Springe direkt zu Inhalt

What Distinguishes Us

Freie Universität Berlin ranks near the top in all of the major German and international university rankings. Factors including considerably enhanced achievements have earned the university a lasting place among the top higher education institutions in the German-speaking countries.

With nine projects approved in the German Excellence Initiative, Freie Universität emerged as the most successful university in the competition during 2006 and 2007. During the second phase, in 2012 funds were committed through 2017 for the university’s future development concept “Veritas – Justitia – Libertas. International Network University” along with three clusters of excellence and seven graduate schools based at Freie Universität Berlin or with participation by Freie Universität.

The World in Concepts

Freie Universität Berlin and the Doha Institute for Graduate Studies have established a new cooperation / First joint workshop was recently held in Qatar

Mar 22, 2018

Networks in Latin America

The Liaison Office in São Paulo aims to support academic collaboration between Freie Universität and the universities and research centers in Brazil and other parts of Latin America.

May 02, 2016

Networks in North America

The New York liaison office supports and fosters Freie Universität Berlin’s close ties to partner institutions in the U.S. and Canada. It promotes Freie Universität Berlin as an outstanding place to study and do research and an institution with a strong international network.

Apr 18, 2016

Spring Campus

The first Spring Campus of the University Alliance for Sustainability on the topic “Connecting Communities for Sustainability: Do Universities Matter?” took place from April 11-15, 2016 at Freie Universität Berlin.

Mar 10, 2016

Networks in Europe

Freie Universität’s Liaison Office in Brussels, the capital of the European Union, brings researchers from the university together with representatives of European institutions. It also advises them about the European framework program for research and innovation, Horizon 2020.

Feb 03, 2016

Literary Studies

The Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School is the only graduate school focusing exclusively on literary studies that was successful in both phases of the national Excellence Initiative of the German federal and state governments.

Dec 10, 2015

Academic Legal Training

The Department of Law at Freie Universität provides an outstanding education, preparing students for careers as judges, attourneys, or other legal professionals. Special focus is placed on the Europeanization of law and international networking.

Dec 09, 2015

Health and Aging

The DynAge Focus Area aims to gain fundamental insights into the origin and development of acute and chronic diseases across the lifespan. Age-related disease processes are studied from an interdisciplinary and comparative perspective.

Sep 28, 2015

From Philosophy to Film

The Department of Philosophy and Humanities at Freie Universität focuses on the languages and literatures of Europe, the philosophy and culture of societies from antiquity to the present, and the academic study of theater, dance, music, and media.

Sep 17, 2015

Veterinary Education

The Department of Veterinary Medicine at Freie Universität Berlin is one of five institutions in Germany offering training for veterinarians. It is an internationally renowned center for veterinary services as well as for veterinary research.

Aug 20, 2015

Understanding Mechanisms

Gaining a better understanding of the mechanisms underlying neurological and psychiatric disorders is the goal of the scientists involved in the NeuroCure Cluster of Excellence at Charité, the medical school operated jointly by Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität.

Aug 04, 2015

Human Rights

"Human Rights under Pressure" (HR-UP) is an international doctoral and postdoctoral study and research training group under the joint auspices of Freie Universität Berlin and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Jul 16, 2015

Networks in the Middle East

The liaison office in Cairo aims to increase academic cooperation between Freie Universität and universities and research centers in Egypt and the Middle East. It highlights the university’s outstanding research in many fields including Middle Eastern Studies.

Jul 01, 2015

Technology of the Future

Within the NanoScale Focus Area researchers from the disciplines of biology, chemistry, pharmacy, and physics work together to investigate the special properties of nanostructures and how such structures can be used.

Jun 22, 2015

Economics and Scholarship

The School of Business and Economics at Freie Universität combines business administration, economics, and information systems. It offers students a wide range of subjects and combinations, and its research meets top international standards.

Jun 22, 2015

Strategies against Cancer

The study of cancer and the development of new therapies is a prominent research focus of the Berlin School of Integrative Oncology at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the joint medical school of Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Jun 17, 2015

Teaching about North America

The John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies offers students an excellent academic education with a specialization on the United States and Canada. Courses and programs are offered in six disciplines: culture, literature, history, politics, sociology, and economics.

May 11, 2015

Mathematics in Berlin

Berlin Mathematical School (BMS) is a joint graduate school of Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and Technische Universität Berlin. Its doctoral program attracts outstanding graduate students from around the world.

Apr 28, 2015

Teaching about Latin America

The Institute for Latin American Studies at Freie Universität is the largest of its kind in Germany, and it is also one of the largest such institutes in Europe. It has a reputation for combining specialized disciplines with regional studies.

Apr 13, 2015

Cooperation with Israel

In teaching, research, and professional development, Freie Universität works closely with universities in Israel, especially with the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. The cooperation covers all the disciplines offered at Freie Universität.

Apr 12, 2015

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Was uns auszeichnet

In allen maßgeblichen deutschen und internationalen Hochschul-Vergleichen erzielt die Freie Universität Berlin hervorragende Ergebnisse. Nicht zuletzt auf Grund von erheblichen Leistungssteigerungen unterstreicht sie damit nachhaltig ihre Zugehörigkeit zur Spitzengruppe der Universitäten im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Die Freie Universität Berlin ist erfolgreich aus dem Exzellenzwettbewerb des Bundes und der Länder hervorgegangen und war mit insgesamt neun geförderten Projekten die erfolgreichste Universität Deutschlands in den Auswahlrunden 2006 und 2007. 2012 hat die Freie Universität Berlin erneut den Exzellenzstatus errungen. Bis 2017 bewilligt wurden Mittel für das Zukunftskonzept „Veritas – Iustitia – Libertas. Internationale Netzwerkuniversität“ sowie drei Exzellenzcluster und sieben Graduiertenschulen in Sprecherschaft oder mit Beteiligung der Freien Universität Berlin.

Netzwerke in Lateinamerika

Das Verbindungsbüro in São Paulo stärkt die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Freien Universität und den Universitäten wie auch Forschungszentren in Brasilien und Lateinamerika.

02.05.2016

Spring Campus

Der erste Spring Campus der University Alliance for Sustainability zum Thema “Connecting Communities for Sustainability: Do Universities Matter?” hat vom 11.-15. April 2016 an der Freien Universität Berlin stattgefunden.

10.03.2016

Netzwerke in Europa

Das Verbindungsbüro in Brüssel stärkt den Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft und Politik: In der „Europa-Hauptstadt“ bringt es Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Freien Universität mit Vertretern europäischer Institutionen zusammen. Zudem bietet es Beratung zum europäischen Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation, Horizont 2020.

03.02.2016

Exzellent belesen

Die Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule für literaturwissenschaftliche Studien der Freien Universität Berlin ist die einzige rein literaturwissenschaftliche Graduiertenschule, die auch in der zweiten Runde der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder erfolgreich war.

10.12.2015

Recht schaffen

Am Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft werden Studierende für das Richteramt, die Rechtsanwaltschaft sowie für alle anderen juristischen Berufe ausgebildet. Zu den zentralen Schwerpunkten des Fachbereichs zählen die Europäisierung und internationale Vernetzung des Rechts.

09.12.2015

Gesund durchs Leben

Ziel der Focus Area DynAge ist es, grundlegende Erkenntnisse über die Entstehung und Entwicklung von akuten und chronischen Krankheiten über die Lebensspanne zu gewinnen. Hierfür werden altersabhängige Erkrankungsprozesse interdisziplinär und vergleichend untersucht.

28.09.2015

Von Philosophie bis Film

Sprachen und Literaturen Europas, Philosophie und Kultur der Gesellschaften von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart stehen im Mittelpunkt des Fachbereichs Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften – ebenso die wissenschaftliche Betrachtung von Theater, Tanz, Musik und Medien.

17.09.2015

Tierisch gutes Studium

Der Fachbereich Veterinärmedizin der Freien Universität ist eine der fünf Ausbildungsstätten für Tierärztinnen und Tierärzte in Deutschland und gilt als international renommiertes Zentrum für tierärztliche Dienstleistungen wie für veterinärmedizinische Forschung.

20.08.2015

Mechanismen ergründen

Welche Mechanismen liegen neurologischen und psychiatrischen Erkrankungen zugrunde? Dies wird im Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, dem gemeinsamen medizinischen Fakultät von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität, erforscht.

04.08.2015

Menschenrechte

Das internationale Graduiertenkolleg „Human Rights under Pressure – Ethics, Law and Politics“ (HR-UP) ist ein Kooperationsprojekt der Freien Universität Berlin mit der Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

16.07.2015

Netzwerke im Nahen Osten

Das Verbindungsbüro in Kairo stärkt Austausch und Kooperation zwischen der Freien Universität und den Universitäten sowie Forschungszentren in Ägypten und der Region. Es stellt die exzellenten Beiträge der Freien Universität heraus, etwa in der Nahost-Forschung.

01.07.2015

Technologie der Zukunft

In der Focus Area NanoScale untersuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Biologie, Chemie, Pharmazie und Physik gemeinsam die besonderen Eigenschaften von Nanostrukturen und wie diese genutzt werden können.

22.06.2015

Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft

Der Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaft vereint Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Wirtschaftsinformatik. Er bietet Studierenden ein breites Angebot an Themen sowie Forschung auf internationalem Spitzenniveau.

22.06.2015

Strategien gegen Krebs

Die Erforschung von Krebserkrankungen und die Entwicklung neuer Therapieformen stehen im Zentrum der Berliner Graduiertenschule für Integrative Onkologie der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, der gemeinsamen medizinischen Fakultät von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität.

17.06.2015

Lehre zu Nordamerika

Das John-F.-Kennedy-Institut bietet Studierenden eine erstklassige akademische Ausbildung mit Spezialisierung auf die USA und Kanada. Kurse und Programme werden in sechs Disziplinen angeboten: Kultur, Literatur, Geschichte, Politik, Soziologie und Wirtschaft.

11.05.2015

Mit Berlin rechnen

An der Berlin Mathematical School (BMS), der gemeinsamen Graduiertenschule der Freien Universität, der Humboldt-Universität und der Technischen Universität, promovieren exzellente Nachwuchswissenschaftler aus aller Welt.

28.04.2015

Kooperationen mit Israel

In Lehre, Forschung und Nachwuchsförderung pflegt die Freie Universität enge Kooperationen mit Hochschulen in Israel, besonders mit der Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Diese umfassen alle Disziplinen und reichen vom Studierendenaustausch bis zu Forschungsnetzwerken.

13.04.2015

Lehre zu Lateinamerika

Das Lateinamerika-Institut der Freien Universität ist das größte Institut für Lateinamerikaforschung in Deutschland. Es gehört europaweit zu den führenden Institutionen seiner Art und steht für die Verbindung von Fachdisziplinen und Regionalwissenschaften.

13.04.2015

Inkubator für neue Ideen

Das Spektrum der geisteswissenschaftlichen Forschung an der Freien Universität ist bundesweit einzigartig. Das Dahlem Humanities Center bildet für die zahlreichen Disziplinen einen Rahmen, schafft interdisziplinäre Netzwerke und fördert die Entstehung neuer Forschungsinitiativen.

13.04.2015

Netzwerke in Russland

Das Verbindungsbüro in Moskau unterstützt den Austausch und die Entwicklung von Kooperationen mit Hochschulen in Russland. Es wirbt wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs und informiert über Fördermöglichkeiten in Deutschland und Europa.

31.03.2015