Literary Studies

The Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School  is the only graduate school focusing solely on literary studies that was successful in the Excellence Initiative of the German federal and state governments.
The Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School is the only graduate school focusing exclusively on literary studies that was successful in the Excellence Initiative of the German federal and state governments. Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

The Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School is the only graduate school focusing exclusively on literary studies that was successful in both phases of the national Excellence Initiative of the German federal and state governments.

News from Jul 30, 2014

The Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School supervises theoretically and conceptually outstanding doctoral dissertation projects with a specifically philological focus which apply comparative methods. Its research areas include the relationship between literature and other types of texts; the correlations between literature and other media; as well as the correlations between literature and discourses of knowledge.

The doctoral degree program “Literary Studies” offers intensive and individual supervision of the thesis as well as coursework and provides excellent working conditions, in particular with regard to the Philological Library. Applicants must have a completed degree (M.A. or equivalent) with above-average grades in the humanities, preferably literary studies. To facilitate international exchange, the Graduate School has exchange programs with many prestigious partner universities in Europe, East Asia, and North America.

The Graduate School awards up to ten doctoral scholarships per year. Scholarships are awarded for a maximum duration of three years. 

In addition to the Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School of Literary Studies, there are six other graduate schools at Freie Universität Berlin that are funded through the German Excellence Initiative.

4 of 7
Last Update: Nov 14, 2014

What Distinguishes Us

Stay informed

International Newsletter from Freie Universität Berlin
internationaler_newsletter

The international newsletter in English makes it easy to keep informed about the university, even when you are abroad.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Exzellent belesen

Die Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule ist die einzige rein literaturwissenschaftliche Graduiertenschule, die in der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder erfolgreich war.

Die Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule ist die einzige rein literaturwissenschaftliche Graduiertenschule, die in der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder erfolgreich war.
Bildquelle: Marcus Reichmann.

Die Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule für literaturwissenschaftliche Studien der Freien Universität Berlin ist die einzige rein literaturwissenschaftliche Graduiertenschule, die auch in der zweiten Runde der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder erfolgreich war.

News vom 10.12.2015

Die Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule betreut theoretisch und konzeptionell herausragende Dissertationsprojekte auf dem Gebiet der Literaturwissenschaften. Forschungsfelder sind unter anderem die Beziehungen zwischen literarischen Texten, die Korrelation zwischen Literatur und anderen ästhetischen Medien sowie die Interdependenz von Literatur und Wissensdiskursen.

Das Promotionsstudium „Literaturwissenschaftliche Studien – Literary Studies“ bietet Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden mit einem überdurchschnittlichen Hochschulabschluss in einem literaturwissenschaftlichen Studiengang ein strukturiertes Studien- und Forschungsprogramm mit intensiver individueller Betreuung. Hervorragende Arbeitsbedingungen bieten sich unter anderem in der Philologischen Bibliothek. Um den internationalen Austausch zu gewährleisten, pflegt die Graduiertenschule Austauschprogramme mit zahlreichen renommierten Partneruniversitäten in Europa, Ostasien und Nordamerika.

Die Graduiertenschule gewährt jährlich bis zu zehn Promotionsstipendien für die Laufzeit von maximal drei Jahren.

Die Freie Universität verfügt neben der Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule über sechs weitere, im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder bewilligte Graduate Schools:

1 / 8