Springe direkt zu Inhalt


!!! New deadline March, 26 2021 !!!

Applications can only be submitted via the Dahlem Research School online platform (www.drs.fu-berlin.de/user/register?field_i_want_to_apply_for=737). Applications submitted by email, post, or any other means will not be accepted.
Please note the following steps in the application process:

  1. Complete the application form (https://nafoeg.ecampus.fu-berlin.de), print, scan, and save it in PDF format.

    Please note: details of the funding dates and addresses in the current application form are no longer valid. The start of the next funding period is planned for July 1, 2021.

  2. Register via the DRS platform (www.drs.fu-berlin.de/user/register?field_i_want_to_apply_for=737).
  3. Fill in your own details and the details of your first supervisor and send the email request for a supporting statement.
  4. After sending this email, the required documents (e.g. application form, CV, etc.) may be uploaded in PDF format.
  5. Finally, submit your application by clicking on "submit".

The application period ends on March 26, 2021, at 12:00 noon (cut-off deadline)! Only complete scholarship applications submitted within the deadline via the digital DRS application platform (www.drs.fu-berlin.de/user/register?field_i_want_to_apply_for=737) will be accepted.

If you have any questions please get in touch with the NaFöG Office by phone and email only.


Freie Universität Berlin
new: Hittorfstr. 16
D-14195 Berlin

!!! No visits !!!

Please note that visits to Dahlem Research School are currently not possible. For questions and advice please contact us by email or phone only.

Phone: ++49 30 838-73641
Email: nafoeg-stipendium@zuv.fu-berlin.de
Internet: Instructions for Reviewers (PDF), Application Form, Information (PDF)


Pursuant to the Berlin state Act on the Promotion of Junior Achievement in Academic, Scientific and Artistic Fields (Gesetz zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Nachwuchses), scholarships are awarded for doctoral students as well as for the completion of dissertations (in the final stages) that are being written at one of the universities in Berlin.

Conditions for Receipt of Aid

Applicants must be able to demonstrate performance that far exceeds the average, especially in their undergraduate degrees. There must be reason to expect that applicants’ academic projects will make a significant contribution to the body of research in the field. Applications must be accompanied by documentation of the student’s qualifications, a statement from his or her supervising professor, and a working plan that shows the reasons the student has chosen the particular topic, the status of preliminary work on the project, an outline of the research project, and a schedule for the implementation of the project. Applicants must not have already received earlier public funding for the same project.

Application Deadlines

There are two deadlines per year, one in April and one in November. The office will announce the exact deadlines (cutoff dates).
Successful applicants begin receiving funding on either April, 1 or July, 1.

Scope of Aid

The base scholarship is 1000 euros per month, plus a lump-sum allowance of 103 euros for the costs of materials. It is possible to be granted special allowances for travel costs. Scholarships are initially granted for a period of up to two years. Each student is required to submit a report on his or her work and a statement from his or her academic supervisor at the end of the first and second years of the scholarship. Aid is granted for a maximum period of three years. Scholarships for completion of the dissertation are granted for a maximum of one year, without any possibility of extension. Grantees are required to devote the vast majority of their time and energies to the work for which they are receiving aid.

How Scholarships are Granted

Scholarships are granted based on the decisions made by the inter-university Commission for the Allocation of Doctoral Grants (Kommission zur Vergabe von Promotionsstipendien), whose members are appointed by the Senator for Education, Science, and Research.