin.de
Homepage

www.mi.fu-berlin.de

Die Fumanoids der Informatik sind kleine Fußball spielende Roboter | Bildquelle: fumanoids In der Arnimallee 2 steht die renovierte Mathematik-Villa | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Auf dem Informatik-Campus befindet sich auch das Zuse-Institut. | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Die Kreiszahl "Pi" steht auf der Wand des Mathematik-Gebäude in der Arnimallee 6 | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Die Berlin Mathematical School ist eine international bekannte Graduiertenschule. | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Der begrünte Innenhof des Informatikgebäudes in der Arnimallee | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher In der Arnimallee 6 steht das Hauptgebäude der Mathematik | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Fährt fast von allein: Das Autonomous Car der Freien Universität | Bildquelle: Autonomous Labs In der Arnimallee 7 sitzt unter anderem die AG Intelligente Systeme und Robotik | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Im Eingngsbereich der Arnimalle 6 befindet sich auch ein kleines Café | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Kurzportrait

Der Fachbereich Mathematik und Informatik bietet eine Vielfalt von internationalen Abschlüssen in Mathematik, Informatik und Bioinformatik und ein großes Angebot im Lehramtsstudium. Die fachlichen Schwerpunkte am Institut für Mathematik liegen dabei in den Gebieten Numerische Mathematik, Algebra, Analysis, Diskrete Mathematik und Geometrie, während am Institut für Informatik die Unterstützung der Kooperation von Menschen durch Vermitteln und Verarbeiten von Informationen in Netzwerken im Zentrum des Interesses steht.

Die Forschung erfolgt dabei vielfach sehr erfolgreich in fächer- und universitätsübergreifender Zusammenarbeit wie beispielsweise der Berlin Mathematical School, dem DFG-Forschungszentrum MATHEON sowie dem Deutschen Zentrum für Lehrerbildung Mathematik. Die Aktivitäten dieser drei Einrichtungen werden ab 2014 im Einstein-Zentrum Mathematik gebündelt, das im Mai 2012 bewilligt wurde.

Beispiele für die erfolgreiche Kooperation mit außeruniversitären Einrichtungen sind die International Max Planck Research School for Computational Biology and Scientific Computing und das Helmholtz-Graduiertenkolleg GeoSim, die unter dem Dach der Dahlem Research School in englischsprachig strukturierten Promotionsprogrammen herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs ausbildet, sowie das 2009 gegründete Forschungsforum Öffentliche Sicherheit, dessen Ziel es ist, Forschungsarbeiten und -vorhaben verschiedener Disziplinen und Einrichtungen rund um das Thema „Öffentliche Sicherheit“ zusammenzuführen.

 

Letzte Aktualisierung: 23.08.2013