Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Institutional Strategy

Strong Networks in Research and Teaching

With its numerous diverse networks, Freie Universität is a modern, future-oriented university setting directions on the national and international levels. The university’s institutional strategy, rewarded by the German Excellence Initiative in 2007 and 2012, builds on the strength of these networks, a strength which is enhanced through the interaction of first-class partners. Intensive networking in research and teaching – on the regional, national, and international levels – has been fundamental to Freie Universität Berlin from the start.
In the context of the Excellence Initiative, Freie Universität is able to expand these networks further and to offer researchers comprehensive support: various proven and innovative ways and means of supporting young researchers, and promoting internationalization and research help to make the University even more effective as a location for research and as a network partner. Thus, in the second program phase Freie Universität is pursuing the work it successfully began during the first phase.

Veritas – Iustitia – Libertas

Since its founding in 1948, the academic ethos of the Freie Universität has been determined by these three values, united in the seal of the University: truth, justice and freedom. Within the framework of the network concept, these core values are demonstrating their effectiveness as guiding principles for the academic challenges of the 21st century. They are an expression of a liberal conception of the university, which views the intellectual claim to truth, social commitment and intellectual autonomy as the basis of modern, top-level research.

Cooperation with regional and international research institutions is also governed by these key concepts. Gender equality at all levels also plays an important role in the University’s conception of itself. The successful practice of equal opportunity, diversity management and internationally-oriented gender studies, which are connected in the GenderNet Freie Universität (Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum), constitute an additional feature of university excellence.

In keeping with its core values, the Freie Universität relies on flexible, open-ended networks in which researchers conduct their research collegially and responsibly. Such partnerships are not created on the drawing board, but grow with the research interests and activities of researchers. They range from close cooperations with non-university partners in the region of Berlin-Brandenburg to research collaborations with partners worldwide.

As these activities move forward, junior researchers derive particular benefits from these connections. A career path model gives early-career researchers optimum support through the various phases of their educations and working lives.

Networking Worldwide

International support was instrumental in the founding of Freie Universität Berlin, in 1948, and international impetus has helped to shape the research and teaching activities at the university ever since. Worldwide and regional networks alike give scholars, scientists, and researchers opportunities to engage in intellectual dialogue and advance their research, with a focus on interdisciplinary work and the quest for solutions to global challenges. At first a necessity due to West Berlin’s geographic isolation, internationalization soon became a successful and lasting strategy at Freie Universität.
As part of its institutional strategy, “The International Network University,” Freie Universität has made further strides in terms of internationalization. The university’s internationalization strategy has several key goals:

  • to strengthen the research performed at the university through international cooperative initiatives and complementary projects
  • to support the regional and international focus in the humanities and social sciences at Freie Universität, especially in the field of area studies, which encompasses the study of areas such as North and Latin America, East Asia, the Middle East, Eastern Europe, and the Caspian Sea region
  • to recruit outstanding scholars, scientists, researchers, and doctoral candidates from abroad; and
  • to prepare students at Freie Universität for a globalized world and instill an international and intercultural perspective through activities such as student exchanges, internships in other countries, and studies undertaken on the international campus in Berlin’s Dahlem district.

Regional Network

Berlin is a leading location for research. With four universities, four art academies, seven universities of applied sciences, 23 private colleges, and more than 70 independent research institutions, it has the largest concentration of research in Germany. Research-oriented institutions such as the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation, whose museums are known all over the world, sociopolitical organizations, and innovative companies all help create a unique environment for fundamental research and applied sciences.

The research institutions in the local area include eight Max Planck Institutes, seven Helmholtz Centers, more than 20 Leibniz Institutes, numerous Fraunhofer Institutes and research institutions operated by the German federal government, alongside well-known institutions like the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP).

Freie Universität Berlin is thus part of one of the most productive research environments in Europe. As part of the excellence strategy, the university is forging ahead with further networking in the region. Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, the joint medical school Charité – Universitätsmedizin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Freie Universität joined forces to submit a joint application in the nationwide competition with the aim of further intensifying their work together.

Freie Universität is located on the Berlin-Dahlem Research Campus in the southwestern part of the city. The Berlin-Dahlem Research Campus is characterized by a high density of universities and independent research institutions such as institutes of the Max Planck Society and the Helmholtz Association.

Almost 9,000 people are employed there. It is the fourth largest research hub in Germany and is unique in many ways. Where once Albert Einstein and Otto Hahn conducted their research, today scientists and scholars at different institutions and disciplines work together, addressing issues of importance for the future. The multitude of opportunities for research contacts across institutions, and the numerous parks and green areas provide an ideal environment for concentrated academic work.

Within the Excellence Initiative, Freie Universität has further expanded its regional research network. Along with its work within clusters of excellence and graduate schools, it has also teamed up with ten non-university partners – five Max Planck Institutes (MPI WG, MPI BF, FHI, MPI MG, MPI IB), two Helmholtz Centers (HZB, HZG), the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB), the Zuse Institute Berlin, and the Robert Koch Institute – as part of the career path model to support promising scholars, scientists, and researchers at the start of their academic careers through various measures, including joint junior research groups and junior professorships and Junges Wissenschaftsforum Dahlem, a platform for the development and exchange of ideas.

With the strength of its research activities, Freie Universität Berlin makes a significant contribution to the appeal of the Berlin-Brandenburg area and the local research landscape. At the same time, the university’s cooperation with strong regional partners unlocks opportunities for innovative research at Freie Universität by bringing together complementary areas of strength in research, through jointly operated labs and shared use of archives and infrastructure, and by creating an attractive research environment for outstanding young researchers.

Berlin University Alliance

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Zukunftskonzept

Starke Netzwerke in Forschung und Lehre

Mit ihren vielfältigen Netzwerken setzt die Freie Universität als moderne, zukunftsorientierte Universität auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene Akzente. Ihr 2007 und 2012 in der Exzellenzinitiative ausgezeichnetes Zukunftskonzept baut auf die Stärke dieser Verbindungen, die durch die Interaktion erstklassiger Partner entfaltet wird. Die intensive Vernetzung in Forschung und Lehre – auf regionaler, nationaler wie internationaler Ebene – war für die Freie Universität Berlin von Anfang an grundlegend.

Im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative kann die Freie Universität diese Netzwerke weiter ausbauen und den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern umfassende Unterstützung bieten: Verschiedene bewährte wie innovative Mittel und Wege der Nachwuchsförderung, der Internationalisierung und der Forschungsförderung tragen dazu bei, die Universität als Wissenschaftsstandort und als Netzwerkpartnerin noch leistungsstärker zu machen. Damit führt die Freie Universität in der zweiten Programmphase fort, was sie in der ersten Programmphase erfolgreich begonnen hat.


Veritas – Iustitia – Libertas

Seit ihrer Gründung 1948 wird das wissenschaftliche Ethos der Freien Universität von diesen drei im Siegel der Hochschule vereinten Werten bestimmt: Wahrheit, Gerechtigkeit und Freiheit. Diese Grundwerte entfalten im Rahmen des Netzwerkkonzepts ihre Wirkung als Leitbegriffe für die wissenschaftlichen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Sie sind Ausdruck einer freiheitlichen Universitätsidee, die intellektuellen Wahrheitsanspruch, soziale Selbstverpflichtung und geistige Autonomie als Basis moderner Spitzenforschung versteht.

Auch das Zusammenwirken mit regionalen und internationalen Wissenschaftseinrichtungen wird von diesen Leitbegriffen geprägt. Im Selbstverständnis der Freien Universität spielt dabei auch die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter auf allen Ebenen eine wichtige Rolle. Die erfolgreich praktizierte Chancengleichheit, Diversity Management und eine international aufgestellte Geschlechterforschung, die im Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum für Geschlechterforschung gebündelt wird, bilden ein weiteres Merkmal universitärer Exzellenz.

Im Einklang mit ihren Grundwerten setzt die Freie Universität auf ergänzungsfähige Netzwerke, in denen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verantwortlich und gemeinsam Forschung betreiben. Solche Partnerschaften entstehen nicht am Reißbrett, sondern wachsen mit den Forschungsinteressen und -aktivitäten der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Sie reichen von engen Kooperationen mit außeruniversitären Partnern der Wissenschaftsregion Berlin-Brandenburg bis hin zu Forschungsverbünden mit Partnern weltweit.

Dabei profitieren Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler von den Verbindungen in besonderer Weise: Im Rahmen eines Karrierewege-Modells werden junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in den verschiedenen Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsphasen optimal gefördert.

Vernetzung weltweit

Die Gründung der Freien Universität Berlin im Jahr 1948 wurde maßgeblich durch internationale Unterstützung ermöglicht. Seither prägen internationale Impulse die Forschung und Lehre an der Hochschule. Durch weltweite wie regionale Netzwerke können sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler intellektuell austauschen und ihre Forschung voranbringen – wobei interdisziplinäres Arbeiten und die Suche nach Lösungen für globale Herausforderungen im Mittelpunkt stehen.
Zunächst eine Notwendigkeit wegen der Insellage West-Berlins, wurde Internationalisierung an der Freien Universität rasch zur erfolgreichen und dauerhaften Strategie.
Im Rahmen des Zukunftskonzepts „Die Internationale Netzwerkuniversität“ hat die Freie Universität die Internationalisierung weiter vorangetrieben. Zentrale Ziele der Internationalisierungsstrategie der Universität sind:
• die Stärkung der universitären Forschung durch internationale Kooperationen und komplementäre Projekte,
• die Unterstützung des regionalen und internationalen Fokus der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Freien Universität – insbesondere auf dem Gebiet der Regionalstudien, etwa zu Nord- und Lateinamerika, Ostasien, dem Mittleren Osten, Osteuropa und dem kaspischen Raum,
• die Anwerbung herausragender Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus dem Ausland,
• die Vorbereitung der Studierenden der Freien Universität auf eine globalisierte Welt und die Vermittlung einer internationalen und interkulturellen Perspektive, zum Beispiel durch einen Studienaustausch, Praktika im Ausland und das Studium auf dem internationalen Campus in Berlin-Dahlem.

Regionales Netzwerk

Berlin ist führend in der Wissenschaft: Mit mehr als 40 Hochschulen – darunter vier Universitäten, drei Kunsthochschulen, fünf Fachhochschulen– und mehr als 70 außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen ist die Bundeshauptstadt die größte deutsche Wissenschaftsregion. Forschungsorientierte Einrichtungen wie die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz mit ihren weltweit bekannten Museen, sozialpolitische Organisationen und innovative Firmen tragen zu einem einzigartigen Umfeld für Grundlagenforschung und angewandte Wissenschaften bei.
Unter den regionalen Forschungseinrichtungen befinden sich acht  Max-Planck-Institute, sieben Helmholtz-Zentren, mehr als 20 Leibniz-Institute, zahlreiche Fraunhofer-Institute und Forschungseinrichtungen der Bundesregierung sowie bekannte Institutionen wie die Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW) oder die Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP).
Die Freie Universität Berlin ist so Teil einer der produktivsten Forschungslandschaften Europas. Im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie wird die Vernetzung in der Region noch weiter vorangetrieben: gemeinsam mit der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Charité – Universitätsmedizin als gemeinsamen medizinischem Fachbereich sowie der Technischen Universität Berlin stellt die Freie Universität in diesem bundesweiten Wettbewerb einen Verbundantrag, um so die Zusammenarbeit der Einrichtungen weiter zu intensivieren.

Beheimatet ist die Universität im Zentrum des Forschungscampus Berlin-Dahlem im Südwesten der Stadt, der sich durch eine hohe Dichte an universitären und außeruniversitären Einrichtungen auszeichnet.
Fast 9.000 Menschen arbeiten hier in enger Nachbarschaft an Projekten der Spitzenforschung. Der Forschungscampus Berlin-Dahlem ist der viertgrößte Forschungsstandort Deutschlands – und in vielerlei Hinsicht einzigartig: Hier, wo einst Albert Einstein und Otto Hahn forschten, arbeiten heute Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unterschiedlicher Einrichtungen und Disziplinen gemeinsam an Antworten auf Zukunftsfragen. Der "Campus der kurzen Wege" erleichtert vielfältige Forschungskontakte und bietet durch seine zahlreichen Grünflächen und Parks die ideale Umgebung für konzentriertes wissenschaftliches Arbeiten.  
In der Exzellenzinitiative hat die Freie Universität ihr regionales Forschungsnetzwerk weiter ausgebaut. Neben der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb von Exzellenzclustern und Graduiertenschulen hat sie im Rahmen des Karrierewege-Modells gemeinsam mit zehn außeruniversitären Partnern – fünf Max-Planck-Instituten (MPI WG, MPI BF, FHI, MPI MG, MPI IB), zwei Helmholtz-Zentren (HZB, HZG), dem Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung, dem Zuse Institute Berlin und dem Robert Koch-Institut – etwa durch gemeinsame Nachwuchsgruppen und Juniorprofessuren oder das Junge Wissenschaftsforum Dahlem vielversprechende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler am Anfang ihrer akademischen Laufbahn unterstützt.

Mit ihrer Forschungsstärke leistet die Freie Universität einen erheblichen Beitrag zur Attraktivität und der Forschungslandschaft Berlin-Brandenburg. Gleichzeitig ermöglicht die Kooperation mit starken regionalen Partnern innovative Forschung an der Freien Universität: durch die Verbindung sich ergänzender Forschungskompetenzen, gemeinsam betriebene Labore, eine gemeinsame Archiv- und Infrastrukturnutzung und durch die Schaffung eines attraktiven Forschungsumfeldes für hervorragende junge Forscherinnen und Forscher.

Berliner Universitäten im Verbund