Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Healing and Helping

Der Campus Benjamin Franklin, Teil der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, entstand in den 1960er Jahren mithilfe von US-Mitteln als Europas erster großer Krankenhauskomplex.

The Benjamin Franklin Campus, now part of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, was built in the 1960s with the help of funds from the U.S. It was Europe's first major hospital complex.
Image Credit: Stephan Töpper

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin is the most sought after medical school in Germany. Currently more than 7,000 future medical doctors and dentists are being educated there, with roughly 30 percent of them coming from abroad.

News from Jan 21, 2015

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin is the joint medical school of Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. It is one of the leading university hospitals in Europe. Approximately 140,000 inpatients and 600,000 outpatients are treated annually. The physicians working there have a wealth of experience with rare diseases. Complex procedures that are rarely performed in most hospitals belong to the daily routine.

Four Locations in Berlin

Charité has more than 100 clinics and institutes bundled under 17 CharitéCenters. They are spread across four main locations: the Benjamin Franklin Campus (CBF), the Berlin-Buch Campus (CBB), the Charité Mitte Campus (CCM), and the Virchow-Klinikum Campus (CVK).

Model Medical Studies Curriculum

Experimental and clinical research are closely linked to health care. The Charité University Hospital is known worldwide as an excellent educational institution. The Model Medical Studies Curriculum was started in 2010. It is the first medical studies program in Germany to include courses in both basic science and clinical knowledge beginning with the first semester. Bedside teaching also takes place from the first semester. The students are involved in numerous international collaborations at the medical school.

Cutting-edge Research in Interdisciplinary Networks

With five research projects funded through the German Excellence Initiative and nine Collaborative Research Centers funded by the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG), Charité is the leading university hospital in Germany in research. The combination of university medical research and extraordinary health care is particularly advantageous for very seriously ill patients, who benefit from interdisciplinary cooperation among the numerous clinics.

Global Health

In 2009 Charité initiated the World Health Summit, an international expert congress held annually under the patronage of German Chancellor Angela Merkel and the French President. It is an opportunity for leading scientific researchers and political decision makers to develop strategies for solving global health policy challenges.

There are twelve academic departments and four central institutes at Freie Universität:

Academic Departments

Central Institutes

8 / 15

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Helfen und heilen

Der Campus Benjamin Franklin, Teil der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, entstand in den 1960er Jahren mithilfe von US-Mitteln als Europas erster großer Krankenhauskomplex.

Der Campus Benjamin Franklin, Teil der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, entstand in den 1960er Jahren mithilfe von US-Mitteln als Europas erster großer Krankenhauskomplex.
Bildquelle: Stephan Töpper

Die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin ist die gefragteste medizinische Fakultät Deutschlands: Hier studieren mehr als 7.000 zukünftige Medizinerinnen und Mediziner sowie Zahnmedizinerinnen und Zahnmediziner. Rund 30 Prozent von ihnen kommen aus dem Ausland.

News vom 21.01.2015

Die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin ist die gemeinsame medizinische Fakultät der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Sie zählt zu den führenden Universitätskliniken in Europa. Jährlich werden rund 140.000 Patienten stationär und etwa 600.000 Patienten ambulant behandelt. Die Ärztinnen und Ärzte besitzen einen enormen Erfahrungsschatz auch in Bezug auf seltene Krankheiten. Komplizierte Eingriffe, die in den meisten Krankenhäusern nur selten durchgeführt werden, gehören hier zur täglichen Routine.

Vier Standorte in Berlin

Zur Charité zählen mehr als 100 Kliniken und Institute, die in 17 Charité-Centren zusammengefasst sind. Diese sind auf vier Standorte verteilt: dem Campus Benjamin Franklin (CBF), dem Campus Berlin-Buch (CBB), Campus Charité Mitte (CCM), sowie dem Campus Virchow-Klinikum (CVK) .

Modellstudiengang Medizin

Experimentelle und klinische Forschung sind eng mit der Krankenversorgung verzahnt. Das Universitätsklinikum wird weltweit als ausgezeichnete Ausbildungsstätte geschätzt. Mit dem im Herbst 2010 gestarteten Modellstudiengang Medizin wird erstmals in Deutschland für alle Studiengänge die Vermittlung grundlagenwissenschaftlicher und klinischer Kenntnisse von Beginn an verknüpft. Unterricht am Krankenbett findet vom ersten Semester an statt. Die Studierenden sind in die zahlreichen internationalen Kooperationen der Fakultät eingebunden.

Spitzenforschung in interdisziplinären Verbünden

Mit fünf im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative geförderten Forschungsprojekten sowie neun Sonderforschungsbereichen mit Sprecherfunktion ist die Charité das wissenschaftlich stärkste Universitätsklinikum in Deutschland. Durch die Verbindung von universitärer Forschung und exzellenter Krankenversorgung profitieren besonders schwerkranke Patientinnen und Patienten von der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit der zahlreichen Fachkliniken.

Gesundheit global denken

2009 hat die Charité mit dem World Health Summit einen internationalen Expertenkongress initiiert, der jährlich unter der Schirmherrschaft von Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und dem französischen Staatspräsidenten stattfindet. Weltweit renommierte Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft, Forschung und Politik treffen sich hier, um Strategien zur Lösung globaler gesundheitspolitischer Herausforderungen zu entwickeln.

An der Freien Universität sind zwölf Fachbereiche und vier Zentralinstitute angesiedelt:

Fachbereiche

Zentralinstitute

8 / 15