Department of Earth Sciences

Address Malteserstr. 74-100 / Building A
12249 Berlin
Wheelchair Access Elevator at least 140 x 110 cm Handicapped Bathroom
Telephone +49 30 838-705 23
Fax +49 30 838-707 48
Homepage

http://www.geo.fu-berlin.de/en

Geographers from Freie Universität are doing research in China. | Image Credit: Rabea-Imjela The historical water tower on the Fichtenberg in Berlin-Steglitz is used as a weather station by the Institute of Meteorology. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Soil samples can be used to draw conclusions about the past. | Image Credit: Freie Universität Berlin The Geo Campus in Lankwitz always attracts many visitors during the Long Night of Science. | Image Credit: David Ausserhofer Drill cores provide valuable geographical data. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Pyroclastic bomb in volcanic layers, recently uplifted and exposed along the eastern coast of Taiwan. | Image Credit: Mark Handy Geologists do research on land and on water, as here in Berlin-Wannsee. | Image Credit: Thomas Taute The Geo Campus in Lankwitz has a large cafeteria for students and staff. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Geologists from Freie Universität also do research in the Alps. | Image Credit: Mark Handy The main building of the Institute of Meteorology is located at Carl-Heinrich-Becker Weg 6–10 in Berlin-Steglitz. | Image Credit: Reinhard Görner The Geo Campus in Lankwitz has many trees and green spaces. | Image Credit: Irene Böhme Hand-drawn weather maps are still essential. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Geographers from Freie Universität do research in the ancient city of Resafa Sergipolis, now an archaeological site in the desert in northern Syria. | Image Credit: Jan Krause A sunshine recorder is a device that records the amount of sunshine at a given location. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Meteorologists at Freie Universität regularly analyze weather data. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

At a Glance

The Department of Earth Sciences, which is located on the Geo Campus in Berlin’s Lankwitz district, is divided into three institutes: Geological Sciences, Geographical Sciences, and Meteorology.

The Department’s research focuses on the interactive physical, chemical, and biological processes taking place within the Earth, on the Earth’s surface, and the Earth’s atmosphere, as well as on the interactions between humans and the environment. Researchers study these processes primarily through the lens of natural science, but also using methods drawn from the social sciences.

The strength of the research at the Department of Earth Sciences is expressed through its involvement in the TOPOI cluster of excellence and in the fact that three German Research Foundation (DFG) Research Units are hosted here, in addition to several projects co-financed by industrial partners. Its success is based on two factors: the establishment of interdisciplinary approaches to research, and a broad-based, highly active cooperative network with university and non-university institutions in the greater Berlin-Potsdam region as well as in Europe and other parts of the world.

Last Update: Jan 30, 2014

Fachbereich Geowissenschaften

Adresse Malteserstr. 74-100, Haus A
12249 Berlin
Stufenloser Zugang über eine Rampe oder direkt Behindertengerechter Aufzug mit einer Grundfläche von min. 140 x 110 cm Behindertengerechte Toilette
Telefon (030) 838-705 23
Fax (030) 838-707 48
Homepage

www.geo.fu-berlin.de

Geografische Forschungen finden auch in China statt. | Bildquelle: Rabea-Imjela Der Geocampus verfügt über eine eigene Mensa. | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Nicht nur zu Land, auch zu Wasser forschen Geologen. | Bildquelle: Thomas Taute Der Wetterturm der Meteorologie auf dem Berliner Fichtenberg. | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Beschriftete Bohrkerne für die geographische Forschung | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Grüner Geo-Campus in Lankwitz | Bildquelle: Irene Böhme Mit Bodenproben Rückschlüsse auf die Vergangenheit ziehen. | Bildquelle: Freie Universität Berlin Auch die Alpen sind Forschungsgebiet der Geologie. | Bildquelle: Mark Handy Das Institut für Meteorologie im Carl-Heinrich-Becker-Weg 6-10 | Bildquelle: Reinhard Görner Der Geocampus in Lankwitz ist zur Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften immer gut besucht. | Bildquelle: David Ausserhofer Bis heute unerlässlich: Wetteraufzeichung per Hand | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Meteorologen der Freien Universität werten regelmäßig Wetterdaten aus. | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Mit dem Sonnen-Autographen wurde früher der Verlauf der Sonne aufgezeichnet | Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher Pyroklastische Bombe in vulkanischen Schichten an der Ostküste von Taiwan | Bildquelle: Mark Handy Die antike Stadt Resafa-Sergiupolis als Forschungsgegenstand. | Bildquelle: Jan Krause

Kurzportrait

Der Fachbereich Geowissenschaften auf dem GeoCampus Berlin-Lankwitz/Dahlem umfasst drei Institute: Geologische Wissenschaften, Geographische Wissenschaften und Meteorologie.

Im Fachbereich werden physikalische, chemische und biologische Prozesse in der Erde, auf der Erdoberfläche und in der Atmosphäre sowie die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Mensch und Umwelt erforscht. Neue Erkenntnisse werden überwiegend mit naturwissenschaftlichen, aber auch mit sozialwissenschaftlichen Methoden gewonnen.

Die Forschungsstärke des Fachbereichs wird durch die Beteiligung am Exzellenzcluster „TOPOI“, die Ansiedlung von drei Forschergruppen der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft sowie mehreren von der Industrie mitgetragenen Projekten belegt. Voraussetzung für diese Erfolgsbilanz ist, neben der Entwicklung und Anwendung von interdisziplinären Forschungsansätzen, ein weit gespanntes und intensiv genutztes Kooperationsnetz mit universitären und außeruniversitären Einrichtungen im Raum Berlin-Potsdam, sowie mit führenden Instituten in Europa und der Welt.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 01.11.2012