Freie Universität Berlin

Service Navigation

Klaus Möbius Elected Fellow in the International Society of Magnetic Resonance

Physicist of Freie Universität Berlin Honored by the International Society of Magnetic Resonance

№ 182/2009 from Jul 07, 2009

Klaus Möbius, Professor at the Institute of Experimental Physics, Freie Universität Berlin, has been selected as a fellow of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance (ISMAR). Möbius is one of 80 leading physicists in the group of ISMAR fellows. Others include Richard Ernst, professor of physical chemistry in Zurich and the 1991 Nobel Prize winner in chemistry for the development of high-resolution nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy; Hans Dehmelt, the 1989 Nobel Prize winner in physics for the development of ion cage technology; and Peter Mansfield, who along with Paul Christian Lauterbur was awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 2003 for discoveries in the field of magnetic resonance imaging.

Möbius is one of the most prominent German molecular physicists. He studied physics, chemistry, mathematics, and economics at Freie Universität Berlin. In 1969 he completed the habilitation process in experimental physics and in 1971 he began a tenured professorship in physics. Möbius retired in 2001, but he continues to work as a researcher and still heads several research projects.

Möbius's focus is on molecular and biophysics. For his research he used elaborate magnetic resonance methods. Over a number of years, as part of several collaborative research projects, he turned to the analysis of large biological molecules. He coordinated a transdisciplinary priority program of the German Research Foundation (DFG) in high-field electron spin resonance – a variant of nuclear magnetic resonance – that included 20 working groups in Germany and Israel.

In 2006 Möbius was awarded the Order of Merit (Cross of Merit, First class) of the Federal Republic of Germany for his outstanding scientific work in molecular and biophysics, as well as for his achievements in the establishment and development of international scientific contacts. Möbius is also the recipient of the Max Planck Research Award, the Philip Morris Research Prize, and the Gold Medal of the International EPR (ESR) Society.

For further information, please contact:

Klaus Möbius, Freie Universität Berlin, Institute of Experimental Physics

Tel.: +49 (0)30 / 838 – 52770, Email: