Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Preparing for Doctoral Research

Pathways to a doctorate

If you are interested in completing a doctorate at Freie Universität Berlin, you have two options: the traditional “Individualpromotion” (individual doctorate) and the structured doctorate within a degree program.

Individual Doctorate

The individual doctorate still represents the most common pathway to a doctorate in Germany. Characterized by a strong background in research and a broad range of subject fields, Freie Universität Berlin provides the best opportunities for pursuing an individual doctorate.

Doctorate in a degree program

Over the last years "structured programs" have been established as an alternative way towards a doctoral degree. As part of a graduate school or research training group (or similar) early stage reasearchers take part in a program which differs from the traditional way in both its formal framework as well as the focus on a better integration of doctoral researchers in a group and the wider academic community.

Most doctoral program at Freie Universität Berlin can be found under the roof Dahlem Research School: https://www.fu-berlin.de/en/sites/drs/about-us/drs_programs/index.html.

An overview of doctoral program in and around Berlin can found at the website Doctoral Programs in Berlin hosted by the Einstein Foundation.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Individualpromotion oder Promotionsprogramm

An einer Promotion Interessierte können zwischen verschiedenen Promotionswegen an der Freien Universität wählen: der sogenannten Individualpromotion oder, alternativ, der strukturierten Promotion in einem der verschiedenen Promotionsprogramme der Freien Universität.

Die "klassische" Promotion

Die Individualpromotion bei einer Professorin oder einem Professor ist in Deutschland noch immer der häufigste Weg zu promovieren. Die Freie Universität Berlin bietet als forschungsstarke Universität mit einem breiten Fächerspektrum dafür die besten Möglichkeiten.

Die "strukturierte" Promotion in einem Programm

Neben der Individualpromotion hat sich in den letzten Jahren die „strukturierte Promotion“, bspw. in einer Graduiertenschule oder einem Graduiertenkolleg der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, fest etabliert. Sie zeichnet sich gegenüber der Individualpromotion durch einige formale Besonderheiten aus, aber vor allem stärkt sie die fachliche wie soziale Integration der Doktorand*innen gegenüber der Individualpromotion erheblich.

 

An der Freien Universität finden sich die meisten Promotionsprogramme unter dem Dach der Dahlem Research School: https://www.fu-berlin.de/sites/drs/about-us/drs_programs/index.html.

Strukturierte Promotionsprogramme in der Wissenschaftsregion Berlin/Potsdam können Sie im Portal Doctoral Programs in Berlin der Einstein-Stiftung finden.