Political Systems, Media, and Communication

studierende_qualifizieren
Students at the Otto Suhr Institute focus on the interactions between political and other players, structures, and processes. Image Credit: David Ausserhofer

The Department of Political and Social Sciences at Freie Universität includes the Otto Suhr Institute of Political Science, the Institute of Sociology, the Institute for Media and Communication Studies, and the Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology.

News from Oct 08, 2014

The Otto Suhr Institute of Political Science is the largest institute in this discipline in Germany and one of the most prestigious in all of Europe. Students at the Otto Suhr Institute focus on the interactions between political and other players, structures, and processes. In addition to bachelor’s degree programs, the Institute also offers the master’s degree programs in International Relations and, together with Sciences Po Paris, the dual Political Science – Affaires européennes / Affaires internationales master’s degree program.

The Institute for Media and Communication Studies has nine divisions for conducting research on the structures, processes, contents, and impact of mediated communication. At the undergraduate level, the institute offers bachelor’s degree programs in Media and Communication Studies and Computer Science and Media Studies, the latter in conjunction with TU Berlin. The master’s program Media and Political Communication is offered jointly with the Russian Saint Petersburg State University, and there is also a double degree master’s program in Global Communication and International Journalism.

The academic program in Social and Cultural Anthropology offered at the Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology focuses on cultural, social, economic, political, and religious forms of human organization and explores processes of social and cultural change and cultural comparison. The Institute also offers the master’s degree program in Visual and Media Anthropology.

In cooperation with the Social Science Research Center Berlin (WZB) and the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW), the Institute of Sociology offers the research-oriented Sociology – European Societies master’s degree program. Students work on describing and analyzing the social aspects of Europeanization.

In addition to the Department of Political and Social Sciences, Freie Universität is home to eleven other departments and three central institutes:

Academic Departments

Central Institutes

3 of 15
Last Update: Nov 12, 2014

What Distinguishes Us

Stay informed

International Newsletter from Freie Universität Berlin
internationaler_newsletter

The international newsletter in English makes it easy to keep informed about the university, even when you are abroad.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Von politischen Systemen und medialer Kommunikation

studierende_qualifizieren

Im Zentrum des Studiums am Otto-Suhr-Institut stehen die Wechselverhältnisse zwischen politischen Akteuren, Strukturen und Prozessen

Zum Fachbereich Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften der Freien Universität Berlin gehören das Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft, das Institut für Soziologie, das Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft und das Institut für Ethnologie.

News vom 08.10.2014

Das Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft ist deutschlandweit die größte politikwissenschaftliche Einrichtung, in Europa zählt es zu den renommiertesten Instituten. Im Zentrum des Studiums am Otto-Suhr-Institut stehen die Wechselverhältnisse zwischen (politischen) Akteuren, Strukturen und Prozessen. Neben dem Bachelorstudium bietet das Institut unter anderem die Masterstudiengänge „Internationale Beziehungen“ sowie gemeinsam mit SciencesPo Paris den Doppel-Master Politikwissenschaft - Affaires européennes / Affaires internationales an.

Am Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft erforschen neun Arbeitsstellen aus unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Perspektiven die Bedingungen, Strukturen, Prozesse, Inhalte und Wirkungen von medialer Kommunikation. Auf Bachelor-Niveau bietet das Institut die Studiengänge Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft sowie Medieninformatik (gemeinsam mit der TU Berlin) an. Darüber hinaus verantwortet das Institut den Master Medien und Politische Kommunikation sowie (gemeinsam mit der Saint Petersburg State University) den Double Degree Master Global Communication and International Journalism.

Der am Institut für Ethnologie angebotene Studiengang Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie rückt kulturelle, soziale, wirtschaftliche, politische und religiöse Formen menschlicher Organisation in den Mittelpunkt und thematisiert Prozesse soziokulturellen Wandels sowie den Kulturvergleich. Darüber hinaus wird am Institut der Masterstudiengang Visual and Media Anthropology angeboten. 

In Kooperation mit dem Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB) und dem Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW) bietet das Institut für Soziologie den forschungsorientierten Masterstudiengang Soziologie – Europäische Gesellschaften an. Studierende befassen sich mit der Beschreibung und Analyse gesellschaftlicher Aspekte der Europäisierung.

Neben dem Fachbereich für Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften sind an der Freien Universität elf weitere Fachbereiche und vier Zentralinstitute angesiedelt:

Fachbereiche

Zentralinstitute

11 / 15