Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Call for Applications: 2021 TWAS-IsDB Young Refugee and Displaced Scientists Programme for Women - Libya, Palestine, Syria, Yemen

The deadline for receiving applications is August 2 2021.

News from Jun 09, 2021

The World Academy of Sciences (UNESCO-TWAS) and the Islamic Development Bank (IsDB) are seeking nominations for the Young Refugee and Displaced Scientists Programme for Women.

The Programme is aimed at supporting talented young female scientists up to 40 years of age from Libya, Palestine, Syria and Yemen, who are refugees or displaced and have an excellent track record of publications. The programme fosters gender equality and supports the participation of displaced women in science. 

Candidates selected will be elected as TWAS Young Affiliates. The affiliateship status lasts for six years; in addition, the new Young Affiliates will be granted membership to the prestigious TWAS Young Affiliates Network (TYAN).

During their six-year tenure Young Affiliates are, among other things, invited to attend the TWAS General Meetings, conferences and panels, and may receive invitations to the regional meetings of TWAS Fellows organized by the Regional Partners. As members of TYAN, affiliates are invited to actively contribute to the Network, which offers access to many competitive opportunities such as the TYAN Collaborative Grants Awards, TYAN International Thematic Workshops, and the newly established TYAN Outreach Programme. Young Affiliates are also eligible for TWAS Awards. For details on the TWAS Young Affiliates Programme, visit: http://tyan.twas.org/

Candidates selected in the 2021 TWAS-IsDB Young Refugee and Displaced Scientists Programme for Women will also be able to take part in Science in Exile: this initiative aims to create a network of like-minded organizations that will work together to develop a global platform and roll out a coordinated advocacy campaign, in order to foster a cohesive response for the support and integration of refugee, displaced and at-risk scientists.

Find out more about this programme here

Sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research