Springe direkt zu Inhalt

High and Low

Geländepraktikum mit Studierenden der Geowissenschaften im Himalaya.

Field work in the Himalayas with students of the Earth sciences
Image Credit: Christian Reinhardt

The Earth sciences are devoted to the study of Earth system processes. How these processes influence each other, what influence they have on climate and the environment, and what role in these processes is played by humans are all topics that are being investigated at Freie Universität in Berlin-Lankwitz.

News from Nov 12, 2014

The Department of Earth Sciences includes three academic institutions: the Institute of Geological Sciences, the Institute of Geographical Sciences, and the Institute of Meteorology.

Using interdisciplinary research approaches, current data are recorded and analyzed, primarily with scientific methods, but also social science methods, for making predictions about the environment – and also for weather forecasts. Since 1954 the Institute of Meteorology has been naming high and low pressure areas that affect the weather in Europe – the results can be heard almost daily in the news.

The subjects studied and taught range from geochemistry, geophysics, geodynamics, and paleontology to the planetary sciences, human geography, and geoinformatics. They also include the dynamics of the atmosphere and space sciences.

The Department of Earth Sciences cooperates with numerous institutions in Europe, South America, Central and East Asia, and North Africa. Its research groups collaborate closely with non-university institutions in the region. These include  Helmholtz Centre Potsdam, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ), Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, the German Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR), the German National Weather Service (Deutsche Wetterdienst, DWD), and the German Aerospace Center (DLR).

In addition to the Department of Earth Sciences Freie Universität is home to eleven other departments and four central institutes:

Academic Departments

Central Institutes

10 / 15

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Hoch und Tief

Geländepraktikum mit Studierenden der Geowissenschaften im Himalaya.

Geländepraktikum mit Studierenden der Geowissenschaften im Himalaya.
Bildquelle: Christian Reinhardt

Die Prozesse rund um das System der Erde sind das Studienobjekt der Geowissenschaften. Wie diese Prozesse sich gegenseitig beeinflussen, welchen Einfluss sie auf Klima und Umwelt haben und welche Rolle der Mensch dabei spielt, wird auf dem GeoCampus Lankwitz der Freien Universität untersucht.

News vom 13.11.2014

Zum Fachbereich Geowissenschaften gehören drei wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen: Das Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften, das Institut für Geographische Wissenschaften und das Institut für Meteorologie.

Mit interdisziplinären Forschungsansätzen werden hier aktuelle Daten überwiegend mit naturwissenschaftlichen, aber auch mit sozialwissenschaftlichen Methoden erfasst und für Umweltprognosen genutzt – und für Wettervorhersagen: Das Institut für Meteorologie vergibt seit 1954 die Namen für Hoch- und Tiefdruckgebiete, die das Wetter in Europa beeinflussen – die Ergebnisse sind fast täglich in den Nachrichten zu hören.

Das Fächerspektrum reicht von der Geochemie, Geophysik, Geodynamik und Paleontologie über die Planetologie, die Anthropogeographie und die Geoinformatik bis hin zur Dynamik der Atmosphäre und den Weltraumwissenschaften.

Der Fachbereich verfügt über zahlreiche Kooperationen mit Einrichtungen in Europa, Südamerika, Zentral- und Ostasien und Nordafrika. Herausragend ist die intensive Vernetzung seiner Arbeitsgruppen mit außeruniversitären Einrichtungen der Region. Dazu gehören etwa das Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam (GFZ), das Alfred-Wegener-Institut für Polarforschung, die Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe (BGR), der Deutsche Wetterdienst (DWD) oder das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

Neben dem Fachbereich Geowissenschaften sind an der Freien Universität elf weitere Fachbereiche und vier Zentralinstitute angesiedelt:

Fachbereiche

Zentralinstitute

10 / 15