Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Abbreviations at Freie Universität Berlin

Freie Universität Berlin consists of many parts, including the Executive Board, Board of Trustees, Academic Senate, other governing boards, representatives, strategic centers, the libraries and digital services, 11 departments, 4 central institutes, 6 central facilities, 178 degree programs plus 52 doctoral programs, 7 divisions within the Central University Administration, and numerous other units – each of which has its own abbreviation!

It is very common at Freie Universität Berlin to “speak in abbreviations” and in some cases the abbreviations also serve as your administrative reference code for your position. Thus, you will come across them from your very first day. We have compiled a list with common abbreviations and hope this will be helpful while settling in.