Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Appointed to Senate of German Research Foundation

Three Researchers at Freie Universität Berlin Newly Appointed to DFG Senate

№ 248/2016 from Jul 07, 2016

Three scholars at Freie Universität Berlin have been newly appointed to the Senate of the German Research Foundation (DFG). They are Professor Dr. Eva Cancik-Kirschbaum, Professor Dr. Peter Geimer, and Professor Dr. Thomas Risse. A total of eight new members have been selected to the Senate of the largest research funding organization and central self-governing organization for research in Germany. Five members of the Senate were re-elected for a further term of office, and seven members resigned in rotation, including the professor of philosophy at Freie Universität, Dr. Sybille Krämer.

Eva Cancik-Kirschbaum is a professor of ancient Near Eastern studies at Freie Universität Berlin; in the DFG Senate, she will represent literature. The managing director of the Art History Institute at Freie Universität, Peter Geimer, was elected to the board in the slot for art history/philosophy. Thomas Risse, a professor of political science at Freie Universität, will cover sociology/political science.

The Senate of the DFG is the central academic committee that discusses and makes decisions about all matters essential to the organization. The Senate consists of 39 academic members, 36 of whom are elected by the General Assembly. In addition, there are three ex officio members: the presidents of the German Rectors' Conference, the Union of the German Academies of Science and the Arts, and the Max Planck Society. The presidents of the Hermann von Helmholtz Society of German Research Centers and the Fraunhofer Society and the chairperson of the German Council of Science and the Humanities are permanent guests of the Senate.