32518 Graduate Course

The United States and Latin America

Ana-Constantina Frost

Comments

This seminar is situated at the intersection of International Relations and Latinx Studies to center the transnational linkages between the United States and Latin America and its manifold repercussions on contemporary U.S. foreign and domestic policy issues. Focusing on case studies from Central America, relevant policy fields in Inter-American Relations including migration, security, and trade will be reviewed. With the region often considered to be “America’s backyard,” the study of Central American-U.S. relations is still predominantly shaped by a (post-)Cold War framework. Moving beyond this perspective allows for an analysis of the many contemporary implications for intermestic policy that reverberate from this relationship. The class aims to deconstruct the role of colonial legacies in U.S. foreign policy toward Central America and address the racialized nature of immigration policies and border enforcement practices. Through this lens, the course will highlight the agency of non-state actors engaging in transnational relations such as the Central American diaspora communities in the United States and spotlight their political activism. close

13 Class schedule

Regular appointments

Thu, 2021-04-15 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-04-22 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-04-29 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-05-06 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-05-20 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-05-27 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-06-03 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-06-10 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-06-17 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-06-24 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-07-01 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-07-08 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Thu, 2021-07-15 08:00 - 10:00

Lecturers:
Ana-Constantina Frost

Subjects A - Z