Freie Universität Berlin

Service Navigation

Deutschlandstipendium FAQ for Students of Freie Universität Berlin

Expand allCollapse all

In accordance with the national scholarship program Deutschlandstipendium, Freie Universität Berlin supports students of undergraduate and consecutive study programs (Bachelor, Masters, Staatsexamen) who demonstrate excellent grades, engage in non-university activities or face extraordinary conditions while pursuing their degree. The selection criteria for the Deutschlandstipendium scholarship are set out in § 2 paragraph 2 of the scholarship program regulation (Stipendienprogramm-Verordnung).

PhD students are not eligible for a Deutschlandstipendium scholarship. The promotional portal of Freie Universität Berlin (Gateway for Doctoral Candidates) informs about funding opportunities for doctoral students at Freie Universität Berlin.

Students of Charité Universitätsmedizin apply for the Deutschlandstipendium scholarship at Charité . Please contact

Direct link

Yes, those who apply for a study program at Freie Universität Berlin (beginners and those who already studied at university level and apply for a new study program) can apply. For beginners, university admission grades will be considered in the selection process. In these cases, letters of recommendation are issued by school teachers. For those who already studied at university level, the grade of the first degree will be considered in the selection process and letters of recommendation are issued by university teachers.

If the certificate of enrollment have not been issued yet by the time of the scholarship application, they may be submitted later on. Enrollment at Freie Universität Berlin is required for scholarship payments.

Direct link

The monthly scholarship payment amounts to 300.00 EUR and is initially granted for 12 months. The funding period may be extended if the student’s study achievements justify the continuation of the scholarship and if private funding means are still available.

In addition to financial support, the Deutschlandstipendium scholarship program of Freie Universität Berlin offers the possibility for scholarship students to participate in the mentoring program and benefit from the support and feedback from an experienced professional.

Direct link

Funding is normally granted for at least two semesters but may be provided for a maximum time which covers the standard period of study: usually a maximum of six semesters for Bachelor students and a maximum of four semesters for Masters students. An extension of the maximum funding period can be requested, if students face extra-ordinary conditions while pursuing their degree. These conditions are referred to in Section 7, Clause 1 of the scholarship program law and include serious reasons such as disability, pregnancy, the care and upbringing of a child or a subject-related stay abroad.

Applicants for a Deutschlandstipendium scholarship whose study period has extended beyond the standard study period should provide information in the scholarship application on the reasons for the study period extension.

Direct link

Receipt of the Deutschlandstipendium during a subject related stay abroad is possible if no other perfomance based scholarship is received for that stay. A combination with the Erasmus+ mobility program is possible in most cases. The Deutschlandstipendium office has to be informed of any stay abroad by scholarship holders.

Direct link

Only students of Freie Universität Berlin can be awarded Deutschlandstipendium scholarships at this university. Only those enrolled or applying for a study program at Freie Universität Berlin and who provide a complete and timely scholarship application can participate in the application and selection process. The application process usually starts in the summer before the funding period starts in the winter semester. In order to submit the application, an online form needs to be completed and all required application documents need to be submitted by mail.

The following documents are usually required for the application:

-Printed and signed copy of the online application form,

-Matriculation certificate,

-High School and University/College Certificates and Transcripts of Academic Records:

1. Copy of high-school leaving diploma/ Abitur (not if you are a Master’s student),

2. Copy of college or university degree (if you already graduated) or a current Transcript of Academic Records if your certificate has not been issued yet,

3. Transcript of Academic Records (transcript of courses and grades),

4. Applicants with grades from a non-German grading system: documents indicating the grades converted into the German grading system (i.e. Prüfbericht from Uni Assit e.V.)

-Copies of certificates of awards and prizes, documentation of scholarships, employment and internships, volunteer work and social or political commitment etc.

-If you would like to apply for a scholarship in the area of setting up new businesses: documentation of any activities in this area (e.g. setting up your own business, participating in the Business Plan Contest, Funpreneur Contest etc.)

-A recent letter of recommendation of a professor (or a teacher if you haven’t studied at university level before) which was written for the application for the Deutschlandstipendium. Please use the form which will be available in the call for applications or on in the section "Information for students" under "Call for Applications".


Please see the section"Call for Applications" for any updates on required application documents.

Direct link

The selection of scholarship recipients is based on the selection criteria prescribed in the scholarship program law. Primarily, scholarships are awarded for outstanding school performance/ academic achievements. In addition, special achievements, professional activities, internships, volunteer work and unusual personal and family circumstances are taken into account. These include, for example, disabilities or chronic diseases, studying with children or taking care of relatives, a migrant background, or similar circumstances.

The legal basis for awarding the Deutschlandstipendium scholarship is the law establishing a national scholarship program (Stipendienprogramm- Gesetz – StipG) of July 21, 2010 (BGBl. I S. 957) amended on  December 21, 2010 (BGBl. I S. 2204) in connection with the regulation implementing the Deutschlandstipendien scholarship program law (Stipendienprogramm-Verordnung – StipV) on December 20, 2010 (BGBl. I, S. 2197). Awarding Deutschlandstipendium scholarships at Freie Universität Berlin is based on the executive board’s directive issued on August 29, 2011.

The selection committee, chaired by the Vice President for Academic Affairs, consists of at least one university lecturer or a professor from each of the following four subject groups

1. Science,

2. Life Sciences,

3. Humanities,

4. Socio-economic sciences and law

and at least one academic staff member and one student.

The Commission decides on the awarding of scholarships in reference to the legally prescribed selection criteria (s. § 2 paragraph 2 scholarship program regulation) on basis of the information provided by the candidates in their application. Based on the Commission's decision the executive board authorizes the scholarship allocation.

There is no legal entitlement to funding under the scholarship program law.

Direct link

Scholarship recipients have no obligations to the sponsors funding the scholarships in addition to the federal government (StipG §5 paragraph 2).

However, all scholarship recipients are required to participate in the rule- compliant implementation of the scholarship program by

1. Providing information about any changes of circumstances that are relevant to the granting of the scholarship to the Germany Deutschlandstipendium office at Freie Universität Berlin (StipG §10 paragraph 2) ,

2. Reporting data to Freie Universität Berlin necessary for reporting to the federal government. This includes gender, nationality, type of degree, subject, number of semesters, receipt of benefits under BAföG (StipG §13 paragraph 2) .


Direct link

A combination of a Deutschlandstipendium scholarship with other talent and performance-related funding models over 29,99 euros per month is not possible. These include the talent and performance-based funding of Begabtenförderungswerke (a list can be found on ), the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) , the Vocational Training Programme for the Highly Talented (Stiftung Begabtenförderung für berufliche Bildung) and other domestic and foreign institutions. However, funding because of indigence or other criteria can be combined with the Deutschlandstipendium scholarship. Similarly, non-material funding, such as mentoring programs, can be combined with the Deutschlandstipendium scholarship.

The Deutschlandstipendium scholarship does not affect the funding through BaföG or child benefits (Kindergeld).

Direct link

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Merkblatt zum Deutschlandstipendium für Studierende der Freien Universität Berlin

Die Freie Universität Berlin fördert im Rahmen des nationalen Stipendienprogramms Deutschlandstipendium Studierende der grundständigen und konsekutiven Studiengänge (Bachelor, Master, Staatsexamen), die hervorragende Studienleistungen vorweisen und sich zusätzlich außeruniversitär engagieren oder ihr Studium unter besonderen Bedingungen absolvieren. Die Auswahlkriterien für das Deutschlandstipendium sind in § 2 Absatz 2 Stipendienprogramm-Verordnung festgelegt.

Promovierende können nicht im Rahmen des Deutschlandstipendiums gefördert werden. Über Förderungsmöglichkeiten für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden an der Freien Universität Berlin informiert das Promotionsportal der Freien Universität Berlin.

Studierende der Charité Universitätsmedizin bewerben sich für das Deutschlandstipendium der Charité. Bitte kontaktieren Sie deutschlandstipendium@charite.de.

Ja, auch Studienbewerberinnen und Studienbewerber können sich für das Deutschlandstipendium bewerben. Die Bewerbung erfolgt separat von der Bewerbung für das Studium über die Geschäftsstelle Deutschlandstipendium.

Bei Studienanfängerinnen und -anfängern werden bei der Auswahlentscheidung die Noten der Hochschulzugangsberechtigung berücksichtigt. Fachliche Gutachten werden in diesen Fällen von Schullehrerinnen oder –lehrern ausgestellt. Bei Studienbewerberinnen und -bewerbern, die bereits studiert haben und sich für einen neuen Studiengang oder ein höheres Fachsemester bewerben, werden die bisherigen Studienleistungen berücksichtigt. Fachliche Gutachten werden in diesen Fällen von Lehrkräften des bisherigen Studiums ausgestellt.

Liegt die Immatrikulationsbescheinigung zum Zeitpunkt der Stipendienbewerbung noch nicht vor, kann diese nachgereicht werden. Die Auszahlung der Stipendien setzt die Einschreibung an der Freien Universität Berlin voraus.

Die monatliche Stipendienrate beträgt 300,00 Euro und wird zunächst für 12 Monate bewilligt. Die Hälfte des Stipendiums wird von einerm privaten Förderer gestiftet (Privatpersonen, Stiftungen oder Unternehmen). Die andere Hälfte finanziert die Bundesregierung. Der Bewilligungszeitraum von zunächst 12 Monaten kann verlängert werden, wenn die Studienleistungen der Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten die Fortsetzung des Stipendiums rechtfertigen und wenn weiterhin eine Förderzusage über die privaten Fördermittel vorliegt.

Zusätzlich zur finanziellen Förderung erhalten Deutschlandstipendiatinnen und –stipendiaten der Freien Universität Berlin die Möglichkeit, am Mentoring Programm teilzunehmen und von der Unterstützung und dem Feedback von einer berufserfahrenen Persönlichkeit zu profitieren.

Die Förderung mit dem Deutschlandstipendium ist in der Regel im Rahmen der Regelstudienzeit möglich: bei Bachelorstudiengängen maximal sechs und bei Masterstudiengängen maximal vier Semester. Studiert man unter erschwerenden Bedingungen, so kann eine Verlängerung der Förderhöchstdauer beantragt werden. Diese Bedingungen sind in §7, Satz 1 des Stipendienprogrammgesetzes genannt: „Verlängert sich die Studiendauer aus schwerwiegenden Gründen, wie zum Beispiel einer Behinderung, einer Schwangerschaft, der Pflege und Erziehung eines Kindes oder eines fachrichtungsbezogenen Auslandsaufenthalts, so kann die Förderungshöchstdauer auf Antrag verlängert werden.“

Stipendienbewerberinnen und –bewerber, deren Studium sich über die Regelstudienzeit hinaus verlängert hat, machen in der Stipendienbewerbung Angaben zu den Gründen für die Studienzeitverlängerung.

Studierende, die für die Förderung durch das Deutschlandstipendium ausgewählt wurden, können auch während eines studienfachbezogenen Auslandsaufenthalts gefördert werden, wenn sie für diesen Aufenthalt kein anderes leistungsbezogen vergebenes Stipendium erhalten. Der Auslandsaufenthalt muss der Geschäftsstelle Deutschlandstipendium mitgeteilt werden.

Deutschlandstipendien werden nur auf Antrag bzw. Bewerbung und an der Freien Universität Berlin jeweils zum Wintersemester vergeben. Die Bewerbung ist in der Regel im Sommer vor dem jeweiligen Wintersemester möglich. Bitte informieren Sie sich frühzeitig auf www.fu-berlin.de/deutschlandstipendium im Abschnitt „Studierende“, dort bei „Stipendienbewerbung“. Zur Bewerbung wird ein Online-Formular ausgefüllt und Bewerbungsunterlagen per E-Mail oder postalisch eingereicht. Folgende Unterlagen sind in der Regel für die Bewerbung nötig:

  • das ausgefüllte Online-Bewerbungsformular (wird erst im Rahmen der Ausschreibung freigeschaltet)
  • Immatrikulationsbescheinigung mit Angabe der Fachsemester- und Hochschulsemesterzahl
  • Leistungsnachweise:
  • Kopie der Hochschulzugangsberechtigung/Abitur (nicht von Studierenden in Masterstudiengängen),
  • ggf. Kopie des ersten Hochschulabschlusses oder ein Nachweis über die bisher abgeschlossenen Studienleistungen im ersten Studiengang (wenn das Abschlusszeugnis noch nicht vorliegt),
  • ggf. Leistungsübersicht über bisher erbrachte Studienleistungen (abgeschlossene Module),
  • Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit Noten aus nicht-deutschen Notensystemen: Bescheinigung über die Umrechnung Ihrer Note in das deutsche Notensystem mit Angabe der umgerechneten, deutschen Note (z. B. Kopie des Prüfberichts von Uni-Assist e.V.)
  • Nachweise Ihrer Auszeichnungen, Erfolge, Preise, Stipendien, Berufstätigkeiten, studentischen Erwerbstätigkeiten, Praktika, außerschulischen und außerfachlichen, ehrenamtlichen Engagements etc. (in Kopie)
  • Ggf. Nachweise zu Aktivitäten im Bereich der Unternehmensgründung (z. B. über die Teilnahme am Business Plan Wettbewerb, Funpreneur Wettbewerb oder über eine erfolgreiche Unternehmensgründung, in Kopie)
  • ein aktuelles, fachliches Gutachten einer/-s Hochschullehrers/-in, Privatdozent/-in oder hauptberuflichen Lehrkraft bzw. Schullehrer/-in wenn Sie noch nicht studiert haben, das für die Bewerbung für das Deutschlandstipendium angefertigt wurde. Es soll sich um eine Lehrkraft Ihres Hauptfachs handeln. Bitte nutzen Sie das Formular, das im Abschnitt Stipendienbewerbung oder in der jeweiligen Ausschreibung zur Verfügung steht.

Mit der jeweiligen Ausschreibung werden die einzureichenden Bewerbungsunterlagen auf der Homepage veröffentlicht. Bitte informieren Sie sich immer aktuell.

Die Auswahl der Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten beruht auf den gesetzlich vorgegebenen Auswahlkriterien. In erster Linie werden die Stipendien aufgrund herausragender Studienleistungen bzw. bei Studienanfängern herausragender Schulleistungen vergeben. Zusätzlich werden besondere Erfolge, Berufstätigkeiten, Praktika, gesellschaftliches, ehrenamtliches Engagement sowie besondere persönliche und familiäre Umstände berücksichtigt. Hierzu zählen z. B. Behinderungen oder chronische Krankheiten, Studium mit Kind oder Pflege von Angehörigen, ein Migrationshintergrund oder ähnliches.

Gesetzliche Grundlage der Vergabe von Deutschlandstipendien ist das Gesetz zur Schaffung eines nationalen Stipendienprogramms (Stipendienprogramm- Gesetz – StipG) vom 21. Juli 2010 (BGBl. I S. 957), geändert durch Gesetz vom 21. Dezember 2010 (BGBl. I S. 2204) in Verbindung mit der Verordnung zur Durchführung des Stipendienprogramm-Gesetzes (Stipendienprogramm-Verordnung – StipV) vom 20. Dezember 2010 (BGBl. I, S. 2197). Die Vergabe der Deutschlandstipendien an der Freien Universität Berlin erfolgt nach der Richtlinie zur Vergabe von Deutschlandstipendien an der Freien Universität Berlin, die das Präsidium der Freien Universität Berlin am 29.08.2011 erlassen hat.

Die Auswahlkommission wird durch das Präsidium eingesetzt und setzt sich unter dem Vorsitz des Vizepräsidenten für Studium und Lehre aus mindestens einer Hochschullehrerin oder einem Hochschullehrer aus jeder der folgenden vier Fächergruppen zusammen:

 
1. Naturwissenschaften,
2. Lebenswissenschaften,
3. Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften,
4. Sozial-, Wirtschafts- und Rechtswissenschaften, sowie
mindestens einer akademischen Mitarbeiterin oder einem akademischen Mitarbeiter und mindestens einer oder einem Studierenden zusammen.

Die Kommission entscheidet über die Gewährung der Stipendien auf Grundlage der gesetzlich vorgegebenen Auswahlkriterien (s. § 2 Absatz 2 Stipendienprogramm-Verordnung) anhand der Angaben, die Bewerberinnen und Bewerber in ihrer Bewerbung machen. Die Kommissionsentscheidung ist Grundlage der Stipendienbewilligung durch das Präsidium.

Es besteht kein Rechtsanspruch auf eine Förderung nach dem Stipendienprogramm-Gesetz

Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten haben keinerlei Verpflichtungen gegenüber den Förderern, die die Stipendien neben der Bundesregierung zur Hälfte finanzieren (StipG §5 Absatz 2).

Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten sind verpflichtet, an der regelkonformen Durchführung des Stipendienprogramms mitzuwirken, indem sie

1. alle Änderungen in den Verhältnissen, die für die Bewilligung des Stipendiums erheblich sind, unverzüglich der Geschäftsstelle Deutschlandstipendium der Freien Universität Berlin mitteilen (StipG §10 Absatz 2),
2. der Freien Universität Berlin die für die Berichterstattung an die Bundesregierung nötigen Daten mitteilen. Diese sind: Geschlecht, Staatsangehörigkeit, Art des angestrebten Abschlusses, Studienfachrichtung, Semesterzahl, Fachsemesterzahl, Zahl der Fördermonate, Bezug von Leistungen nach dem BAföG (StipG §13 Absatz 2).

Eine Kombination des Deutschlandstipendiums mit anderen begabungs- und leistungsabhängigen materiellen Förderungen ab 30 Euro pro Monat ist nicht möglich. Zu diesen gehören begabungs- und leistungsabhängige Förderungen der Begabtenförderungswerke (eine Auflistung finden Sie hier), des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes, der Stiftung Begabtenförderung berufliche Bildung und sonstiger inländischer und ausländischer Einrichtungen. Liegt eine solche anderweitige Förderung vor, kann das Deutschlandstipendium nicht vergeben werden. 

Förderungen aufgrund von Bedürftigkeit oder anderen Kriterien können dagegen mit dem Deutschlandstipendium kombiniert werden. Ebenso ideele Förderungen z. B. in Form von Mentorenprogrammen etc.

Das Deutschlandstipendium wird nicht auf Förderung nach dem BaföG oder auf Kindergeld angerechnet.