21323a Lecture

Solids and interfaces

Thomas Risse

Information for students

Diese Veranstaltung findet jeweils nur im Wintersemester statt.

Comments

This course will cover the following topics:

Crystal structure: lattice and Basis, 2D and 3D lattice types, index systems for lattice planes
Wave diffraction and reciprocal lattice: Bragg Law, Fourier analysis, Laue condition, Brillouin zones
Crystal Binding: van der Waals interaction, Lennard-Jones potential, Latiice Constants, Cohesive Energy
Phonons: Planck distribution, DOS, Debye law, Einstein model Free electron Fermi gas: energy levels, Fermi-Dirak distribution, free electron gas
Energy bands and semiconductors: nearly-free electron model, band gap, Bloch functions
Fermi surfaces and metals: tight Binding, cohesive Energy, pseudopotential method
Point defects and diffusion: vacancy, interstitial, Frenkel, Schottky, F-centre
Surface and interface properties: electronic and atomic structure, Work function, relaxation and reconstruction
Imaging techniques for surfaces and nanostructures: electron microscopy, scanning tuneling microscopy, atomic force microscopy
close

15 Class schedule

Regular appointments

Tue, 2017-10-17 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2017-10-24 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2017-11-07 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2017-11-14 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2017-11-21 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2017-11-28 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2017-12-05 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2017-12-12 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2017-12-19 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2018-01-09 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2018-01-16 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2018-01-23 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2018-01-30 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2018-02-06 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Tue, 2018-02-13 12:00 - 14:00

Lecturers:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse

Location:
SR 26.07 (Takustr. 3)

Subjects A - Z