Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Postdoctoral Career Paths

Various qualification routes can lead to an academic career.

Various qualification routes can lead to an academic career.
Image Credit: Alexey Ivanov / iStockphoto

These days, candidates who wish to embark on an academic career in the German academic system generally work toward obtaining a professorship. Up until a few years ago, obtaining an appointment to a professorship almost always required that a candidate complete the Habilitation process, in most cases in a limited-term assistantship under a professor’s supervision.

Since the late 1990s, there has been an increasing push to create alternative qualification channels in order to limit the often lengthy period of dependency. Various funding institutions now sponsor programs for leaders of junior research groups, providing the young researchers with funding for a longer period to enable them to develop their own groups.

Junior professorships introduce junior scholars and scientists to academic self-management and autonomous research and teaching activities at an early stage. These qualification positions are often preceded by one or more postdoctoral phases in Germany or abroad.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Postdoktorale Karrierewege

Eine wissenschaftliche Karriere ist über verschiedene Qualifizierungswege möglich.

Eine wissenschaftliche Karriere ist über verschiedene Qualifizierungswege möglich.
Bildquelle: Alexey Ivanov / iStockphoto

Wer heutzutage eine wissenschaftliche Karriere im deutschen akademischen Wissenschaftssystem anstrebt, arbeitet im Allgemeinen auf eine Professur hin. Bis vor einigen Jahren führte der Weg zu einer Berufung fast zwingend über die Habilitation, meist auf einer befristeten Assistentenstelle, die einer Professorin oder einem Professor zugeordnet war.

Seit Ende der 1990er Jahre wurden verstärkt alternative Qualifizierungswege geschaffen, um die oftmals lange Abhängigkeit des Hochschullehrernachwuchses zu mildern. Nachwuchsgruppenleiterprogramme verschiedener Förderer statten seither die jungen Forschenden für einen längeren Zeitraum mit Mitteln aus, die ihnen die Möglichkeit geben, eine eigene Gruppe aufzubauen.

Juniorprofessuren führen den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs früh in die akademische Selbstverwaltung sowie die eigenverantwortliche Forschung und Lehre ein. Häufig sind diesen Qualifizierungsstellen ein oder mehrere PostDoc-Phasen im In- oder Ausland vorgelagert.