From Philosophy to Film Studies

Studierende am Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften erwartet eine ausgezeichnete wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur. Hier der Lesesaal der Philologischen Bibliothek.
An excellent academic infrastructure awaits students in the humanities. The Philological Library has extensive collections and long opening hours. Source: Peter Himsel

The Department of Philosophy and Humanities at Freie Universität focuses on the languages and literatures of Europe, the philosophy and culture of societies from antiquity to the present, and the academic study of theater, dance, music, and media.

News from Nov 27, 2013

Made up of eight institutes, the Department of Philosophy and Humanities offers students a diverse range of subjects in the humanities, from philosophy and the cultures of antiquity to the Greek, Latin, English, Romance, German, and Dutch philologies as well as comparative literature, theater studies, film studies, musicology, and culture and media management.

Wide Range of Degree Programs

The department currently offers 23 bachelor's degree programs, some with 60- and 30-credit modules, and eight of which can lead to teacher certification (optional). There are also 15 consecutive master's degree programs and three master's degree programs with a special professional orientation, Applied Literary Studies, Arts and Media Administration, and Editorial Studies. The department offers doctoral programs taught in German or English within the structure of the Dahlem Research School. Questions about the various degree programs can be addressed to the Office of Academic Affairs (Studienbüro) and the Examinations and Doctoral Studies Office of the department.

Excellent Academic Infrastructure

Students and doctoral students in the humanities are provided with an excellent academic infrastructure. The department's facilities include the Philological Library, designed by Lord Norman Foster, and the Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School of Literary Studies, the only graduate school focusing exclusively on literary studies that was successful in the Excellence Initiative of the German government.

Benefits from Collaborative Research

Humanities research at Freie Universität has a breadth and diversity unparalleled in Germany. The central hub of the many departments and activities is the Dahlem Humanities Center (DHC), which was founded to create interdisciplinary networks and promote the emergence of new research initiatives.

From the beginning of their studies, students and doctoral students benefit from the work and the networks of collaborative research institutions. In addition to the Languages of Emotion cluster, there are several other major research alliances. They include the International Research Training Groups in InterArt Studies and Notational Iconicity, the Interdisciplinary Centers European Languages and Middle Ages – Renaissance – Early Modern Period, as well as the International Research Center being funded by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF), Interweaving Performance Cultures. The department is one of the main partners in the DFG Collaborative Research Center 626 Aesthetic Experience and the Dissolution of the Arts and in the Excellence Cluster Topoi.

The German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG) recently approved funds for the establishment of a new Collaborative Research Center, CRC 980, to deal with “Epistemology in Motion – Knowledge Transfer from the Ancient World to the Early Modern Period.” The scholars involved in this CRC study the processes of knowledge transition in European and non-European cultures before the modern era.

In addition to the Department of Philosophy and Humanities, there are eleven other academic departments and three central institutes at Freie Universität:

Academic Departments

Central Institutes

4 of 15
Last Update: Nov 27, 2013

What Distinguishes Us

Stay informed

International Newsletter from Freie Universität Berlin
internationaler_newsletter

The international newsletter in English makes it easy to keep informed about the university, even when you are abroad.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Von Philosophie bis Film

Studierende am Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften erwartet eine ausgezeichnete wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur. Hier der Lesesaal der Philologischen Bibliothek.

Studierende am Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften erwartet eine ausgezeichnete wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur. Hier der Lesesaal der Philologischen Bibliothek.
Bildquelle: Peter Himsel

Sprachen und Literaturen Europas, Philosophie und Kultur der Gesellschaften von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart stehen im Mittelpunkt des Fachbereichs Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften – ebenso die wissenschaftliche Betrachtung von Theater, Tanz, Musik und Medien.

News vom 17.09.2015

Der Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften bietet Studierenden an acht Instituten ein facettenreiches geisteswissenschaftliches Spektrum. Es reicht von der Philosophie und Kulturen der Antike über die Griechische, Lateinische, Englische, Romanische, Deutsche und Niederländische Philologie sowie die Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft, die Theater-, Film- und Musikwissenschaft bis hin zum Kultur- und Medienmanagement.

Breit gefächertes Studienangebot

Der Fachbereich bietet derzeit 23 Bachelorstudiengänge (teilweise mit entsprechenden 60- und 30-Leistungspunkte-Modulangeboten) – davon acht auch mit Lehramtsoption –, 15 konsekutive Masterstudiengänge sowie die drei weiterbildenden Masterstudiengänge Angewandte Literaturwissenschaft, Arts and Media Administration und Editionswissenschaft an. Die strukturierten Promotionsprogramme in deutscher und englischer Sprache sind eingebettet in die Struktur der Dahlem Research School. Bei Fragen stehen das Studienbüro sowie das Prüfungs- und Promotionsbüro des Fachbereichs zur Verfügung.

Ausgezeichnete wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur

Studierende und Promovierende der Geisteswissenschaften erwartet eine ausgezeichnete wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur. Hierzu zählt die Philologische Bibliothek, erbaut nach den Entwürfen von Lord Norman Foster, ebenso wie die Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule, die als bislang einzige literaturwissenschaftliche Graduiertenschule in der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder erfolgreich war.

Von Forschungsverbünden profitieren

Die Breite geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschung an der Freien Universität ist deutschlandweit einzigartig. Die Focus Area Dahlem Humanities Center (DHC) bildet für diese Fülle an Disziplinen und Aktivitäten einen Rahmen, schafft interdisziplinäre Netzwerke und fördert die Entstehung neuer Forschungsinitiativen.

Studierende und Promovierende profitieren von Anfang an von der Arbeit und den Netzwerken der Forschungsverbünde. Folgende große Forschungsverbünde sind am Fachbereich angesiedelt: Die Graduiertenkollegs InterArt Studies und Schriftbildlichkeit, die Interdisziplinären Zentren Europäische Sprachen und Mittelalter – Renaissance – Frühe Neuzeit sowie das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Internationale Forschungskolleg Verflechtungen von Theaterkulturen. Am DFG-Sonderforschungsbereich 626 Ästhetische Erfahrung im Zeichen der Entgrenzung der Künste ist der Fachbereich ebenso maßgeblich beteiligt wie am Exzellenzcluster Topoi.

Im Juli 2012 begann die Laufzeit eines neuen von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft bewilligten Sonderforschungsbereichs am Fachbereich: Im SFB 980 Episteme in Bewegung untersuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Prozesse des Wissenswandels in europäischen und außereuropäischen Kulturen. Der untersuchte Zeitraum reicht von der Alten Welt bis in die Frühe Neuzeit.

Neben dem Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften sind an der Freien Universität elf weitere Fachbereiche und vier Zentralinstitute angesiedelt:

Fachbereiche

Zentralinstitute

2 / 15