Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Towards a better outcome of neurological disorders

How can subsequent damage due to stroke be minimized or prevented? What causes the malformations in the brain that spark epileptic seizures and other events? What are the factors that trigger multiple sclerosis, and how could it be stopped? What kinds of interventions are possible?

Research at the NeuroCure Cluster of Excellence is devoted to the overriding issue of how the lives of patients with neurological and psychiatric disorders could be improved. Radical changes to the brain caused by disease can cause a patient's social situation to deteriorate or lead to disability and unemployment. At present, there are few treatment options for patients with these diseases.

Source: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Funding period: 2007–2017

Within the NeuroCure Cluster of Excellence, scientists and researchers involved in 50 research groups at Charité (the medical school jointly operated by Freie Universität and Humboldt-Universität), the Max Delbrück Center (MDC), the German Rheumatism Research Centre (DRFZ), and the Leibniz Institute for Molecular Pharmacology (FMP) are working together to improve the quality of life for patients with neurological disease.

The interdisciplinary project, which is based at Charité, focuses on seven research areas, with one researcher who works on fundamental research and one practicing physician sharing responsibility for each area. The participants hope that this approach will make it possible to use research findings more quickly in the development of new therapies.

At present, the only treatment for neurological diseases is aimed at alleviating their effects – they are not generally curable. Strokes are widespread, affecting one in four men and one in five women over the age of 85 in Germany. If researchers are able to achieve better insight into the brain’s protective mechanisms and utilize the underlying cascades of signals therapeutically, stroke patients may benefit. The only treatment currently available for the 700,000 epilepsy sufferers in Germany is symptomatic therapy. Achieving a better understanding of the underlying mechanisms may help make epilepsy more treatable.

With 20 new professorships, NeuroCure is contributing to the development and strengthening of the region in and around Berlin as a location for neuroscience research. The main focus is on close interdisciplinary collaboration between research and clinical practice and the enhancement of cooperation among neuroscientists working at different institutions in the area. Emphasis is placed on training young researchers and, in particular, women scientists. A new state-of-the-art research building, Charité Crossover, was opened in October 2012, making it even easier to work more intensively on the achievement of the objectives.


Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Dietmar Schmitz

Contact: Dr. Claudia Mahlke, Tel. +49 30 450-539124

For further information, please see the Neurocure website.

Berlin University Alliance

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

NeuroCure

Wie lassen sich Folgeschäden eines Schlaganfalls mindern oder verhindern? Wie kommt es zu Fehlbildungen des Gehirns, die beispielsweise epileptische Anfälle verursachen? Was sind die Auslöser für Multiple Sklerose und wie könnte sie gestoppt werden?

Im Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure steht die Frage im Mittelpunkt, wie die Lebenssituation von Patienten mit neurologischen und psychiatrischen Erkrankungen verbessert werden könnte. Gravierende Veränderungen des Gehirns durch Erkrankungen können unter anderem zu einer verschlechterten sozialen Situation, zu körperlicher Behinderung und Erwerbsunfähigkeit führen. Derzeit kann Patienten jedoch kaum geholfen werden.

Quelle: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Laufzeit: 2007-2017

An einer Verbesserung dieser Situation arbeiten rund 50 Arbeitsgruppen der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin – der gemeinsamen medizinischen Fakultät von Humboldt-Universität und Freier Universität –, des Max-Delbrück-Centrums für Molekulare Medizin (MDC), des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin (DRFZ) und des Leibniz-Instituts für Molekulare Pharmakologie (FMP).

Im Zentrum des an der Charité angesiedelten interdisziplinären Exzellenzclusters stehen sieben Forschungsgebiete, wobei jeweils eine Grundlagenforscherin / ein Grundlagenforscher und eine Klinikerin / ein Kliniker gemeinsam für einen Bereich verantwortlich sind. Auf diese Weise können Forschungsergebnisse schneller für die Entwicklung neuer Therapien genutzt werden. Derzeit können neurologische und psychiatrische Krankheiten allenfalls in ihren Auswirkungen gelindert werden – in der Regel sind sie aber nicht heilbar.

Die Volkskrankheit Schlaganfall trifft jeden vierten Mann und jede fünfte Frau über 85 in Deutschland. Wenn es gelingt, Schutzmechanismen im Gehirn besser zu verstehen und die zugrunde liegenden Signalkaskaden therapeutisch zu nutzen, könnten Schlaganfallpatienten davon profitieren. Auch in der Behandlung von Epilepsie sind zurzeit nur symptomatische Therapien für die bundesweit 700.000 Epilepsie-Patienten möglich. Ein besseres Verständnis der ursächlichen Mechanismen könnte dazu beitragen, dass Epilepsie künftig erfolgreicher therapierbar wird.

Mit mehr als 20 neuen Berufungen verfolgt NeuroCure den Ausbau des neurowissenschaftlichen Standorts Berlin. Im Fokus stehen hierbei die enge, interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit von Forschung und Klinik sowie die Intensivierung von Kooperationen zwischen Neurowissenschaftlerinnen und Neurowissenschaftlern unterschiedlicher Institutionen vor Ort. Die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses sowie die Frauenförderung spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle. Im hochmodernen Forschungsneubau „CharitéCrossOver“, der im Oktober 2012 auf dem Campus Charité-Mitte eröffnet wurde, wird jetzt noch intensiver an der Erreichung der Ziele gearbeitet.

 


Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Dietmar Schmitz

Kontakt: Dr. Claudia Mahlke, Tel. +49 30 450-539124

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website von NeuroCure.