Springe direkt zu Inhalt

The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilizations

Two universities, four non-university research institutions in Berlin, one project: The excellence cluster entitled “Topoi – The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilizations” pools the strengths present in Berlin in the study of the ancient world.

Source: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Funding period: 2007–2017

The researchers within the cluster are studying the systematic connection between space and knowledge structures in the cultures of the Near East and Mediterranean, from early civilizations to late antiquity and the early medieval period. The topics addressed range from the reconstruction of ancient landscapes through archaeology and the Earth sciences to the political and social organization of spaces within a historical perspective and describing them with images and text and beyond, to the scientific construction of spaces within ancient philosophy and mathematics.

The proposal, which was submitted jointly by Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, is the product of cooperation among all of the institutions in Berlin that study antiquity. There is no other city in Germany where the cultures of the ancient world are as big a presence as they are in Berlin. The Museum Island, in 1999 declared by UNESCO as a World Heritage site and part of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation (SPK), is home to the Pergamon Altar and the Babylonian Ishtar Gate with its reconstructed Processional Way, along with a number of other celebrated monuments. In the Pergamon Museum on Museum Island, the Topoi Center of Excellence presented its work to the interested public. The exhibition “Beyond the Horizon” (June 22 to September 30, 2012) gave insights into the research approaches and topics investigated during the first funding phase. The exhibition attracted more than 100,000 visitors.

Berlin is also home to the headquarters of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI), which engages in research and excavations and provides funding for archaeological work in the countries of the ancient world. Scholars at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) edit ancient inscriptions and texts and interpret them from various perspectives. The Max Planck Institute for the History of Science studies knowledge systems used in the ancient world.

In addition, Berlin is also a hub of university teaching and research on the cultures of the ancient world. Together, Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität offer an unmatched breadth of disciplines having to do with the cultures of the ancient world, including Egyptology, ancient Near Eastern studies, various fields of archaeology, classical languages and literatures, history, and philosophy. These areas of focus and strength in research activities and the capital invested toward research have now been pooled within this excellence cluster.

This successful model of interdisciplinary collaboration between institutions was placed in a long-term structure, when the Berliner Antike-Kolleg (BAK) was opened in May 2011. The Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies at BAK offers interdisciplinary doctoral programs along the lines of the work done by researchers connected with Topoi.


Spokespersons: Prof. Dr. Gerd Graßhoff (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Prof. Dr. Michael Meyer (Freie Universität Berlin)

Contact: Dr. Hauke Ziemssen, Tel. +49 30 838-52249

For further information, please see the TOPOI website.

Berlin University Alliance

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Topoi

05.02.2009

Zwei Universitäten, vier außeruniversitäre Berliner Forschungseinrichtungen, ein Projekt: Der Exzellenzcluster Topoi – The Formation and Transformation of Space and Knowledge in Ancient Civilizations bündelt die Berliner Stärken in der Erforschung der Antike.

Laufzeit: 2007 - 2017

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Clusters erforschen den systematischen Zusammenhang von Räumen und Wissensordnungen in den Kulturen des Vorderen Orients und des Mittelmeerraumes von den frühen Hochkulturen bis zur Spätantike und zum Frühmittelalter. Die Spannweite der Fragestellungen reicht von der Erforschung und Rekonstruktion antiker Landschaften durch die Archäologie und Geowissenschaften über die politisch-soziale Organisation von Räumen sowie ihre Wiedergabe in Bildern und Texten bis hin zu den wissenschaftlichen Konstruktionen von Räumen in der antiken Philosophie und Mathematik.

Der gemeinsam von der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin getragene Forschungsverbund ist das Ergebnis der Kooperation aller in Berlin mit der Erforschung des Altertums befassten Institutionen: An keinem anderen Ort in Deutschland sind die Kulturen der Alten Welt so präsent wie in Berlin. Auf der 1999 von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärten Museumsinsel – Teil der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz (SPK) –  stehen der Pergamonaltar und das Ischtartor mit seiner Prozessionsstraße aus Babylon neben zahlreichen anderen berühmten Denkmälern. Hier präsentierte sich Topoi der interessierten Öffentlichkeit: Mit der Ausstellung „Jenseits des Horizonts“ (22. Juni bis 30. September 2012) im Pergamonmuseum gab der Exzellenzcluster zum Abschluss der ersten Förderphase Einblicke in seine Forschungsansätze und Themen. Die Ausstellung zählte über 100.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher.

Berlin ist auch der Sitz der Zentrale des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts (DAI), das Forschungen und Grabungen in den Ländern der Alten Welt unternimmt und fördert. In der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW) werden antike Inschriften und Texte ediert und unter verschiedenen Gesichtspunkten interpretiert. Das Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte erforscht Wissenssysteme der Antike. Darüber hinaus ist Berlin für die Kulturen der Alten Welt ein zentraler Ort universitärer Lehre und Forschung:

An der Freien Universität und der Humboldt-Universität sind in einzigartiger Vielfalt Fächer vertreten, die sich mit den Kulturen der Antike beschäftigen, etwa Ägyptologie, Altorientalistik, verschiedene Archäologien, Klassische Philologie, Geschichte und Philosophie. Diese enorme Forschungsstärke und das einzigartige Forschungskapital sind in dem Exzellenzcluster gebündelt.

Dieses Erfolgsmodell einer fächerübergreifenden Kooperation zwischen den Institutionen wurde durch das im Mai 2011 eröffnete Berliner Antike Kolleg (BAK) in eine langfristige Struktur überführt. Mit der Berlin Graduate School of Ancient Studies des BAK verfügt Topoi über eine Graduiertenschule, deren interdisziplinär ausgerichtete Programme gleichzeitig Akzente für die weitere Arbeit des Exzellenzclusters setzen.

 


Sprecher:

Prof. Dr. Gerd Graßhoff (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Prof. Dr. Michael Meyer (Freie Universität Berlin)

Kontakt: Dr. Hauke Ziemssen , Tel. +49 30 838-52249

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website von Topoi.