Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Award-winning Physicist

Physics Professor at Freie Universität Berlin Won Two Awards

№ 230/2012 from Aug 22, 2012

Klaus Baberschke, a professor in the Department of Physics at Freie Universität, was awarded the 2012 Edward Stern Prize, an outstanding achievement award from the International X-ray Absorption Society (IXAS), in recognition of his many years of contributions to the study and application of synchrotron radiation, in particular for his pioneering work in X-ray absorption spectroscopy of the light elements in the periodic table (e.g., carbon, nitrogen, and oxygen atoms). Baberschke was also recently awarded the Karl Scheel Gold Medal of Honor of the Physical Society of Berlin.

Klaus Baberschke, who was born in 1936, studied physics at Technische Hochschule Darmstadt, earning his doctorate in 1971. He completed the habilitation process at Freie Universität, where in 1977 he was hired as a professor in the Department of Physics. He has been a professor emeritus since 2004. Baberschke's work focuses on magnetism, crystal field effects, phase transitions, superconductivity, and the magnetism and structure of atoms and molecules that adhere to surfaces and in layers (nanomagnetism). In 2007 research in this field was recognized with a Nobel Prize (Peter Grünberg, Albert Fert).

The Edward Stern Prize is the highest award of the International X-ray Absorption Society. It is awarded every three years to individuals. The award ceremony took place at an international conference held in Beijing.

Baberschke was awarded the Karl Scheel Gold Medal of Honor "in recognition of his outstanding contribution and commitment" as chairman and longtime active board member of the Physical Society of Berlin. It is the first Gold Medal of Honor that the society awarded in the past twelve years, and the third since 1958.

Further Information

Prof. Dr. Klaus Baberschke (ret.), Department of Physics, Freie Universität Berlin, Tel. +49 (0)30 / 838-52648, Email: bab@physik.fu-berlin.de   


Press Image

Presentation of Karl Scheel Gold Medal to Professor Baberschke