Department of Law

Address Van't-Hoff-Str. 8
14195 Berlin
Wheelchair Access Handicapped Parking Elevator at least 140 x 110 cm Handicapped Bathroom
Telephone +49 30 838 - 521 88
Fax +49 30 838 - 528 95
Homepage

www.jura.fu-berlin.de/en

The Department of Law at Freie Universität is located at Van't-Hoff-Str. 8 in Dahlem. | Image Credit: Marina Kosmalla The Dean’s Office of the Department of Law is located at Boltzmannstraße 3. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher The Department of Law at Freie Universität is divided into three areas: civil law, criminal law, and public law. | Image Credit: Marina Kosmalla

At a Glance

The Department of Law is organized into three academic units: Civil Law, Criminal Law, and Public Law. Activities in the field of law are determined by legal standards and regulations and by ongoing reference to legal practices and case law. As a result, one of the major areas of focus for scholars at the Department is the study of legal texts – in commentaries, court decisions, written agreements, or expert opinions – and reflecting on the methods used to interpret and implement them in practice. The basic research and teaching at the Department explore the historical and philosophical dimensions of law.

Key topics of research in legal studies at the Department include Europeanization and international interlinking of law, with emphases in the European and international law and comparative law, but also in the international economic and regulatory law, the law in social practice, and age and demographic change within the field of law. Through cooperation with world-renowned law schools, the Center for Transnational Legal Studies offers an opportunity to explore cross-border legal issues in a multicultural and transnational environment.

 

Last Update: Jan 30, 2014

Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft

Adresse Van't-Hoff-Str. 8
14195 Berlin
Stufenloser Zugang über eine Rampe oder direkt Behindertengerechter Parkplatz Behindertengerechter Aufzug mit einer Grundfläche von min. 140 x 110 cm Behindertengerechte Toilette
Telefon (030) 838 - 521 88 (Hier keine Auskünfte zu Fragen des Studienortwechsels/der Immatrikulation!)
Homepage

www.jura.fu-berlin.de

Der Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft gliedert sich in die drei Bereiche: Zivilrecht, Strafrecht und Öffentliches Recht. | Bildquelle: Marina Kosmalla Der Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft hat seinen Sitz in der Van't-Hoff-Str. 8. | Bildquelle: Marina Kosmalla In der Boltzmannstraße 3 befindet sich u.a. das Dekanat des Fachbereichs Rechtswissenschaft. | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Kurzportrait

Der Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft gliedert sich in drei wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen: Zivilrecht, Strafrecht und Öffentliches Recht. Die wissenschaftlichen Inhalte werden durch Rechtsvorschriften und den kontinuierlichen Bezug zur Rechtspraxis und Rechtsprechung bestimmt. Wesentlicher Gegenstand der Forschung ist daher die Auseinandersetzung mit Rechtsnormen – in Kommentaren, Urteilen, Beratungen oder Begutachtungen – sowie die Reflexion über die Methode ihrer Auslegung und praktischen Umsetzung. Die historischen und philosophischen Dimensionen des Rechts sind Gegenstände der Grundlagenforschung und der Lehre.

Zentrale rechtswissenschaftliche Forschungsthemen am Fachbereich sind die Europäisierung und internationale Vernetzung des Rechts mit Schwerpunktthemen im Europa- und Völkerrecht sowie der Rechtsvergleichung, aber auch im internationalen Wirtschafts- und Regulierungsrecht, das Recht in der gesellschaftlichen Praxis sowie Alter und demographischer Wandel im Recht. Durch die Kooperation mit weltweit renommierten juristischen Fakultäten bietet das Center for Transnational Legal Studies die Möglichkeit, grenzüberschreitende rechtliche Problemkreise in einem multikulturellen und transnationalen Umfeld zu erforschen.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 20.08.2014