Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Virtual and Hybrid Events

They can use Freie Universität’s E-Learning Platform for group work: The platform provides students with virtual rooms where they can work in groups or meet with others to study together. Project groups can set up a team in WebEx to easily message each other and carry out video calls. For more information, please see https://wikis.fu-berlin.de/display/webexwiki/Webex+Teams

Please contact studierendenWERK Berlin with questions or concerns related to this issue. The following website provides extensive information and FAQs related to financial support for students: https://www.stw.berlin/en/organisation/themen/corona-faq.html

 

“Hybrid teaching” is used to refer to learning situations made up of students taking part in classes on the Freie Universität Berlin campus while other students participate online “from home” at the same via Cisco Webex, our central video conference system. At Freie Universität Berlin, we have currently planned for and approved two scenarios in line with data protection regulations (A: Hybrid lectures in lecture halls with discussion/question round; B: Hybrid seminars in seminar rooms). You can find all the information you need and regulations at the following links (in German).

A code of conduct with rules for online courses has been put in place at Freie Universität Berlin. There are different support services available to you at Freie Universität and elsewhere in Berlin to which you can turn. These services are bound by strict confidentiality policies, and your identity can remain anonymous if you choose. If you are affected yourself or have witnessed incidents, or if you are an instructor and want to learn more about the topic, you can also contact the task force at Freie Universität Berlin dedicated to preventing sexualized harassment, discrimination, and violence: Arbeitsgruppe Gegen Sexualisierte Belästigung, Diskriminierung und Gewalt (SBDG). They also provide confidential consultations in English or German.

Generally speaking, the same rules apply regarding regular class participation whether a course takes place online or on site. These rules are set out in the degree program and examination regulations for each degree program and in Section 9 of Freie Universität Berlin’s framework regulations, the Rahmenstudien- und prüfungsordnung (RSPO).

However, it is possible that student attendance may not always be adequately documented and therefore cannot be reliably checked. If this is the case, the lack of documentation must not have negative consequences for the students who have taken the course. In particular, it must not lead to students being asked to participate more actively in the program than would normally be expected of them. The module description will indicate the level and kind of participation that can be expected of students. In cases where a student’s attendance at an online teaching session can be reliably ascertained, this can be taken as an indication of whether or not they have fulfilled the requirement for regular attendance. But if their attendance has to be checked retrospectively, it may involve considerable effort given that students do not always need to use their Freie Universität account to register for a course.

In light of the above, the examining board is entitled to decide that regular attendance in an online teaching program need not be monitored and that it can be assumed to have taken place without further checks. Such decisions, however, should be the exception rather than the rule and should only be taken in cases where regular attendance cannot be reliably ascertained and/or a retrospective check would involve disproportionate effort.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Virtuelle und hybride Veranstaltungen

Kollaboratives Arbeiten ist über die E-Learning-Plattform der Freien Universität möglich: Hier können Studierende sich in virtuellen Räumen zu Gruppenarbeit oder zum gemeinsamen Lernen zu treffen. Zudem können in WebEx Team feste Arbeitsgruppen für Chat und Video eingerichtet werden (siehe https://wikis.fu-berlin.de/display/webexwiki/Webex+Teams).

Verstanden wird unter Hybrider Lehre die synchrone Teilnahme an Lehrveranstaltungen von Studierenden, die einerseits physisch vor Ort in Räumlichkeiten der Freien Universität Berlin sind – bei gleichzeitig virtueller Teilnahme von anderen Studierenden „Zuhause“ über das zentral genutzte Videokonferenz-System Cisco Webex. Hierfür stehen an der Freien Universität Berlin zur Zeit zwei Szenarien mit datenschutzrechtlicher Freigabe bereit (A: Hybride Vorlesungen in Hörsälen mit Diskussion/Fragen; B: Hybride Seminare in Seminarräumen).

An der Freien Universität Berlin gilt ein Code of Conduct mit Regeln für digitale Lehrveranstaltungen. Innerhalb und außerhalb der Hochschule gibt es unterschiedliche Anlaufstellen, an die Sie sich wenden können. Alle Beratungen unterliegen der Verschwiegenheit und werden auf Wunsch anonym behandelt. Wenn Sie betroffen sind, wenn Sie Vorfälle beobachtet haben und wenn Sie sich, beispielsweise als Lehrkraft, zum Thema informieren möchten, können Sie sich außerdem an die Arbeitsgruppe Gegen Sexualisierte Belästigung, Diskriminierung und Gewalt (SBDG) wenden, die Sie ebenfalls unterstützt und vertrauliche Beratung anbietet.

Hinsichtlich der Pflicht zur regelmäßigen Teilnahme in einer Online-Lehrveranstaltung gelten grundsätzlich die Regelung und Angabe zur Pflicht zur regelmäßigen Teilnahme für diese Lehrveranstaltung in der entsprechenden Studien- und Prüfungsordnung sowie § 9 Rahmenstudien- und -prüfungsordnung der Freien Universität Berlin.

Sofern jedoch bei Online-Lehrveranstaltungen die regelmäßige Teilnahme der Studierenden nicht hinreichend dokumentiert und damit nicht sicher überprüft werden kann, darf dies den Studierenden nicht zum Nachteil gereichen. Insbesondere darf dies nicht dazu führen, dass eine aktive Teilnahme von den Studierenden verlangt wird, die in der Modulbeschreibung für die entsprechende Lehrveranstaltung nicht oder nicht in dieser Form vorgesehen ist. Eine hinreichende Dokumentation für eine sichere Überprüfung der regelmäßigen Teilnahme liegt jedenfalls dann vor, wenn jede Teilnahme an einer Online-Lehrveranstaltung einer oder einem Studierenden hinreichend sicher zugeordnet werden kann. Dies kann jedoch umfangreiche Nachprüfungen beinhalten, da es für die Anmeldung nicht unbedingt erforderlich ist, den E-Mail-Account der Freien Universität Berlin zu verwenden.

Der Prüfungsausschuss kann vor diesem Hintergrund für den Fall, dass die regelmäßige Teilnahme der Studierenden nicht hinreichend sicher überprüft werden kann oder dass die Überprüfung der regelmäßigen Teilnahme mit unverhältnismäßigen Verwaltungsaufwand verbunden wäre, beschließen, dass eine Überprüfung der regelmäßigen Teilnahme bei Online-Lehrveranstaltungen ausnahmsweise nicht stattfindet und die regelmäßige Teilnahme dann ggf. auch ohne Kontrolle zu bestätigen wäre.