Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Tools

Based on the RMRC-K model, a questionnaire has been developed to assess students’ research competences (R-Comp). The R-Comp is used for the evaluation of Research-oriented Teaching at Freie Universität Berlin.

The R-Comp consists 32 items in five scales according to the dimensions of the model:

  • skills in reviewing the state of research (four items, α = .87),
  • methodological skills (eight items, α = .88),
  • skills in reflecting on research findings (six items, α = .92),
  • communication skills (five items, α = .89),
  • content knowledge (nine items, α = .88).

 Students rate their research competences on a 5-point response scale, ranging from “1—strongly disagree” to “5—strongly agree.” The questionnaire can be used in a paper-pencil survey or an online survey. The processing time is about 10 minutes.

The factorial validation of the R-Comp confirmed the five theoretical dimensions as scales. For each of the five dimensions, two to three subscales have been identified which reflect the theoretical facets of the model (Böttcher & Thiel, 2016, 2018).

Publication on the questionnaire: Böttcher, F. & Thiel, F. (2018). Evaluating research oriented teaching: A new  instrument to assess university students’ research competences. Higher Education 75 (1), 91-110. doi:10.1007/s10734-017-0128-y   Böttcher, F. & Thiel, F. (2016). Der Fragebogen zur Erfassung studentischer Forschungskompetenzen - Ein Instrument auf der Grundlage des RMRK-W-Modells zur Evaluation von Formaten forschungsorientierter Lehre. In B. Berendt, A. Fleischmann, J. Wildt, N. Schaper & B. Szczyrba (Hrsg.), Neues Handbuch Hochschullehre (I 2.11, S. 57-74). Berlin: Raabe.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Instrument

Auf der Grundlage des RMRK-W-Modells wurde ein Fragebogen zur Erfassung von Forschungskompetenzen (F-Komp) von Studierenden entwickelt. Eingesetzt wird der F-Komp für die Evaluation der forschungsorientierten Lehrveranstaltungen an der Freien Universität Berlin.

Der der F-Komp umfasst 32 Items in fünf Skalen entsprechend der Dimensionen des Modells:

  • Recherchekompetenzen (vier Items, α = .87),
  • Methodenkompetenzen (acht Items, α = .88),
  • Reflexionskompetenzen (sechs Items, α = .92),
  • Kommunikationskompetenzen (fünf Items, α = .89),
  • Fachliches Wissen (neun Items, α = .88).

Zur Selbsteinschätzung ihrer Forschungskompetenzen steht den Studierenden eine Antwortskala von 1 = „trifft überhaupt nicht zu“ bis 5 = „trifft genau zu“ zur Verfügung. Der Fragebogen kann als Papier-Pencil-Befragung oder in der Form einer computergestützten Befragung eingesetzt werden. Die Bearbeitungsdauer umfasst ca. 10 Minuten.

Die faktorielle Validierung des F-Komps bestätigte die fünf theoretischen Dimensionen als Skalen. Für jede der fünf Dimensionen wurden außerdem zwei bis drei Subskalen identifiziert, die die theoretischen Facetten des Modells reflektieren (Böttcher & Thiel, 2016, 2018).

Publikationen zum Instrument: Böttcher, F. & Thiel, F. (2018). Evaluating research oriented teaching: A new  instrument to assess university students’ research competences. Higher Education 75 (1), 91-110. doi:10.1007/s10734-017-0128-y Böttcher, F. & Thiel, F. (2016). Der Fragebogen zur Erfassung studentischer Forschungskompetenzen - Ein Instrument auf der Grundlage des RMRK-W-Modells zur Evaluation von Formaten forschungsorientierter Lehre. In B. Berendt, A. Fleischmann, J. Wildt, N. Schaper & B. Szczyrba (Hrsg.), Neues Handbuch Hochschullehre (I 2.11, S. 57-74). Berlin: Raabe.