History and Cultures

The Department of History and Cultural Studies covers a wide range of different eras, from antiquity to the modern period, and a vast physical area, stretching from Europe and the Middle East to Asia and the Americas.
The Department of History and Cultural Studies covers a wide range of different eras, from antiquity to the modern period, and a vast physical area, stretching from Europe and the Middle East to Asia and the Americas. Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

The Department of History and Cultural Studies offers a research profile found nowhere else in Germany. It covers a wide range of different eras, from ancient times to the modern period, and a vast physical area, stretching from Europe and the Middle East to Asia and the Americas.

News from Nov 25, 2014

Students in this department are exposed to a wide variety of methods, which enables them to gain a good foundation for gathering new data in various regions of the world and in various epochs.  Using the new data, existing theoretical models can be reviewed and new ones developed.

Students at the Friedrich Meinecke Institute of History can learn about the subject in all the periods from ancient Greece to contemporary history. The Department of Art History is one of the largest in Germany. Art history there is taught with an emphasis on a cross-regional perspective, with specializations in art from East Asia, South Asia, or Africa. The classical studies include the disciplines of Egyptology, ancient Near Eastern studies, archaeology, prehistoric archaeology, and Near Eastern archaeology. The East Asian, Middle Eastern, and North African regions are all studied from interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary perspectives in the fields of Iranian studies, Islamic studies, Japanese studies, Korean Studies, Semitic studies, and Arabic studies, as well as Sinology and Turkic studies.

The Institute of Jewish Studies is the first institute for Jewish studies to be set up at a university in Germany. The discipline of Catholic Theology sees itself as a scientific reflection on the Christian faith. Religion as an academic discipline is a historical-philological and sociological field of cultural studies, and its emphasis at Freie Universität Berlin is on the European tradition since ancient Greece. The Institute of Comparative Ethics took up its work on January 1, 2006. Its research and teaching deal with rules, norms, and values that people follow to guide their thinking and actions.

The research undertaken by the highly specialized disciplines in the Department of History and Cultural Studies is supported by different units. Deserving mention here are two Focus Areas of Freie Universität: the Dahlem Humanities Center (DHC) and the Center for Area Studies (CAS). DHC is the central hub of the many departments and activities in humanities research at Freie Universität, while CAS links together the area-specific expertise in the humanities and social sciences that is present at Freie Universität.

The two graduate schools that won funding in the German national Excellence Initiative, Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies and the Graduate School of East Asian Studies, as well as the Excellence Cluster Topoi are just a few examples of the outstanding academic achievements of the Department of History and Cultural Studies. Members of the department are involved in several Interdisciplinary Centers that provide platforms for dealing with a particular interdisciplinary research topic.

In addition to the Department of History and Cultural Studies, there are eleven other academic departments and three central institutes at Freie Universität:

Academic Departments

Central Institutes

9/15

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Geschichte und Kulturen

Das Fächerspektrum des Fachbereichs Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften reicht zeitlich von der Antike bis zur Moderne, räumlich von über den Vorderen Orient und Asien bis zu Nord- und Südamerika.

Das Fächerspektrum des Fachbereichs Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften reicht zeitlich von der Antike bis zur Moderne, räumlich von über den Vorderen Orient und Asien bis zu Nord- und Südamerika.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Der Fachbereich Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften weist in der deutschen Universitätslandschaft ein einzigartiges Fächerspektrum auf: Es reicht zeitlich vom Altertum bis zur Moderne, räumlich von Europa über den Vorderen Orient bis nach Asien und umfasst auch Teile von Nord- und Südamerika.

News vom 25.11.2014

Eine besondere Stärke der im Fachbereich vertretenen Fächer besteht darin, Studierenden ein vielfältiges Methodenwissen zu vermitteln – Grundlage, um neue wissenschaftliche Daten in verschiedenen Weltregionen oder zu unterschiedlichen Epochen sammeln zu können. Anhand derer werden bestehende theoretische Modelle überprüft und neue entwickelt.

Die Erforschung der Geschichte erfolgt am Friedrich-Meinecke-Institut in ihrer ganzen Breite. Das Fach ist in allen Epochen von der griechischen Antike bis hin zur Zeitgeschichte vertreten. Das Kunsthistorische Institut der Freien Universität gehört zu den größten in Deutschland; es wird in einer regional übergreifenden Perspektive gelehrt, Studierende können sich auf Kunst aus Ostasien, Südasien oder Afrika spezialisieren. Zu den Altertumswissenschaften zählen die Disziplinen Ägyptologie, Altorientalistik, Klassische Archäologie, Prähistorische Archäologie sowie Vorderasiatische Archäologie. Den Bereich Ostasien, Vorderer Orient und Nordafrika nehmen die Fachrichtungen Iranistik, Islamwissenschaft, Japanologie, Koreastudien, Semitistik und Arabistik, Sinologie und Turkologie inter- und transdisziplinär in den Blick.

Das Institut für Judaistik ist die erste an einer deutschen Universität gegründete judaistische Lehr- und Forschungsstätte; das Fach Katholische Theologie versteht sich als wissenschaftliche Reflexion auf den christlichen Glauben; die Religionswissenschaft als historisch-philologisch und sozialwissenschaftlich vorgehende Kulturwissenschaft hat ihren Schwerpunkt auf der europäischen Tradition seit der griechischen Antike. Am 2006 gegründeten Institut für Vergleichende Ethik geht es um Regeln, Normen und Wertmaßstäbe, an denen sich Menschen in ihrem Denken und Handeln orientieren.

Die Forschung der hoch spezialisierten Fächer wird in unterschiedlichen Einheiten unterstützt. Hervorzuheben sind hier zwei Focus Areas der Universität: Das Dahlem Humanities Center (DHC) und das Center for Area Studies (CAS). Das DHC bündelt die deutschlandweit einzigartige Breite geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschung an der Freien Universität; das CAS die geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Regionalkompetenz.

Die im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative ausgezeichneten Graduiertenschulen Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies, die Graduate School of East Asian Studies sowie das Exzellenzcluster Topoi sind nur einige Beispiele für die herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungen am Fachbereich. Dieser ist zudem beteiligt an mehreren Interdisziplinären Zentren (IZ), die das Dach für Fächer mit einem speziellen, gemeinsamen Forschungsthema bilden.

Neben dem Fachbereich Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften sind an der Freien Universität elf weitere Fachbereiche und vier Zentralinstitute angesiedelt:

Fachbereiche

Zentralinstitute

9 / 15