Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Research

Research at Freie Universität Berlin is characterized by disciplinary and transdisciplinary excellence and the diversity of its academic networks – both internationally and in the Berlin-Brandenburg science hub. The strategic approach to research at Freie Universität Berlin, which is reinforced by the Excellence Initiative, focuses on the flexibility of new as well as established structures.

Freie Universität Berlin is strong in research in the natural sciences as well as in the humanities and social sciences.

Freie Universität Berlin is strong in research in the natural sciences as well as in the humanities and social sciences.
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

Since 2006, one of the special features of research at Freie Universität Berlin is the university’s targeted formation of research alliances called Focus Areas. The Focus Areas form academic and scientific networks and working platforms for interdisciplinary and interinstitutional collaborative research at Freie Universität. They are platforms for discussing innovative research topics, and for the design and development of new projects from proposal to maturity. This includes DFG-funded Collaborative Research Centers, the DFG excellence grants, and European projects.

The new Clusters of Excellence “Temporal Communities: Doing Literature in a Global Perspective” and “Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS)” have grown out of the Focus Areas “Dahlem Humanities Center” and the “Center for Area Studies”.
For more information about the new Clusters of Excellence, please see the Excellence Strategy website.

Within Clusters of Excellence that emerged from the German government's Excellence Initiative, particularly strong fields of research at Freie Universität – for example in ancient studies – were further expanded. Freie Universität was also able to contribute its special expertise to joint clusters such as NeuroCure (based at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the medical school operated jointly by Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität) or cooperation projects such as UniCat (Technische Universität Berlin).

Berlin University Alliance

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Forschung

Die Forschung der Freien Universität Berlin zeichnet sich durch disziplinäre und transdisziplinäre Exzellenz sowie durch die Vielfalt ihrer akademischen Netzwerke aus – sowohl weltweit als auch in der Wissenschaftsregion Berlin-Brandenburg. Kern des Zukunftskonzeptes ist es, die vielfältigen Forschungsaktivitäten an der Freien Universität strategisch zu koordinieren und die regionale, nationale und internationale Forschungsvernetzung weiter auszubauen.

Die Freie Universität Berlin ist sowohl in den Naturwissenschaften als auch in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften forschungsstark.

Die Freie Universität Berlin ist sowohl in den Naturwissenschaften als auch in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften forschungsstark.
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher

Seit 2006 bilden die sogenannten Focus Areas als fachbereichsübergreifende Forschungsallianzen zentrale Elemente der Forschungsstrategie der Freien Universität. Diese interdisziplinären Forschungsnetzwerke dienen als flexible Plattformen, um über Fächer- und Institutionsgrenzen hinaus Forschungsbedarfe der Zukunft zu identifizieren und gemeinsam an der Lösung wissenschaftlicher Fragen zu arbeiten. Auf diese Weise können innovative Forschungsthemen diskutiert, neue Projekte konzipiert und bis zur Antragsreife weiterentwickelt werden – von Sonderforschungsbereichen über die DFG-Exzellenzförderung bis hin zu europäischen Verbundprojekten.

Die neuen Exzellenzcluster der Exzellenzstrategie “Temporal Communities. Literatur als Praxis in globaler Perspektive“ und  „Auseinandersetzungen um das liberale Skript (SCRIPTS)“ sind aus den Focus Areas „Dahlem Humanities Center“ und „Center for Area Studies“ hervorgegangen.
Weitere Informationen zu den neu eingeworbenen Exzellenzclustern finden Sie auf den Seiten der Exzellenzstrategie.

Mit den Exzellenzclustern aus der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder konnten besonders starke Forschungsfelder der Freien Universität – etwa in den Altertumswissenschaften – weiter ausgebaut werden und die Freie Universität konnte ihre besondere Expertise in gemeinsame Cluster wie NeuroCure (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, der gemeinsame medizinische Fachbereich von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität) oder Kooperationsprojekte wie UniCat (Technische Universität Berlin) einbringen.

Berliner Universitäten im Verbund