Department of Earth Sciences

Address Malteserstr. 74-100 / Building A
12249 Berlin
Wheelchair Access Elevator at least 140 x 110 cm Handicapped Bathroom
Telephone +49 30 838-705 23
Fax +49 30 838-707 48

The Geo Campus in Lankwitz has many trees and green spaces. | Image Credit: Irene Böhme The Geo Campus in Lankwitz always attracts many visitors during the Long Night of Science. | Image Credit: David Ausserhofer A sunshine recorder is a device that records the amount of sunshine at a given location. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Hand-drawn weather maps are still essential. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Drill cores provide valuable geographical data. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher The historical water tower on the Fichtenberg in Berlin-Steglitz is used as a weather station by the Institute of Meteorology. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Geographers from Freie Universität do research in the ancient city of Resafa Sergipolis, now an archaeological site in the desert in northern Syria. | Image Credit: Jan Krause Soil samples can be used to draw conclusions about the past. | Image Credit: Freie Universität Berlin Geographers from Freie Universität are doing research in China. | Image Credit: Rabea-Imjela Geologists do research on land and on water, as here in Berlin-Wannsee. | Image Credit: Thomas Taute Pyroclastic bomb in volcanic layers, recently uplifted and exposed along the eastern coast of Taiwan. | Image Credit: Mark Handy Meteorologists at Freie Universität regularly analyze weather data. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher The Geo Campus in Lankwitz has a large cafeteria for students and staff. | Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher Geologists from Freie Universität also do research in the Alps. | Image Credit: Mark Handy The main building of the Institute of Meteorology is located at Carl-Heinrich-Becker Weg 6–10 in Berlin-Steglitz. | Image Credit: Reinhard Görner

At a Glance

The Department of Earth Sciences, which is located on the Geo Campus in Berlin’s Lankwitz district, is divided into three institutes: Geological Sciences, Geographical Sciences, and Meteorology.

The Department’s research focuses on the interactive physical, chemical, and biological processes taking place within the Earth, on the Earth’s surface, and the Earth’s atmosphere, as well as on the interactions between humans and the environment. Researchers study these processes primarily through the lens of natural science, but also using methods drawn from the social sciences.

The strength of the research at the Department of Earth Sciences is expressed through its involvement in the TOPOI cluster of excellence and in the fact that three German Research Foundation (DFG) Research Units are hosted here, in addition to several projects co-financed by industrial partners. Its success is based on two factors: the establishment of interdisciplinary approaches to research, and a broad-based, highly active cooperative network with university and non-university institutions in the greater Berlin-Potsdam region as well as in Europe and other parts of the world.

Last Update: Jan 30, 2014