Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Teaching about North America

Die Bibliothek des John-F.-Kennedy-Insituts

The John F. Kennedy Institute offers students excellent conditions to prepare for a professional career in the public or private sector of the economy.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

The John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies offers students an excellent academic education with a specialization on the United States and Canada. Courses and programs are offered in six disciplines: culture, literature, history, politics, sociology, and economics.

News from May 11, 2015

The John F. Kennedy Institute (JFKI) is one of three central institutes at Freie Universität. It was founded in 1963 by the political scientist Ernst Fraenkel with the aim of providing academic expertise on North America. The six different departments of the institute are simultaneously integrated into the departments of their respective disciplines. In addition to subject-specific seminars, the institute also offers courses devoted to regional issues that are addressed from transdisciplinary perspectives.

The JFKI offers both a bachelor's and a master's degree in North American studies. The seminars are held in German or English. With the support of various foundations and organizations such as the Fulbright Commission, the Thyssen Foundation, the Air Lift Gratitude Foundation, the Einstein Foundation, or the Terra Foundation, the institute regularly invites American and Canadian visiting professors to Berlin-Dahlem to enrich the curriculum.

The library of the John F. Kennedy Institute, with roughly 790,000 media units, is the largest library in Europe that is specialized in North American studies. The numerous scholarships and exchange programs offered at the institute afford students and graduates excellent conditions to prepare for a professional career in the public or private sector of the economy.

In 2006, as part of the German national Excellence Initiative, the John F. Kennedy Institute set up the Graduate School for North American Studies. In 2012 the graduate school was approved for continued funding within the German Excellence Initiative. Its doctoral program focuses on the comprehensive and interdisciplinary study of the social, economic, and cultural change in North American societies at the beginning of the 21th century. The program offers theoretically and methodically sound training in the areas of cultural and literary studies, history, political science, sociology, and economics.

The John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies is one of four central institutes at Freie Universität Berlin:

5 / 15

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Lehre zu Nordamerika

Die Bibliothek des John-F.-Kennedy-Insituts

Das John-F.-Kennedy-Institut für Nordamerikastudien bietet Studierenden hervorragende Bedingungen für eine berufliche Karriere in Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik oder im kulturellen Bereich.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Das John-F.-Kennedy-Institut bietet Studierenden eine erstklassige akademische Ausbildung mit Spezialisierung auf die USA und Kanada. Kurse und Programme werden in sechs Disziplinen angeboten: Kultur, Literatur, Geschichte, Politik, Soziologie und Wirtschaft.

News vom 11.05.2015

Das John-F.-Kennedy-Institut ist eines von drei Zentralinstituten der Freien Universität. Es wurde 1963 von dem Politologen Ernst Fraenkel mit dem Ziel gegründet, eine wissenschaftliche Expertise zu Nordamerika zu schaffen.

Die sechs verschiedenen Abteilungen des Instituts sind gleichzeitig in die Fachbereiche ihrer jeweiligen Disziplinen integriert. Neben fachspezifischen Seminaren werden auch Veranstaltungen angeboten, in denen regionalwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und Aufgaben disziplinübergreifend bearbeitet werden.

Das Zentralinstitut bietet sowohl einen Master- als auch einen Bachelorstudiengang im Fach Nordamerikastudien an. Die Seminare finden in deutscher oder englischer Sprache statt. Mit Unterstützung verschiedener Stiftungen und Organisationen wie der Fulbright-Kommission, der Thyssen Stiftung, der Stiftung Luftbrückendank, der Einstein Stiftung oder der Terra Foundation lädt das Institut regelmäßig amerikanische und kanadische Gastprofessoren nach Berlin-Dahlem ein, die das Lehrangebot bereichern.

Die Bibliothek des John-F.-Kennedy-Instituts ist mit rund 790.000 Medieneinheiten Europas größte Spezialbibliothek für Nordamerikastudien. Die zahlreichen Stipendien- und Austauschprogramme bieten Studierenden und Absolventen hervorragende Bedingungen für eine berufliche Karriere in Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik oder im kulturellen Bereich. 

Im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative wurde 2006 am John-F.-Kennedy-Institut die Graduiertenschule für Nordamerikastudien eingerichtet und 2012 erfolgreich verlängert. Das Doktorandenprogramm widmet sich der umfassenden und interdisziplinären Erforschung des gesellschaftlichen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Wandels der nordamerikanischen Gesellschaften zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts und bietet eine theoretisch und methodologisch fundierte Ausbildung in den Bereichen Kultur- und Literaturwissenschaften, Geschichtswissenschaft, Politische Wissenschaft, Soziologie und Wirtschaftswissenschaft.

Das John-F.-Kennedy-Institut ist eines von vier Zentralinstituten der Freien Universität Berlin:

5 / 15